Skip to content

Inaugural Hump Day Giveaway!

March 3, 2010
by

Because Wednesdays can be so much like the halfway point of a race–I’m making progress, but I still have to cover as much ground as I already have? dang it!–we at RLAM want to get the Wednesday gorilla of your backs.

How? By giving away some sweet, useful, bring-spring-into-your-stride running-related prizes every Wednesday for at least a year. (In other words, we’ll be way more reliable than your kiddos sleep schedules, the always-canceling babysitter, or your period, if you’re trying for a piglet.)

First on the block: a whopping $100 Asics gift certificate for a new pair of shoes!

There’s a tiny bit of work involved with Hump Day Giveaways. You have to respond in the comments to the question we pose. Here’s the fine print (if I had font options, I’d adjust now, but sadly, I don’t): You can win once per year. You have until noon MST (10 EST) on Thursday to respond. We’ll pick a winner randomly, unless we say otherwise at the beginning of a post. We’ll notify winner by end of day Friday.

So here’s the question for today: What cute/memorable/funny/witty thing has your child said in reference to your running?

To jog (ha) your memory, here are two examples we love:
“When I was 9 months pregnant with my second son, I was sitting on the couch like a beached whale, watching all these svelte, super-fast women running in the 5k in the Olympic Trials. My toddler pointed to the TV and said, ‘Look, there’s Mommy! Go, Mommy go! Run faster!'” —Carmen
(This, along with tons of other funny input from moms, is in RLAM, the book. It’s also highlighted in the RLAM  excerpt in April’s Runner’s World, which we can’t wait to get! Please, please Mr. Postman: today?)

“I was trying to zip my knee-high boots the other day and was struggling to get them zipped-as they are quite tight. I asked my 8-year-old to try to yank the zipper while I tugged the sides of the boot together.  After realizing it was a tough task, my daughter said, ‘Mom, your legs are way too strong for these boots.'” —Amy
(Amy has a dramatic cameo in RLAM about losing her key on a 9-mile trail run.)

Let’s hear from you: what gem has your kid said? Let us know and your feet will thank you.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. Leah permalink
    March 3, 2010 12:41 pm

    I have been training for my first marathon for the past 5 months or so and I am relatively new to the sport of running. My 2 1/2 year old daughter always has words of encouragement for me. When I leave to go on my long runs on Saturdays, she asks me where I am going. When I tell her that I am going running, she says, “You can do it, Momma.” Upon my return all sweaty and aching from 15 miles of running up and down the hills of NW Arkansas, I am laying in the floor hoping that someone would put me out of my misery and I hear, “You did it, Momma…You did it.” That always brings a smile to my face no matter how tired I am. Gotta love it. Run like a mother!!

  2. Tahni Hamilton permalink
    March 3, 2010 12:47 pm

    Only if you realize how slow I run will you find this comment funny – from my 5 year old “did you win?”

  3. March 3, 2010 1:03 pm

    If my husband sees this he will kill me….
    My 2 1/2 year old daughter knows that I love to workout and sometimes she’ll see people running at the gym and say, “Just like you Momma” and I laugh and it is adorable and reminds me that my daughter already knows that her “momma” is a runner. But funnier still is when we were watching TV, they were doing a commercial with a man sitting on the couch, eating and watching TV and my daughter, at 2 1/2 says to me “Momma, that’s just like Daddy when you go running” hahahahahahahaa. That will always be funny to me.

    • SBS permalink*
      March 3, 2010 2:03 pm

      Brandi–
      Sounds like your husband and mine can sit on the couch together when we are out on our runs. Honestly, some days I swear it seems NO ONE in my house moves from in front of TV or Wii in during the time I run 8 miles! -SBS

  4. Meghan permalink
    March 3, 2010 1:06 pm

    I came in VERY sweaty from a run one day and my (then) 2 1/2 year old asked me with a confused look on his face, “How you run through water Mama?” I was so wet he thought I performed some heroic task of running under water! That same boy, about year later, while being pushed in the jog stroller up a steep hill, asked with some frustration why I was walking up the hill. I had to laugh and inform him that I was indeed still running, just not very fast!!

    I have been following Sarah and Dimity since your blog “Marathon Moms” on Runner’s World. I love your insights. Looking forward to the book!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      March 3, 2010 11:30 pm

      Thanks for following us–as in reading us and finding us as we moved around on the Internet, Meghan!

