Skip to content

Click. Don’t Take A Pic.

April 6, 2010
by

Can you photoshop eyes open?

Last week was one of those. During some construction on our street, sewage overflowed into our basement. (It happened on April 1st, but alas, it was no joke.) It was spring break for Denver Public Schools, so I hired a babysitter for M/W/F so I could keep up my regular work schedule except use the library as my office. Little did I know Monday was Cesar Chavez day (which of course means: close the libraries!) and Friday was a furlough day (save some money! close la Biblioteca!). I kinda worked on Wednesday, but that was the day that I squeaked in an MRI with just 3 hours to spare before we switched insurance companies. Wonder if anxiety and stress show up in hi-res.

So I when I got an e-mail alerting me that pics from the Zooma 5k were online, I wasn’t hopeful. I’ve been a runner for over 20 years and have yet to order a race shot. There’s always something wrong: my feet, with 6 cm ground clearance, look like they’re walking; my grimace seems just shy of suicidal; or my clothes are bulging in all the wrong places. Given last week’s events, I was sure these would be no different, even though I dutifully followed the insiders rules we so helpfully dole out in RLAM. (The abbreviated version includes, but is not limited to: wear a skirt to avoid that unsightly race short creep; don’t wear the oversized race tee; tip your hat up; don’t look at your watch; smile. See page 142 for better details.)

I entered in my name, and much to my amazement, I liked what I saw! Finally. I’ve got some air under my feet. I look happy. You can see a genuine, not-trying-too-hard smile.ย  A great pic and the turn of events my Alexander-ish week needed! So I quickly plunk down my digits for the $20 fee, and order the shot. Download, blow it up, take a closer look.

Dang you eyes. Why did I have to blink?

At the risk of sounding like Charlie Brown, I’m not surprised. But I’m not giving up either. I know I’ve got a good shot–or connection with a photographer in me. Do you have a secret to getting a good race shot? Or do you have one that makes you laugh because it’s so bad? (If you’ve got one you want to share, post it on our Facebook page. Seriously. Despite my closed eyes above, I’m a visual person who needs examples.)

p.s. All was not lost last week. I compiled part I of our Mega-Momma-Mix Playlist, which is about 30% of the songs you rockin’ ladies recommended. Stay tuned for parts II and III. I’m gonna need the new version of the Nano. (Mother’s Day? Anyone listening?)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. sassy permalink
    April 6, 2010 8:11 am

    hahahhaha. classic. at least everything else except your eyes look rockin’.
    never ordered a race pic, but i’ll try your tips next time and see if i can get a keeper.

  2. April 6, 2010 8:11 am

    You look great! My pictures don’t turn out nearly as well. By the way – She Sells Sanctuary by the Cult is a fantastic song to run to. I saw it on your list and it brought back so many memories! Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby and Einstein on the Beach by the Counting Crows are also great.

  3. April 6, 2010 8:16 am

    LOL – I’m sure we all have some terrible race shots! I’ll head over tonight to share mine (which means I also have to figure out how to use my scanner, so you better appreciate my effort ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    Thanks for making the playlist! I downloaded every Dixie Chicks song I could find on *ahem* Limewire last night based on Sarah’s reccomendation in RLAM! I love them! I now have a new favourite group – Thanks!

    • April 6, 2010 9:18 pm

      Hey Janice–Love the Chix. Love them. One of my faves, even though it’s not a running song, is “I Hope.” Did you DL that?

  4. Christina permalink
    April 6, 2010 9:28 am

    My worst race shot ever was from the first 10K I ever ran. The photographer had stationed himself right at the top of this huge (MONSTER) hill. He was snapping pictures of us as we were running up the hill. (Why?????? One guy who was running near me even asked the photographer why he was set up there!) Of course my photo ended up being awful. I was walking, my eyes were squeezed shut and I couldn’t tell whether I was laughing hysterically at the ridiculousness of someone taking my picture or about to puke (or maybe both)? I didn’t buy it but when I saw the preview on the photog’s website, I just cracked up laughing!

    • April 6, 2010 9:17 pm

      The laugh is worth something, right, Christina? I think all photogs should be stationed on the middle of slight downhill. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Natalie permalink
    April 6, 2010 10:58 am

    That is a great race pic! What a bummer about the closed eyes. I do think someone really skilled w/ photoshop could fix it for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. April 6, 2010 12:48 pm

    I think it’s great that you even have that many options to look at!! Just print it off in wallet size, eh?

  7. April 6, 2010 1:40 pm

    I run such small events they often don’t have photographers so most bad race shots are taken by my loving and well-meaning family and friends. I wish I had to secret to looking great while running but I don’t. If anyone has it, please share!

  8. Monica permalink
    April 6, 2010 5:46 pm

    You do look great! I still feel weird when I compliment women (like I’m gay or something) but you have super, awesome legs! I’m sure it helps that you are so tall. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • April 6, 2010 9:16 pm

      Thanks Monica–yes, a 36″ inseam comes with being almost 6’4″. I like it now; not so much when jeans didn’t come in extra long and I was stuck with boys’ Levis. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. KarenM permalink
    April 8, 2010 3:00 pm

    From the nose down, you really do look great, Dimity! You look strong, healthy, beautiful, and like you’re having a good time!

  10. April 8, 2010 6:33 pm

    I think you look great! My race pics always are always hilarious, not in a good way though. I have a face that I call my “pig face” because of my stupid flared nostrils. I laugh about it because what else am I going to do? I would love to get a nice pic someday, but for now, I just expect the pig face. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. April 12, 2010 9:52 pm

    Dimity,

    You should see my photo! You look so happy and relaxed. Who needs eyes anyway when you have long tan legs? Really, who?

Leave a Reply

