Skip to content

Hump Day Giveaway: Running While Pregnant

April 28, 2010
by

I'd be smiling too if I looked like that when I was pregnant.

Sarah and I are different in so many ways:

She just finished Big Sur Marathon and is already contemplating her next. I have a hard time doing a stretch for my injured parts a couple times a day. Needless to say, I haven’t signed up for anything this summer yet. (But that’s another post.)

She can pee anywhere.  I definitely can’t.

She can’t eat chocolate before noon. I definitely can.

She loves speedwork and does it regularly. I can take it in very, very small doses.

She ran while pregnant. I definitely did not.

I’ll amend that: I ran until about 10 weeks, which means I had that bloated, gotta-unbutton-my-jeans look that usually comes with hitting the M’n’M’s too hard. I did not look pregnant. But running felt pretty hard for me at that point, and I thought: if it’s hard for me, it must be really hard for the peanut. (Which, I know, was just my pseudo-scientific excuse to get out of running for 9 months.)

Sarah, on the other hand, as she says in this article which talks about the flocks of women runners at Big Sur (you know it!), ran until she was 7.5 months with Phoebe.

There used to be a huge void as far as running while prego resources went, but things are getting better–google “pregnant runner” and a whole buffet of sites comes up. There are still no definitive standards from the medical world, but what doctors lack in knowledge (don’t get your heart rate above 130, missy!), the masses, running with baby on board, more than make up for in advice and experience.

Which is why today’s hump day giveaway question is this: did you run while pregnant? Why or why not? When did you stop? Any realizations you made along the way? There is obviously no right or wrong answer; what felt terrible to me might have felt tolerable or even downright good to you.

A random winner will win a Jakfish Adina Tank, which is made out of high performance Polartec stretch fabric (read: much more substantial and longer-lasting than the cotton Old Navy maternity tanks). Jakfish, a cute Vermont company that makes clothes for active pregnant women, has a great motto: Not your partner’s giant sweatpants. (Something, runners or not, we all can relate to: I think Grant was ready to burn his sweatpants after I wore them for approximately 12 months straight.)

Even if you’ve got no plans to be pregnant ever again–that’s something both Sarah and I have in common–give us your thoughts on running while pregnant. If you win, you can give away the tank (and, ahem, a copy of Run Like A Mother) at the next baby shower you’re invited to.

67 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:46 am

    It was the same story with all three children. I had good intentions to run, but I didn’t like that “swishy” feeling I got when I ran after 12 weeks, so I always stopped. I ended up doing other machines and a killer step class on the weekends, which worked great for me.

  2. April 28, 2010 8:57 am

    I wasn’t a runner then (either pregnancy). In fact, I wasn’t an exerciser at all which is why I looked like a whale when I went in to deliver my first child. Runners are awesome. Running mothers of babies/toddlers are even more awesome. There’s not even a word great enough to describe women running pregnant. I can’t even imagine it…but that tank sure does make me think “baby” all over again! 😀

  3. Julie Fredericks permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:58 am

    With my first child, I ran till about 20-25 weeks and then stayed really active – some exercise classes, lots of walking, etc. It was frustrating to feel so out of shape – I couldn’t breath!!

    With my second, a week or two after I found out I was pregnant I had one of those slow runs that feel horrible and decided then and there not to run through that pregnancy. I quit and enjoyed the vacation.

    To be honest, both worked for me – after the kiddos were born, I picked it up again – maybe not quite where I left off, but close. And even though I didn’t run during my pregnancy with number 2, I did run a 1/2 marathon when he was 4 months old, a bit crazy, but it did get me out there again.

  4. OtheJulie permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:00 am

    With first kiddo – ran some…but didn’t feel great…and stopped end of 1st trimester I rollerbladed with my dog (85 lb shepherd) until my boss saw me. I was in the Air Force and he “ordered” me never to do it again.

    With second kiddo – I played soccer and got hit in the chest in the championship game. I hurt so much I couldn’t breathe well. I actually pulled myself out of the game (which I have NEVER done) and found out a week later that I was 6+ weeks pregnant. I ran a little longer with this one…but still not too long.

  5. Debra permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:03 am

    My story is different. I never ran while pregnant but every time I tried to start I got pregnant. The first time I tried to start was a few months after a miscarriage. I had a few pounds to lose so my husband and I bought a treadmill. I was at it for a month (running that is) and found out I was pregnant. I really didn’t know any other runners back 10 years ago so I just stopped running. When baby number 1 was about 1 1/2 I decided to start running again. And again one month later I found out I was pregnant. It took me three tries to finally get going, that was four years ago after my third (and last child) turned 1, and I haven’t stopped since.