  5. March 3, 2010 1:09 pm

    Well, it happened today, as a matter of fact! My 4th grader is home today, with a tummy ache, so she had to come with me to my favorite organic food store. She wore her “RnR Mardi Gras” t-shirt I bought for her on Saturday when I went to the race. She wore a jacket on top of it because it’s still pretty chilly. While we were in the store, she took off her jacket and said, “I want people to see my shirt so I can tell them you ran in this race.” I thought that was so cute. I’m way too low key for that – then, we got to the check-out & she said, “So, Mom, how was the half marathon on Saturday?” I love that she’s proud of me and was a little surprised at how she showed it!

  6. Priscilla permalink
    March 3, 2010 2:04 pm

    My daughter, who is now in kindergarten, suggested that she would run a marathon with me when she is “more mature, you know, like 5th grade.”

  7. March 3, 2010 2:11 pm

    I’ve got a story similiar to Brandi. Many, many years ago when my two oldest children were in pre-school, my husband would drop me off in Hopkinton (start of the Boston Marathon)on Saturday mornings for me to run long along the course. He would then proceed to take the kids out to breakfast at a coffe shop along the course and wave to me when I ran by. One day my daughter’s pre-school teacher asked her if she wanted to be a “runner like Mommy”. Kallie responded, “No, I’d rather eat donuts like Daddy.”
    (Fast forward 14 years: Donut Eating Father and Daughter are now runners. Dad ran his first Falmouth Road Race last summer, and Kallie will be running cross-country/track at college next year!)

    • March 5, 2010 12:49 am

      oh wow! I got chills just reading this. It is my hope to one day see my daughters run or whatever to live a healthy lifestyle, they are now 2 and 4, and also to one day run a race with my husband, who is by far not a runner right now. So this gives me hope. Thanks for sharing!

  8. holly permalink
    March 3, 2010 2:38 pm

    I was training for my first half-marathon a few years back. I’d only become a runner after getting into triathlons and wanted to see if I could move up from olympic distance to half-ironman distance. The first time I did a 10-mile run I was really careful about pacing, about hydrating, about the music I listened to…When I got home I was very proud of myself and told my then 10-year old son “I just ran 10 miles and I’m not even that tired!” He looked at me and said “Well you should have run faster then.”

  9. Kristin Moore Spangler permalink
    March 3, 2010 3:35 pm

    I had been running a trail in St. Louis Park almost everyday for about a month, with my two kids (ages 8,5) riding alongside on their bikes. One day, my 5 year old yelled out with extreme excitement, “Mom! Your butt doesn’t jiggle anymore!!”

    • bowenshea permalink*
      March 3, 2010 11:31 pm

      Oh, that is PRICELESS!!

  10. Kristin permalink
    March 3, 2010 3:55 pm

    I am a daycare provider (and mother of 2) and have children I care for from 7 am – 7 pm. As my daycare day winds down it often means I am getting ready for one of two things….go play soccer or go running. So as I am changing into running/soccer attire the kids always like to talk about my adventures. I have even taken some of them to watch me play! I love most that I inspire them even as young as 18 months old. One parent explained that her daughter now has to wear her socks pulled up to her knees “Like Ms. Kristin” when I play soccer. Another has an 18 month old son that now kicks every ball he sees. And when they all play make believe they pretend to be “running” around the house doing races!

  11. March 3, 2010 4:08 pm

    I was taking my four kids over to my MIL’s house so I could get a run in. As soon as I shooed the children into my MIL’s house, one of my twin girls asked Nana “What treat do we get today Nana?” Nice, classy kids. Then my other twin girl asked me, “Mom are you going to do a long run today or track?” I responded that I was doind a short quick run. To which she replied, “No mom, you need to do a long run. A really long run. Don’t hurry back ok.” With a kiss she was off to raid my MIL’s pantry. Can you feel the love?

  12. March 3, 2010 4:13 pm

    I also love watching my kids ‘race’. All four line up and say 1-2-3- go! They love to race like mom. My little girl Alexis likes to tell me to ‘pick my knees up high to run fast like her’.

  13. March 3, 2010 4:22 pm

    My 6 year old told me that he wanted to get an iPod so he could be a ‘real runner’, then challenged me to a 30 yard dash down the sidewalk. This confirmed it. I was a real runner. Not because I ran 5Ks, 10Ks, half marathons, or even marathons, but because my kid thought so. Little kids always see things for what they are.

  14. March 3, 2010 4:23 pm

    My 4 year old says to me today.. “Mom, I know why you run… because it’s fun!” You know it’s not super creative or fantastically original.. but it’s so true… running is a joy, a pleasure, a real psycological and physical release… just an absolute necessity in my life and I am a better person for it! Oh and I RUN LIKE A GIRL!!!
    Runners Rule!
    Thanks everyone for the great kids’ comments stories… they are all so cute!
    -Dawn

  15. Ginnean permalink
    March 3, 2010 4:26 pm

    I don’t have a kid, but while I was babysitting my cousin, he kept asking the same question over and over again. I told him he sounded like a broken record, and he asked “What’s a record?” His 8 year old brother replied, “You know like, when you’re running and you get the best time in the whole school, so you set the record.”

