Skip to content

Dara, Obama, Julia, Valerie Bertinelli and more…

March 12, 2010
by

Loved, loved, loved all your dream running dates. While the occasional celebrity made us laugh (Really? Tom Selleck? Isn’t he in a senior citizen home by now? J/K, Magnum, P.I., J/K) , the majority of the answers–my daughter, my best friends, my sister, my mom, my husband–reinforce what we all know so well: that a shared run deepens already close relationships in way unlike any other activity can. One of Sarah’s favorite lines that I wrote in our first blog–and I plagiarized for the book, if you can do such a thing to yourself–is this: Running is conducive to frank, sometimes soul-baring conversations in the same way road trips are: When you keep your eyes on the road, you can speak from your heart.

Fitting, then, that Brianna, author of We are Girls Who Love to Run, a kids book, written in both Spanish and English, that documents and praises active girls of all shapes and sizes, randomly won this week. Her passion for running flows over to the upcoming generation, which, in turn, will have a whole new posse of dream running dates. (Cue: Elton John’s “The Circle of Life.”)

Brianna wrote:
“I think you already ran my dream by joining Deena Kastor for a run, but really I’d be excited to run with a whole group of redheads (like me) from various stages in my life. When we knew one another, none of us ran, but now that we’re spread across the country, we are ALL passionate runners. So, if I could have my way, I’d gather Beth, Erin & Jenny for a week of running. Yes, I said a WEEK, because I’m sure once you got us started it would take us that long before we’d want to stop. There’s nothing like a run with a good friend.”

Congrats, Brianna. Stay tuned for a contest next Wednesday.

Enjoy your weekends–anybody racing? Let us know. Wherever your feet take you, have a blast!

p.s. If you’re not a Runner’s World subscriber, you can read the RLAM excerpt about husbands and children by clicking on the media link above.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 3:32 pm

    Congrats Brianna!!

  2. March 12, 2010 3:40 pm

    love her answer !!!

  3. March 12, 2010 3:47 pm

    Tom needs to cover up his junk–I just bit my tongue while chewing a chia seed.
    Congrats Brianna!

  4. March 12, 2010 11:37 pm

    Thanks gals – and thanks Asics and my dear Run Like a Mother writing friends, SBS & Dimity! Though I’m not sure if I should be flattered or concerned that my book cover is in the same post with Tom. 🙂

    I’m still searching for photos with those friends of mine – those friendships are pre-digital camera friendships, but I KNOW I’ve seen them all since digital, so there’s hope yet!

  5. March 13, 2010 6:24 pm

    Congrats to Brianna!

  6. March 14, 2010 1:26 pm

    Tom, Tom, go away, don’t come back another day ;]

Leave a Reply

