Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

April 22, 2010

I love running/I hate running: Maria in 2007

Sarah met mom-of-one Maria Millsap, 38, at Title Nine in Bellevue, Washington, and she’s now crazy about Maria’s line of running-related cards and tees.

Most recent run: Since starting my business, my running has unfortunately suffered, as in, I stopped running almost a year ago. My most recent run was with a group of beginning runners at a Couch to 5K class in an attempt to get my running mojo back. It’s been an eye opener to not be as fit as I was, but it makes me appreciate running that much more.

Morning, midday, or evening: Definitely an evening runner. I’m not much of a morning person.

Run with your son? We used to run together a couple of years ago. His schedule now revolves around finishing his last year of high school and being track captain. I hope to have the opportunity to run together more as his schedule winds down, and I get back into running shape. I’m sure he could teach his mom a few things.

Favorite distance to race: I like running marathons, but what I truly love is training for them. I am more of an about-the-journey-than-the-destination kind of gal.

Sport to try next? I’ve always been fascinated with body building. I’m curious as to how my body would react to the kind of training and discipline the sport requires.

Inspiration for your line of cards: Initially, the inspiration came from fellow runners and hiking friends who helped me with my transformation from being a smoker to an active person. The aches and pains, the tears and the victories: We shared these sentiments with each other, and I thought it would be fun to capture them on greeting cards. I continue to be inspired by runners and walkers I meet at marathon expos. I’m also inspired by family members and friends who support these athletes. I believe it takes the entire family to train for a race–someone to care for the kids on your long runs, cheer for you with signs along the course, and listen to you talk about what else, running. Much of my inspiration for the cards also comes from race volunteers and perfect strangers who want to see you succeed and reach the finish line.

Follow this mother at: www.hillsandhammies.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 1:00 pm

    I love these posts that you do about real mothers but how do you pick them? I know a few mothers who run that you might just want to know about.

  2. bowenshea permalink*
    April 22, 2010 3:47 pm

    I find the moms in various ways–links on blogs, moms who send us their photo to post on our blog, women we meet in person or online. We like to showcase a range of moms–various speeds, various stages of their running career, various ages, geographic diversity, etc. I’m all ears to suggestions!

  3. May 6, 2010 7:41 pm

    This is how behind I am. I’m now just leaving this comment. Yikes.

    I am honored to be included in your lineup of inspiring mom athletes. I am now more inspired and eager to hit the pavement. Thank you, ladies!

  4. May 6, 2010 7:51 pm

    Hooray for Maria and her fabulous cards/shirts! I’m so glad you gals could connect. 🙂

Leave a Reply