  16. Kathy permalink
    March 3, 2010 4:31 pm

    My girls met me at mile 21 of my first marathon and I told them I wanted to quit, I was so tired. They very energetically said “Get up Mom! You have to keep running! You can do it! Maybe not a funny gem but it made my day! I did finish.

  17. March 3, 2010 4:52 pm

    I’ve been nursing an injury and havent ran in 5 weeks. When I got a little cranky the other day, frustrated that they weren’t getting done what I asked them to do, my 9 year old son asked me when the physical therapist was going to “spring me loose” so I could run again. I guess they are as tired of me not running as I am.

    Tina

  18. GottaRun26.2 permalink
    March 3, 2010 4:55 pm

    Last year my son’s preschool teacher signed up for the San Diego Rock N Roll marathon. Just before race weekend she told the students that she was going to run the marathon and go home with a medal. My son, knowing that I too was going to run, stood up and told everyone, “My mom is going to run the marathon too and win a medal!” Unbeknownst to my son, I had not fully trained for this particular marathon and missed several long training runs due to unforeseen circumstances. After 13.1 miles of the marathon all I wanted to do was STOP. I try to teach my kids the importance of commitment once they say they are going to do something so I knew I had to set a good example. Knowing I could not disappoint my son, I somehow gathered the strength to finish the last half of the marathon. My finish time was the worst on my running record but the medal is the most precious one that I had earned!

  19. March 3, 2010 5:19 pm

    I have large feet. I remember shopping for new school shoes as a 6th grader and crying as my mom marched me over to the “grown up women’s” section for a size 8 1/2. My feet are only getting bigger! After my twins were born my feet have widened and my running shoe has gone to an 11! (Gulp) I’ve been able to hide my try size by purchasing my favorite running shoe in a men’s 9 1/5. Shhhhh. Our secret…or so I thought. Until one day I was lacing up for a run and my 22 month old daughter made a statement, a bold one. Throwing her hands in the air spread out wide, taking a deep breath in, sticking her barreled chest out, she shouted “Mommy has BIGGGGGG shoes.”

    My secret is out!

    • March 5, 2010 2:32 pm

      april: take heart. I have bigger—way bigger–feet than you. I affectionately call them water skis. 🙂 I wear a size 12 men’s shoe (don’t even calculate what that in a women’s size or you might pass out). this site: designershoes.com has been my savior. I mostly wear men’s shoes–casual sneakers, boots, etc.–but they have cute flats and boots and all the things I never used to be able to find in my size (or I would jam my feet into…maybe that’s why they hurt so much now).

  20. March 3, 2010 5:30 pm

    Recently a friend of mine asked my 5-year old daughter if I run fast. My daughter replied, “Yes, every time my mom runs a race, she wins a medal, just like in the Olympics!”

  21. Denise Ricks permalink
    March 3, 2010 7:02 pm

    When my Dad asked my 8 year old son if I was going to win the race I was running, he said there was no way. Daddy is the only one that can run fast, my Mommy runs slow. Ouch, that one hurt!

  22. Judy permalink
    March 3, 2010 7:49 pm

    My nine year old son said to me this week as I was logging my run on the Daily Mile, “why do you run Mom?’ I replied” because I love it”. His response…”no, really, why do you run?” I guess that was not good enough for him, but it is good enough for me.

    • bowenshea permalink*
      March 3, 2010 11:35 pm

      Oh, no! I can just hear the disbelief in his voice. “No, really, Mom. Why???” Ack!

  23. Nichole permalink
    March 3, 2010 7:58 pm

    When I run I have my Ipod and heart rate monitor on. One Saturday my 3 1/2 year old decided to put my old watch on his bicep and run up and down the hallway to see how many “cavities” he could burn.

    Nichole

  24. Natalie permalink
    March 3, 2010 8:56 pm

    As I was lacing up for a recent run, my six-year-old came in and said, “How far are you going to run today? 720 miles?” Kind of made the seven miles I WAS planning to run seem lame by comparison.

