Skip to content

Unofficial National Running Mothers Day!

March 23, 2010
by

Chariots of fire.

There are a few reasons why today, March 23rd, is circled on our calendars.

1. Free pastries at Starbucks until 10:30 a.m. Reward yourself after a hard run with my favorite calorie bomb, the cinnamon chip scone, for free. (You have to buy a drink, but if you’re stopping at ‘bucks, admit it: you’ve already got your mind set on a grande frapo-latte-cino.)

2. It’s also national Organize your Home Office Day (a cause I can’t get behind; you’d understand why if you saw my desk); national Chip + Dip Day (a cause I can get behind, especially if the dip is guac); and national Puppy Day (behind it, but do not need another hound, thanks).

3. And, of course, it’s the day Run Like A Mother is officially for sale. We know some of you have found it at Barnes + Noble early, and Amazon has shipped already too, so it’s a loose “official,” but still: as of today, RLAM is out there in the world. We plan on this mother having many, many miles in her.

4. Because the days #2 are, well, lame, we unofficially declare March 23rd National Running Mothers Day! (We’re keeeping it unofficial, lest schools catch wind of it and want to declare it yet another no-school holiday.) The occasion is best marked with some sweat and some laughs, hopefully shared with a friend, on a run of any length. If you have a chance to partake in this very important holiday, let us know the details in a comment; benched with an injury or not, I love me some vicarious living.

The preferred attire for NRMD? Maybe some capris or a running skirt, if your part of the country has been blessed with springtime weather (or tights and a ear band, if you’re expecting snow, like we are here in Colorado).

And running shoes, of course. I ordered these custom Nike ID kicks last fall, but didn’t open the box until Monday night. (How’s that for self-discipline?) So they’re a bit louder than I thought they’d be, and they definitely won’t do my size 12 water skis any favors. But they scream celebration–kinda like we are today too.

Happy NRMD!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 6:39 am

    GREAT SHOES, DIMITY! I love them! Very appropriate & I so admire your discipline…I know I couldn’t have waited. I think I will celebrate the day with a run & maybe a new skirt purchase! 🙂 What better occasion, right? The only thing that doesn’t live with me forever from Starbucks is black coffee, my preferable drink anytime! Congratulations on the official debut!!! I know it will continue to be a success!

  2. Tryna permalink
    March 23, 2010 8:08 am

    Congratulations on the book release date. I can’t imagine how excited you are. I got mine from Amazon and have it on my bedside table to start reading tonight. I celebrated by running this morning and am now enjoying the “I’m so glad I’m done today” feelings. Have a great day. And thanks for the tip on organizing the home office, now I have a goal date for next year.

  3. March 23, 2010 10:11 am

    Congrats on your official sale day! Woohoo! I’m planning on buying a copy soon! 🙂

    I was supposed to go running at the gym this morning, but my little one had other plans. After being up all night last night, he threw up this morning and is in bed sick. Poor little guy. So, my run was scratched, but that’s o-kay…I just want him to get better!

  4. March 23, 2010 11:48 am

    Congrats on the book! I can’t wait to get a copy of my own to read!
    As for RLAM Day, I plan on running this evening with my neighbor…she is a SUPER runner, and I have never ran with her, so am excited to try to keep up. We are going to keep it a short 3 mile run.
    As for attire, I will probably break out my under amour bright pink and yellow RUN shirt! I think it will be appropriate for a celebration!
    Love the shoes by the way!

  5. Christine permalink
    March 23, 2010 12:04 pm

    Wishing you the best on your BIG day! Can’t wait to get my own copy!

  6. March 23, 2010 12:27 pm

    Congrats on the offical book release! It is a great book.

    In honor of National Running Mother’s Day, I – whatelse – ran with my kiddo! I sported my capris even though the weather has taken a turn for the cold again. grrrr.

  7. March 23, 2010 12:33 pm

    Congrats on the book! Found you on Twitter … looking forward to checking it out!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

  8. March 23, 2010 12:37 pm

    Love those shoes!! Best of luck with the official release! And Happy National Running Mothers Day!