  6. April 28, 2010 9:06 am

    i definitely did NOT run with my first pregnancy. Boy I sure wish I had though. It has taken me 5 years to get back to where I was! I actually ran a half marathon and a 12K while pregnant the second time. I was ready to run throughout the enitire pregnancy but God had other plans with that one. It ended up being ectopic. If I am ever blessed with another peanut I will run, run, run!!!!

  7. April 28, 2010 9:10 am

    I have been a runner for 20 years. I have also run through 2 pregnancies – all the way until the day before giving birth! As long as you’ve been running prior to your pregnancy, you have your doctor’s clearance, and you feel good, there’s no reason why you can can’t continue to run through pregnancy (although you may have to scale back on mileage). I am convinced that running helped me keep my weight down for both pregnancies (gained 16 pounds with the 1st and 19 with the 2nd) and helped me shed the pounds very quickly post c-section. I just wish they had more “cute” running clothes for pregnant women – I stretched out all of my gear!

  8. kim permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:16 am

    presently in my 9th month of my third pregnancy.
    first pregnancy, dr says “kim, i know how much running means to you…i don’t understand…but i know. you can run , if youwant. but long term—with your joints getting all ‘loosey-goosey’…you could hurt your joints easily when pregnant—which could affect your long term running……that was enough for me.
    so
    i swim
    ALOT
    at least 5 miles a week
    i run the first 3 months—slow trot really
    and SWIM AND SWIM AND SWIM
    and it works for me

    then
    i have the baby—keep swimming
    and slowly up the pace and distance on my running
    it is very zen for me

    but i do miss the running
    a lot:)

  9. April 28, 2010 9:30 am

    I ran through both of my pregnancies!! Not only did running help me stay healthy, but it helped me loose the baby weight and get back into my pre-pregnancy jeans with in 2 months of giving birth. I also ran a marathon PR 6 months after giving birth to my son 🙂

    [I had zero negative side effects/my dr was okay with it – and have never been injured]

    Now pregnant with my third child I have continued to run and have already done 3 races.

    I know running while pregnant is not for everyone, but it definately has helped me!!!

  10. Amy Andrews permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:33 am

    I ran while pregnant with my first child, and I am now pregnant with my second. After my first child was born we noticed she absolutely fell in love with this crazy up and down, bouncing motion we would do sometimes, and I have to believe it was from all the bouncing she did in the womb while I ran! I ran until about 6 months, when the baby belly got too bouncy!

    This time around I haven’t run a step so far! I blame it on being too tired from working full time and being mom to an energetic 20-month old little girl. I am only 16 weeks so I guess there is still time left, and my daughter (a.k.a. running partner) loves our running stroller. She helped me lose the baby weight and train for the Outer Banks half marathon last fall…after which I got pregnant again!

  11. Tammy permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:46 am

    I just came in from a run and am 17 weeks pregnant with our 3rd baby. I hope to run for as long as I can but I think the heat will stop me from running before anything else. I ran a half marathon at 12 weeks during my second pregnancy and then stopped…totally. I wish I hadn’t! Once the heat starts, I’ll keep up spin classes and maybe try some new classes and continue to lift weights!

  12. Tammy permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:49 am

    BTW, I don’t look a thing like the photo above, either! I carry all of my weight (45 and 50 pounds previously) in my hips, butt and thighs. 😦

  13. Lisa Zieger permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:52 am

    Didn’t run while pregnant (found this glorious sport after giving birth), but I did spin until I was 8 months and could no longer fit my belly between the seat and the handle bars. Regular workouts kept me much more comfortable, helped me to sleep better, and I’ve read it improve’s baby’s heart rate and maybe even IQ.

    I still love to spin, but a 45 min run over my lunch hour is maybe even more exhilarating — and it doesn’t take precious time away from Eliot or my darling husband.

  14. Alison permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:52 am

    I ran until 37 weeks. It made me feel a little more “normal” and I believe it also helped me stay healthy thorughout the pregnancy and keep up with a pretty busy full-time job. I also had no injuries or complications, which made it easier to keep running. I think running after my daughter was born has been much harder, now I have a baby to worry about.

  15. Holly permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:54 am

    I ran through the seventh month of my first pregnancy. I also played soccer until people refused to play with me because they were afraid of causing premature labor! But what I look back on as the most crazy thing I did was enter an 8k eight days after giving birth! I was young and silly then, but I made it through the race in about 45 minutes.

    My following pregnancies were as others have described. I suddenly felt like I was running through cement, and I figured my body was trying to tell me something. I discovered many other activities and made a lot of friends at the local pool doing water aerobics. I was spoiled by all the Grandmas in the class, and got to hear many wonderful stories.

