Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

April 15, 2010

Turning a corner: Melodie sprinting for the finish in recent 5K

Mom of three Melodie Monberg, 34, caught our attention when she sent us a photo for our Moms on the Run section–and told us she started running at age 10 when she lived at 12,000 feet in Kijabe, Kenya. This mom now lives in Colorado Springs (Dimity’s former stomping grounds).

Best run: My first marathon. Vancouver. I LOVE that city and had a local running group in my pace group, who gave me an amazing running tour of the city. I would do that marathon again in a heartbeat!

I run because: I like to drink wine and eat good food. Seriously, though, I run because it makes me feel like a human who can manage life. I run for me. I ran my first race at age 30 after suffering though a year of severe post-partum depression. It was running that got me out of that deep, deep hole and finally a real human being emerged.

Running at altitude: is easy now. I take pride in the fact that I can run a couple hours at 7,000 feet. It makes running at sea level seem like I’m flying!

Went the adoption route: because I always knew I’d have a child from Africa. I was born in Nigeria, lived in Africa for 19 years, and wanted a child from there.

Guilty pleasure: Only one? Yikes! Wine, chocolate, sushi.

Most memorable race: Pikes Peak Ascent 2008. Oh.my.gosh. Coldest race EVER. But I accomplished my goal, finishing in under 4 hours.

Alarm clock: What’s that? I have three kids, including an 11 month old. They are my alarm clock!

Follow this mother at: www.themonbergs.com

Melodie with her fam: Could they be any more adorable?!?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 11:35 am

    Wowsers! Running at that altitude and then sea level – flying indeed!

    I have two adopted kiddos and always love to see stories about other adoptive runner mommas. Warms my heart in a special way.

    • April 15, 2010 3:53 pm

      I have a sweet baby girl I just adopted this year. I backed out of a marathon when I new she was coming. Love adoption all the way around!

  2. April 15, 2010 11:05 pm

    What a wonderful runner mom!

  3. April 16, 2010 12:51 pm

    Thanks for featuring Melodie! I can relate so much to her after suffering frmo post-partum depression myself and treating it with running. I got back to running this January and am finally functioning again! I remembered to sign my kids up for thier sports this year, got 5 yrs worth of taxes filed etc… all because of my return to running.

Leave a Reply

