Skip to content

RLAM Hits the Road!

March 29, 2010
by

Hook 'em horns.

As we’re probably told you too many times, Sarah and I were lucky to head to Austin, Texas this weekend for the 2nd annual Zooma half-marathon, 5k, and 20k relay. Such a great event: perfect, cloudy, kinda chilly weather for the half-marathon, then sun for the 5k the following morning; held at the Hyatt Lost Pines Resort, which has everything from a lazy river for relaxation to pedicures to pamper your toes; and the general girlfriend feeling–teams of tutus for the 20k relay; plenty of laughs emanating doors as I walked by them in the hotel; smiles and hugs and high fives at the finish line from running buddies–was fun to see and soak in.

Here, a few shots from the weekend:

Telling the audience how to RLAM.

SBS and I did our first reading at BookPeople. Totally fun, especially the q + a part at the end. Our favorite question, “When are you guys going to be on Oprah?” Well, O seems a little past her marathoning days, I think, but we’re still gonna try.

Our stand, one (small) step up from a kid's lemonade, on-the-corner one.

Props to Phoebe, SBS’ 8-year-old, for a better rendition of a mom pushing a stroller than I am capable of. Thanks to everybody who stopped by; love spreading the RLAM message.

Erika + Rebecca: Soul sisters.

While I’m standing behind the stand, I hear, “Dimity!” and see Rebecca, above, coming over to me. I’m racking my brain: what’s her name? Where did I meet her? How do I know her? Nothing comes to mind. Turns out, I don’t–but I do now, and am so glad about that. Her training buddy, Erika, got a stress fracture while preparing for this 13.1. The night before at dinner, Rebecca told her all about my very similar story that ran in RW to encourage her to keep going. I have no doubt she’s on the mend; she’s taking on a Danskin Tri in a couple months. I love how Erika still dressed in her team’s uniform and wore her number: no-woe-is-me feelings coming from her.

Me, with my smallest, biggest fans.

Best part of the weekend for me, hand’s down. Love knowing that the story that inspired RLAM continues to inspire. Go get ’em, Erika!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 10:16 am

    Congrats on great races in Austin! You guys are so inspirational. I am almost finished with the book, but I don’t want it to end because I love getting into it, relating to experiences and most of all, laughing out loud – so much that my husband insists I read the paragraph to him. (I’m sure he’ll be reading the entire book anyway once I put it down.) KEEP IT UP MOTHERS! You need to make it out to San Diego for a tour stop.

    • March 29, 2010 12:12 pm

      Thanks, Eli–glad it’s making you laugh. We’ll do our best to make it to SD.

  2. March 29, 2010 10:30 am

    We would love it if you could make it to Salt Lake City for a stop!!! There are lots of running mothers who would be so excited to see you!!!!!!!!

    • March 29, 2010 12:13 pm

      SLC is a possibility, Mel–but maybe not until August (and we’d have to run at 6 a.m. because it gets so hot!). Thanks for reading and RLAM’ing!

      • March 29, 2010 2:13 pm

        That would be AWESOME!!! (even at 6 a.m.)I also thought I would let you know I am giving your book to all my running girlfriends as gifts. Some of us have older kids, some of us have younger kids but your book really seems to fit us all. I love it!!

  3. Jennifer permalink
    March 29, 2010 10:31 am

    I think we should all write letters to Oprah!!

    And I can’t wait until you girls come to Boston!

    • March 29, 2010 12:14 pm

      We like that idea, Jennifer: Dear O: we want you to run like a mother, even though you’re not runner anymore, you’re a mother-figure to many, many women (and to your dogs, of course).

  4. March 29, 2010 12:48 pm

    I don’t see Montana on your schedule…any chance? The Missoula Marathon (in July) was ranked #1 in the US by Runner’s World….It would be a great one for you to check out, and we’d love to see you there.

  5. March 29, 2010 2:08 pm

    Would love to have been there–I am forever hearing what a great town Austin is and what fun to have been a part of your road trip there! SBS–I sneaked a peak at the results–was that a PR for you??

  6. bowenshea permalink*
    March 29, 2010 2:53 pm

    Thanks gals for all the LOVE and invites to come to your towns! Persistance pays off: Given our awesome experience at ZOOMA race (more details tomorrow), I am now seriously considering heading out for the ZOOMA Annapolis race on June 6. If I do, I’d do a reading in DC area, most likely Chevy Chase. We’ll keep you posted, and thanks again for support!

    And, Michelle, about 80 seconds slower than my PR (set after book went to press–good eye!), but that PR was set on pancake-flat course. Austin was HILLY so I’m very proud.

    • March 29, 2010 3:41 pm

      Ladies–if you decide to come to Annapolis, let me know. Would love to hook up, hear the reading, etc.!

  7. john permalink
    March 30, 2010 1:02 pm

    Do not fret. We will see you on Oprah, because she wants to Run Like a Mother.

    john

  8. Kerry permalink
    March 30, 2010 7:25 pm

    Please come to the NE (VT) area too…we’ve got wicked good hills for you Sarah!
    And yes, I’m another one who was inspired by the two of you, your original training plan, and D’s working through injury and still running….that RW is still in my reference pile and my first marathon was accomplished last April….haven’t run much since then between a pulled calf muscle from the race and the morning sickness that showed its face about 3 weeks later…my little marathon baby is 3M right now. 🙂
    It helps also that you two are rowers too….I love the pictures of you tall ladies!

  9. March 31, 2010 6:31 pm

    What a great post! Austin is a great city and I would love to run there someday. Congrats to all that raced and I love the no expectations and then placing in your age group!

Leave a Reply

