Skip to content

In My Dreams

April 5, 2010

It's bedtime: SBS sporting the Saucony Recovery Suit

Ever since I was pregnant for the first time, I’ve had incredibly vivid dreams. (It would make modest-Dimity blush if I shared too many details, but I’ll divulge that  the best one involved Spike from “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and the back of a van…) They’ve tapered off a bit since I’m not pregnant or breastfeeding, but for the last few nights my dreams have been technocolor again thanks, I think, to a garment I’m testing for an article. It’s by Saucony and it’s called a Recovery Suit. The technology is a little hazy to me still, but has something to do with bringing more oxygen to overtaxed muscles.

However it works, I can tell you this: It makes me sleep like a log. I fall asleep super-fast in it (at bedtime, and then again after getting up for middle-of-night pee, even after having to wrestle the suit down!) and then have the deepest, darkest sleep. Seriously: When I woke up at 1:34 a.m. the first night, I had NO clue where I was when I woke up. Heck, I barely even knew my own name!

And as for dreams: Very detailed and wonderfully wacky in the suit. Take this morning. In real life, I had to wake up and run 22 miles with the final 6 at slightly below marathon pace. (My longest, most strenuous run before Big Sur Marathon in three weeks.) In my dream, I was already on the long run. Except in my dream, I’d somehow run 17 miles…while asleep. But then I’d continued sleeping and was in danger of being late to my older daughter’s first soccer game of the season. In my dream, I debated long and hard: Do I cut my workout short, skipping the 6 speedy miles, and go to soccer game, or do I stick to the training plan, foregoing family-time? I tell you, it was a tough call. I asked a few folks for advice, but they all told me the decision was mine.

Thankfully, I woke up before I could decide what to do.

Something tells me I’m not the only one who dreams about running. Right?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 12:19 pm

    Hmmm I think I would rather have your dreams than mine. In my dreams someone is always trying to kill me. I tell my dreams to my mom and she says that horror movies have nothing on my imagination. Sadly, I don’t think that’s a good thing. I always wake up from my dreams with my heart pounding and feeling like I need to hide.

    The suit sounds cool though, and I can’t wait to hear more about it.

    I am BRAND NEW to running. As in I am obese and just deciding I need to do something to turn my life around before my health takes some serious and permanent hits. I have started the couch to 5k plan, and it’s very slow going for me, but I can now run for 1 minute solid and that is something I never, ever thought I would be able to do.

    Reading your blog takes me to that place in my mind where somewhere in the future I will be able to run not just for one minute, but thirty or more, and like it instead of hate it. That’s my goal.

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 7, 2010 1:27 pm

      Jeanette–
      We have talked to several moms (including good friend Dana) who have had great success with Couch-to-5K plan, so stick with it. I’m so pleased you find inspiration in our blog. Trust me: We’ve all been where you were in terms of dreading running or finding it taxing. As Dim and I both experienced during our college years at Colgate, it can be tough going at first…but so rewarding. Keep at it!

  2. April 5, 2010 12:25 pm

    I often dream about running. That is due in large part because I spend so much time thinking about running, working out where the kiddos will be, what races I can do, which routes and distances I want to get in for the week.

    Enjoy those vivid dreams!

  3. April 5, 2010 3:08 pm

    I wish I dreamt…about running…anything. I don’t dream much (when not pregnant). I do need to run/walk today. I took the weekend off due to being so sick but ugh, I did not like it. But I tried to run one of the first days I was ill and made myself sick by doing so. I think the time off was good for my cold…but not for my bod. Can’t wait to start up.

  4. sarah permalink
    April 5, 2010 3:38 pm

    I dream about running, usually before a race or a LONG run, but it never ends well. i am always close to the finish and my legs stop working and i have to drag myself on the ground to the finish. I wonder what that means… maybe that is why I am so freaked out to “empty my tank”.
    love the recovery suit, sarah! does it have a cape in the back?

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 7, 2010 1:29 pm

      LOL at the “cape in back” comment. The suit inspired dear Daphne, almost 5, to dub herself “Super Running Girl” last week. Yay!

  5. April 5, 2010 5:07 pm

    the hubby calls them “Puppy dreams” because my feet move like I’m running while I’m dreaming about it. Its especially bad when I haven’t run in awhile… I’ve been teased a lot lately. LOL

  6. Rebecca permalink
    April 5, 2010 7:21 pm

    Previous to my focus in running, I dreamt about dancing. In those dreams, I could never find my dance shoes. I never got to perform on stage. Now, I seemed to have transferred that anxiety to running! In my recurring dream, it is time to line up for my marathon, and I can’t find my running shoes! I’m usually frantically running alongside the local businesses searching for a running shoe store. I wake up before I actually miss the race. So when I travel to a race, I’m doing everything shy of wearing my running shoes around my neck!

  7. bowenshea permalink*
    April 7, 2010 1:30 pm

    Rebecca–
    Crazy how it’s always your shoes you are searching for in your dreams. (“Calling Dr. Freud: What does this mean??”) Did you read in the new issue of Runner’s World, in the “I’m a Runner” back-page column, that the woman grabbed her GARDENING shoes en route to a marathon instead of running shoes?! Ack, I think it’s almost worse than forgetting shoes entirely.

Leave a Reply

