Skip to content

Lovin’ the Queen

April 16, 2010
by

So through my very unscientific perusing of all your BQ/DQ comments–which were awesome, by the way–I think the scale tipped slightly towards DQ, but many of you are firmly in between the two stages: loving what running does for your body (and appetite) but also thriving on the challenge of seeing what your legs are capable of. Very cool. And there are definitely driven BQ’ers out there too; I appreciate and admire your drive. The responses validates what I always say: It takes all types in this world–and all types to RLAM.

Here’s a sampling of what was out there; like Amelia’s first grade teacher always reminds her class, which has a high quotient of drama queens, I loved all your contributions, but they won’t all fit on the bulletin board.

I’m currently running to undo years of DQ and maybe if I succeed at that I could morph into BQ someday. Can I go with me-Q?

Most often though, for me, I set a F-Q goal (finishing the ultra) a “no DNF-Q” (dropping is not an option!) and then a T-Q (time goal), based on the terrain of the race.

I wouldn t mind being a BQ but that’s a LOOOONG ways off (unless I magically gain 6 inches my legs). I run like a herd of worms. [Editor’s note: What, exactly, does a herd of running worms look like?])

DQ! DQ! DQ! DQ! DQ! DQ! DQ! DQ!
Let me think a little more about it… TOTALLY DQ, baby!

Last night, I just ran my first 16 minutes in a row! I realize this is a small accomplishment for those of you hardcore marathoners, but I was shocked that I could do it. I have never run for that many consecutive minutes before ever. EVER. So now I’m really excited about my 5k coming up, and ready to become a little more BQ. [Editor’s note: NICE job! We all gotta start somewhere, the hardest part is starting, so, again, NICE job!]

DQ – I’m more of a Dilly bar gal, maybe Peanut Butter Parfait when Aunt Flo is in town.

As a 41-year-old old mom of 2 young sons  who had 2 surgeries last year, lost 50 lbs and who started running about 5 months ago and has only done 2 5ks so far, I am a NQ: No Quitting! Do you accept that kind of Q? [Editor’s note: Yes, we do. You’re rockin’ it, btw.]

Can I be a PQ? Peace & Quiet. [Editor’s note: Yes, you can. And can I join you?]

The random winner of the New Balance 760’s is Ashley, a trail runner and mother of one who favors skirts and recently turned 38 (happy late birthday!), who writes this:

I am 90% BQ and 10% DQ! I am so competitive it drives my hubby nuts. I can turn a jigsaw puzzle into a competition. But I do love to be able to indulge in treats as I feel needed and not have to worry about it sticking to my thighs or belly.

If you didn’t believe the winner was picked randomly, you should now. I, a DQ’er ’til I die, was more inclined to go with the entry that talked about how to request your own smoothie: a mix of strawberries, chocolate and ice cream that sounded downright dreamy.

Your assignment for this weekend? To run. Like a herd of worms. Or for P + Q. Or a jog on Sunday to get the muscles primed for Boston on Monday. Or for 17 minutes. Or to DQ. However you do it, just get it done.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Muti permalink
    April 16, 2010 3:50 pm

    I am so glad you highlighted twice the “run like a herd of worms” comment – it made me think I could possibly run !

  2. April 16, 2010 3:56 pm

    slow………..
    that’s what a herd of worms looks like! That’s what I tell my son when he’s going so slowly….c’mon you’re like like a herd of worms. Love it!

  3. April 16, 2010 4:03 pm

    I will be doing my assignment for sure.

    Thanks for sharing these comments! They are great. And congrats to Ashley.

  4. April 16, 2010 4:07 pm

    Running of the Bulls 5K tomorrow evening! LOVE an evening race…totally stoked about it…saw all the road barricades anxiously awaiting their place today & I got a RUSH of adrenaline! Plus, it’s chip-timed…love that.

  5. April 16, 2010 4:34 pm

    I’m blushing… you quoted me twice… yay!

    This weekend, I am going to run like I am after a BQ…. and dream of my special request DQ.

  6. April 16, 2010 5:02 pm

    I’m so excited about the shoes! I haven’t won anything in so long!

    I loved reading the other comments. It’s so neat to see what motivates other running moms.

  7. April 16, 2010 10:00 pm

    Congrats to Ashley! And for all you DQ fans out there I saw an ad that this is the 25th anniversary of the blizzard so next week they are having a 25cent BOGO event, which means I’ll have to run twice as far to make up for eating two blizzards.

    As for the herd of worms, I would love to teach my kids to run like that… don’t know what they look like but I can imagine they’re nice and quiet. My kiddos seem to run around the house like a herd of angry water buffalo.

  8. April 19, 2010 1:37 am

    Awww, thanks for sharing my 16-minute run 🙂 Its nice to know I have supporters! And congrats to Ashley!!

    • April 19, 2010 6:53 pm

      You’re welcome, Sarah….seriously, the hardest part is getting started, and you’re off to a roaring start.

Leave a Reply

