Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

April 8, 2010

Julie Anderson skipping up Pilot Butte near her town of Bend, Oregon

This week I got to meet Julie Anderson, 44,  when I was reading and running out in Bend, Oregon. If there was a way to do a brain-download, I would tap into the mind of this queen of social media who is ramping up the Chubby Mommy Running Club.

 

Stand-out run: A 5K in Baltimore  a few weeks ago. I don’t usually run many races, but I had so much fun meeting people and encouraging some first-time 5K runners, I’ve decided to start doing more races. The phrase “it’s not a race, it’s a journey” popped into my head during that run. Now I’m looking for ways to encourage new runners through Learn to Run classes at running specialty stores, like FootZone in Bend.

New shoes? I’ve been known to buy whatever’s on sale at a discount store and running them ragged until my knees told me it was time for a new pair. I got a pair of free New Balance shoes at a recent conference. They fit perfectly and I haven’t had any pain since I’ve been wearing them, despite going on longer runs than usual. I’m a perfect example of someone who should go in and get my stride tested at a good running store to see what shoe is best for me.

Favorite on-the-go snack: I’m really into the Clif Builder’s protein bars right now. They have a good balance of carb/fat/protein, no refined sugar, and keep me going for about three hours. Sometimes I eat half of one an hour before running to keep from crashing. I’ve learned I do better in life, and in dieting, if I don’t crash.

“Chubby”—why that word? Chubby seems like a friendly word, and it described me at the time I started writing my blog. I’ve been a runner off and on since high school, and I’m in pretty good shape, heart-health wise, even when I’m 10 to 20 pounds overweight. I don’t think chubby is a bad word, and I think it describes a lot of middle-aged moms like me who are conscious of diet and exercise, but not a slave to it. I’m more concerned with staying healthy than running a marathon and getting back down to a size 8.

Big-picture goal: I’m revamping my blog to become more of a portal for people to find each other and other great fitness blogs and online communities. I want to partner with existing clubs and blogs to help them build community, and I hope Chubby Mommy Running Club can become a national “movement” to encourage women who might be a little intimidated to join a group of experienced runners to find each other, get out, and get started.

Ticket to weight management? I wrote a post about it recently because I have lost weight in the past year with careful diet and exercise. Working out with weights and learning functional fitness routines with trainers has helped, too (yep, I did many good old-fashioned push-ups, sit-ups and even the dreaded wall-sits!) Food-wise, I don’t eat much refined sugar; I try to get most of my carbs from fruits and vegetables; and I make sure I eat a balance of carbs, protein, and “healthy” fat at every meal. I eat small meals every 3 to 4 hours. The older I get, the more I have to exercise and add resistance training to actually lose weight. It’s a bummer, but welcome to middle-aged angst!

Follow this mother at: chubbymommyrunningclub.blogspot.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 9:07 am

    Great post and great idea for you moms. I hope you don’t mind a running dad following you all. I also believe in encouraging mom(and dads) into taking care of themselves and staying healthy. Good luck with the chubby moms from a chubby dad.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

  2. April 8, 2010 9:32 am

    Thanks Sarah! I enjoyed meeting you and I’m inspired by you and Dimity. And thanks rundadrun, looking forward to reading your blog.

  3. April 9, 2010 10:12 am

    Definitely sounds like my kind of running ‘club’ 😀

Leave a Reply

