Skip to content

And the First Winner is…

March 5, 2010
by
This is one of my daughter’s first stories she wrote in first grade at a new school (hard part translated:…my brother while my mom ran with her friend in the dark). I was pacing a friend in the Leadville 100 in the wee hours, and I’m sure her teacher thought I was freak. Needless to say, I framed it.

But enough about me: we have our first hump-day giveaway winner! Thanks for all the funny, entertaining responses. We love them. But, as with all things in life, there can only be one winner. To make it as fair and as random as possible, I googled “number chart 1-100”, found the goods and cut out up to number 40 and put them in an envelope. I drew one number–30–and then counted the comments to see who it was. (Duplicates and replies to comments don’t count, fyi.)

And the winner is….drum roll…Jessica! (Jessica: e-mail us a runmother at gmail dot com with your address, please.)

She wrote this: My 2 1/2 year old son likes the feel of silky running shorts. As a result he has a tendency to up his hands up my shorts, even in public. At a young age this isn’t a big deal, but we might have to curb that behavior. On another note he is always cheering at all of my races: running, biking, triathlon. The older he gets the more I can hear his little voice and the faster I race as a result.

(At least he doesn’t always have his hands down his pants in public, as Ben, my 3.5 year old does, but that’s another story.)

Maybe her son will be equally enchanted by her new Asics. Congrats, Jessica. And stay tuned for next week; we’ll have another Asics gift certificate for a lucky reader.

This weekend: get out and RLAM!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 4:32 pm

    That is excellent Jessica (the story, and also the gift certificate!). Dimity and Sarah–I got my RW last night in the mail and inhaled your excerpt. Great stuff.

  2. March 12, 2010 11:44 pm

    I love that the story includes the details about you running in the dark. Kids are ALL about the details, even when we sometimes wish they’d leave them out. 🙂

    If you ever figure out how to get your kids to keep their hands out of their pants, please let us ALL know! My daughter can’t fall asleep unless she can hold her left cheek (not her kissable cheek, the *other* one) with her hand – skin to skin. What are we to do?! Love her!

Leave a Reply