  9. March 23, 2010 12:38 pm

    Lovin those shoes (I have big feet too, size 11…and I am only 5’8)! Wish I could celebrate in style by going for a good run today, but we are battling a stomach flu here…so here’s hoping I can have a belated celebration tomorrow. COngrats on your book release.

  10. March 23, 2010 12:39 pm

    Congrats on the book! I saw it here at Barnes and Noble in Bozeman. It looked they started with a large stack, and only had two left. I can’t wait to read it. I plan to buy it for my girlfriends who met me in Vegas to do the half with me last December as an early Mother’s Day gift:)

    • March 23, 2010 6:26 pm

      Love that, Michelle–really, that’s what we want RLAM to be all about. A supportive community of strong, like-minded women. Congrats on Vegas. What’s up next?

  11. March 23, 2010 2:29 pm

    I’ll have to hit my bookstore and look for the book…also so refreshing to see someone with “larger” size running shoes. I wear 10 1/2 and whenever I hit my local running store, I feel like bigfoot surrounded by all these dainty runners! smile

    Melodie

    • March 23, 2010 6:28 pm

      Oh, Melodie…the stories I could tell. I wear–and I can’t believe I’m putting this out in public–a 14 in women’s. So that 12 is actually a men’s size. I was a 13 women’s until I had two kids, and then my feet grew along with my belly. I just found a site called Barefoot Tess, which is cool b/c they have flats (I don’t need heels) for decent prices (barefoottess.com) and goes up to 15. I bet you can find shoes in stores, but just in case. Thanks for reading!

  12. March 23, 2010 3:17 pm

    Congrats on the book release… can’t wait to get a copy! As for RLAM Day, I ran after work with one of my running partners… great 3 miles in a park we haven’t run in awhile. Garb – capris and sleeveless top (whoo hoo). Between us, we have 5 kids, ranging in age from 2 1/2 – 23. Mom power!

  13. March 23, 2010 3:33 pm

    First off–woohoo for you guys today! Awesome feeling, I am sure. Secondly–I was at Starbucks this morning, ordered my coffee, got no word of the free pastry! Maybe the barista thought I didn’t need it? : (

    Ran a tough track session this a.m. with my many running mama pals–in shorts. It was great (especially after the pain)

    Finally–love the new kicks. Yellow is my favorite color.

    • March 23, 2010 6:29 pm

      Oh, you had to print out the coupon that I linked to…sorry I didn’t make that clear. I ate a pumpkin scone to celebrate: plenty of calories for both of us. 🙂

      Congrats on the track session.

  14. March 23, 2010 3:38 pm

    Congratulations!!!! Great day to run here in Des Moines!

  15. March 23, 2010 4:51 pm

    not officially running (thats my story and I’m sticking to it) so I jumped in my big old truck and “ran” down to B&N (after my “run” into Starbucks for a London Fog Latte and free maple scone with the couplon that I showed the bartista with my phone, very techy I know) to buy myself… no, no, no, a FRIEND, a copy of RLAM. Might celebrate by loving on my puppy and eating Chips and Dip this afternoon. Sorry can’t count on cleaning up my desk, lost cause there.

    Love the kicks. I’d probably need them to be bright pink or that bright turqoise blue thats so popular right now, for me to wear them. I’m all for the pay attention to the shoes… no one looks at how awful the rest of me looks!

    YEAH for National Running Mothers Day!!!

  16. March 23, 2010 5:55 pm

    Happy NRMD! Love the kicks!
    I celebrated by charging around the neighborhood like a crazy woman in my capris under the guise of doing some intervals: 2x1600m, 4x800m, strides all the while strategizing on how I was going to replace our dead fish before Thing 1 came home from school. Ah a day in the life.

    • March 23, 2010 6:31 pm

      Hope you found a suitable replacement, Marcia, for the sushi. 🙂 Nice job on the intervals.

  17. sclubmama permalink
    March 27, 2010 9:09 am

    I didn’t realize that your book was RELEASED on my birthday! Awesome! Those shoes are beautiful, too. 🙂 Congratulations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

