Skip to content

Running is 90% Mental

April 9, 2010
by

And that, good or bad, is the truth. It’s your head that gets you out of bed–tons of you are early risers–and out the door. It’s your head that tells you to let up or speed up. It’s your head that decides how far, how fast, how long you’ll go. Your body has to do the work, but your head is the one that drives the bus.

Tonia, who will be sporting a new pair Keens shortly, knows this very well. She writes: I think the best advice I give newer runners is “Running is 90% mental. When you think you can’t run another second. Don’t stop. Run 30 seconds more. And then 30 seconds more after that. It will teach your body that it can handle more than your mind thinks it can.”

Part of Tonia's kickin' sock collection.

I’d add to her advice. From the looks of her blog, seems her signature look is  wearing bright colors while she runs and matching them with very happy knee socks. While you may not be comfortable covering your shins in polka dots, find an outfit that makes you look and feel sleek–and put it on when your gray matter is saying, “No, no, no, no, I don’t waaaaant to.” (Like a certain 3-year-old I know.)

Tonia,  who accurately describes herself as a wife, a mom, a runner, and an all-around superhero, will be running for a bunch of 30-second increments when she hits the Cherry Blossom 10-miler on Saturday; go get ’em! And to everybody else out there running, racing or otherwise moving this weekend, enjoy spring!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 7:50 am

    Wow! This is totally awesome. Thanks so much!

  2. April 9, 2010 8:00 am

    Congrats Tonia! I love your sock collection!

  3. April 9, 2010 8:32 am

    Yay for Tonia! I get to meet her this Sunday post race and check out her get up. I plan to post pictures so check in!

  4. April 9, 2010 8:34 am

    If it wasn’t me winning the shoes, I’m glad it’s Tonia! That girl is a rockstar and I love following her on her blog! She forgot to add to her description though: an overall awesome chic! Thanks for the giveaway RLAM!

  5. April 9, 2010 9:04 am

    Ah, the Cherry Blossom race is supposed to be incredible – and someday I might just make my way across the state to do it. I imagine it IS more fun to do it in those great socks. How fun!

  6. April 9, 2010 11:15 am

    I really wish I was an early morning riser…but I ran last night and that was just beautiful! Mornings don’t have stars…

  7. April 9, 2010 12:52 pm

    Is it ever mental…I can’t tell you how many times I have separated the brain in my head from my legs…so often, I assess my physical distress and find out that my head is tired, not my legs. It took me a long time to be able to get to that point, but now I’m pretty good at it!

    Additionally, another spin on running being mental is this – I had to XT yesterday (that was my plan B) and today, I just want to run. It’s almost 2:00 here & life is happening all around me and running is so not in the cards. I think I’m going to do a sneak attack on my TM as soon as the cable dude leaves. In other words, my mental health is at stake here 😉 Okay, not really, but you know what I mean.

  8. April 9, 2010 2:19 pm

    She has one of the best running wardrobes I have ever seen! A a super fit set of legs she makes us all envious with by showcasing them in those great socks! She’ll rock the CB on Saturday!

  9. Heidi Heitkamp permalink
    April 11, 2010 11:56 am

    Love it! I love your line about your head driving the bus, do you mind if I quote this to my elementary school kids? I have started a Mileage Club for kids grade 1-6 at the school where I work and I am always looking for ways to motivate and keep them running!!

  10. Kate B. permalink
    April 11, 2010 12:34 pm

    What a great tip to approach each run as 30 second increments!

Leave a Reply