  25. March 3, 2010 11:03 pm

    Over the last few months or so, it’s become a bit of a challenge between me and my 11yo daughter as to who is the better runner. She’s a better sprinter (year round soccer will do that to you), but I still insist on breaking into a run across a parking lot to try to beat her to the car. Last weekend, I decide to try this after leaving her indoor game, not thinking that her running on a wet street in her turf shoes probably wasn’t wise. She hit a patch of mud, slid like she was going into 3rd base, ripping up her elbow, hand and hip.

    Once I started breathing again and realized she hadn’t broken a bone, I started apologizing up and down. Her answer, once she stopped crying? “It’s ok mom. You broke my butt, but I still beat you”.

    • bowenshea permalink*
      March 3, 2010 11:36 pm

      LOVE your daughter’s indefatigable spirit!!!! (And YIKES on the fall!!)

  26. Emily M. permalink
    March 3, 2010 11:57 pm

    My 4 year old son asked last year during my training for the Kilimanjaro Marathon- “Why only mommies run fast and not daddies?” ( : My husband, though extremely supportive of my running, doesn’t run himself…
    ps- so pumped about your book and website!
    Emily

  27. Karen permalink
    March 4, 2010 12:36 am

    When my oldest was in preschool, the kids all did a “star student” presentation where they shared information about their famies, interests, favorite things, etc. When it came time to talk about mom and dad, my son saidmy dad’s job is to work in an office and help people and my mom’s job is to go runnin”g. Ha-don’t I wish!

  28. sarah smith permalink
    March 4, 2010 9:15 am

    My stepson spends summer vacations and other holidays with his Dad and I. Every time he comes to visit he always requests that I take a break from running so that I have more time to play with him. I have explained to him that running keeps me from being grouchy. Last summer he and I were arguing about something or another and he says, “Sarah, I think you need to go for a run…” I asked him why and he responded “you’re getting a little grouchy, you must not have run yet.” I had to laugh!

  29. March 4, 2010 9:43 am

    My 2yo hasn’t been much of a talker until lately but last fall I took him on several short runs in his jogging stroller. When he sees me pull it out of the garage he squeals with joy and pumps his arms like a runner. I did a 5K in November with him in the stroller and though he fell asleep at the 1-mile mark, he had so much fun seeing the other runners, and the Nittany Lion mascot lined up at the start.

    Whenever he hears me say I’m going running alone he pumps his little arms. And when my screensaver comes on showing my Nike Mini he points at her and says “Mom, go!”

    I’m hoping he learns the word “run” soon but the letter R looks to be a little ways off. My first half marathon is May 2. I signed up early enough to get a custom bib that says “Evan’s Mom” and the moment I look forward to most is finishing, getting a finisher’s medal, and getting my picture taken standing in front of that big banner, holding him, showing him my medal.

  30. March 4, 2010 10:18 am

    My 7 year old had to write a book for her class and she chose the topic of running. She came up with the guideline, the art work, wrote the story and everything. Her story was called “The day I ran a marathon” She had run some 5k ‘s with me and her story was peppered with things I had told her “pace yourself” “drink lots of water to stay hydrated” and other things. My husband still laughs whenever she says “I need to drink some more to stay hydrated throughout the day”

  31. March 4, 2010 11:27 am

    My 2 1/2 year old son like the feel of silky running shorts. As a result he has a tendency to up his hands up my shorts, even in public. At a young age this isn’t a big deal, but we might have to curb that behavior. On another note he is always cheering at all of my races: running, biking, triathlon. The older he gets the more I can hear his little voice and the faster I raceas a result.

  32. March 4, 2010 2:43 pm

    My daughter who is four years old has said several times “mommy, what are you doing?” When i say running for exercise she says “no mommy, you can only do that on the wii!” OR if we get back from a run outside she yells “it’s a neeeewww record!”
    thanks for the giveaway!!

  33. March 4, 2010 7:31 pm

    I went out for a small run the other morning with my 2 year old in the stroller. It was a great, easy run. Or, so I thought. I bumped into a neighbor I haven’t seen in a while and she asked how my run was. I let her know it was a nice, easy run and great to run in the sun again after these long winter months. I asked Chloe, “It was an easy run, right?” She said, “Momma HUFF and PUFF and HUFF and PUFF!!” I don’t think my neighbor believed me it was easy after that……………..

    love the blog!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  34. January 6, 2011 6:34 am

    My 7 year old son asked, “Why did you let that old woman beat you? She was like 30 or something.” I’m 35 so it was a punch in the gut that he thinks I’m slow and old. Really, I’m just slow.

  35. March 23, 2011 5:29 pm

    My sole sisters or myself. I need the adult conversation or thoughts in my head. My kiddos are too distracting…especially when I’m trying to leave it all on the trail. That being said…I do what I have to do! 😉

Leave a Reply

