Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

March 11, 2010

Carmen during chemo sporting her Boston Marathon jacket

Be inspired by Carmen Fontana, 31, a mother of two sons in Chagrin Falls, Ohio. Last March, Carmen was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma while training for her third marathon.

Best recent run? An 8-miler this past weekend at a decent pace. It’s the longest I’ve run in a year so I was pretty excited.

Cancer was most like a race when…In a race, there are times things are going really well and other times things are really dark. But you have to have faith in yourself and your training and take it one mile at a time. Like running, there were good days and bad days with cancer. But I had to believe in myself and my doctors and take it one day at a time.

High-school cross-country was when I first felt like I fit in. We were all outsiders and x-c bonded us. College cross-country was both wonderful and frustrating. I met some of my dearest friends then but never felt like I ran to my potential.

Running buddies are essential. Throughout the years I’ve been blessed with awesome teammates and running partners. It’s so nice to be able to spend time with someone who ‘gets it.’ It’s too easy to become unmotivated by non-runners who question why we crawl out of a cozy bed in the wee hours to put some miles in.

Best post-race treat ever: Not sure about the best, but the worse was the case of hypothermia I got after the nor’easter when I ran Boston Marathon in 2007.

Nap or pedicure? I have two small boys who are allergic to sleeping. So nap wins by a landslide.

Next on the running horizon? I’m training for the 10K at the Cleveland Marathon in May and hope to do a marathon in the fall (probably Columbus).

Follow this mother at: www.facebook.com/TheMilesAhead

Ready to roll: Carmen with her sons

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 10:42 am

    Carmen is amazing. This is another one of those times when I realize my problems are so, so small. Rock on Carmen!

  2. March 11, 2010 4:56 pm

    Carmen, you are a total inspiration! Thanks for sharing your story with us.

  3. March 15, 2010 8:51 pm

    I truly needed to read this. Thank you so much, am following/friending Carmen now.

Leave a Reply