  16. Katie permalink
    April 28, 2010 10:25 am

    I did not run while pregnant but that was because I wasn’t a runner at that time. However if I were to become pregnant again I plan on it!

  17. Tiffany permalink
    April 28, 2010 10:35 am

    I just had my second baby four weeks ago, and I can attest to the gift of being able to run while pregnant. I ran all the way through both of my pregnancies (and with this last one, that meant I still ran eight days after my due date). Most days, I ran 3-5 miles (instead of my usual 4-6). One of my favorite parts of pregnant running is not worrying at all about my pace…I was just happy to be out there. Running has always been my major source of stress relief, and it’s also a great time for me to pray and meditate or catch up with friends.

    I am grateful that my body recovered from labor fairly quickly, and I was able to do my first post-partum run six days after our sweet daughter was born. Even though the run was short and slow, it was a wonderful chance for me to contemplate everything for which I was grateful.

    Thanks for this website…I check it every day!

  18. April 28, 2010 10:56 am

    Holy cow! All I have to say is that you ladies (in the post and the commenters) that run/ran while pregnant are AMAZING and SO INSPIRING!!! Before I had kids, I ran and loved it. . .and it was something just for me. Then kids and work and responsibilities came in and I forgot how important it is to be not only physically fit but emotionally fit and happy as well. I have been contemplating lacing up my shoes again and this post was just the kick in the pants I need. I don’t plan on being pregnant again, but I do plan on being a running momma and look forward to seeing you ladies out on the road! 🙂

    • April 28, 2010 12:35 pm

      you go, Mrs. Howell! glad we kicked you in the pants. see you out there.

  19. April 28, 2010 11:10 am

    That picture is so inspiring! I do so admire true runners, runners carrying an extra person! That’s a whole notha level!

  20. Molly Boland permalink
    April 28, 2010 11:12 am

    I ran until I was about 9 weeks preg. I was training for a marathon at the time and thought I could keep it up. I went for an early morning run one day when it was really hot. I pushed through fatigue because that is what I was used to doing. When I got home I was spotting. I got an ultrasound and everything was ok with the baby, but I quit running that day. I swam, walked and used the ellipitical through the rest of the pregnancy. That felt comfortable for me. Maybe another pregnancy will feel different. I started running again 7 weeks post-partum. It was brutal! I thought I would never get back in shape. 5 months later I was back to my mileage and speed. One year later I did a half marathon and thinking of more races this summer. 🙂

  21. April 28, 2010 11:20 am

    Women running throughout pregnancy inspires me. I hope someday when I’m pregnant that I am able to run all the way through — I can’t imagine not running for months!

  22. Priscilla permalink
    April 28, 2010 11:30 am

    I ran until about 3 months. I stopped because I felt too bouncy/bloaty/queasy. I did do step aerobics and a goofy pregnancy salsa aerobics video (yes, video tape!) until about 7 months. Then I got a terrible cold/flu that messed up my respiratory system and from then I just walked.

  23. April 28, 2010 11:47 am

    hmmm…when I was pregnant, I would have never considered running, I barley considered getting out of bed in general! But, now that I like to run and I crave running I am unsure if I would run when I am pregnant, I tend to be very sick in the beginning of pregnancy and really giant and huge at the end….I previously had two nearly nine pound babies, and to think of that bouncing around in front of me seems crazy! But I admire any Pregnant running Mommy out there and if Baby number 3 ever comes along I might have to give the whole running thing a whirl

    Sorry for the book I think I thought out loud…

  24. Kristy permalink
    April 28, 2010 11:58 am

    For my first two pregnancies I ran through the second trimester. It coincided with winter here in Michigan, and I thought that running in the snow and ice during the third trimester was probably not the best idea and work gets really busy come January.

    After a miscarriage following a particularly hard run late in my first trimester of my third pregnancy, I decided not to run until the second trimester with my next pregnancy and kept it nice, short and slow. That time around I stopped at 32 weeks, but kept up walking and my fitness classes until I delivered.

    I gained between 20 and 25 pounds with each baby and they weighed between 9 lb 5 oz and 10 lbs. Now they are healthy boys – 8, 6 and 8 months! – with healthy parents who take the time to take care of themselves.

  25. April 28, 2010 12:01 pm

    We plan to try to get pregnant after my first half marathon in June. When I was pregnant with my first I wasn’t yet a runner, but I did lots of yoga and walking. This time I hope to keep up the running for as long as possible! I can’t wait!

  26. Melanie permalink
    April 28, 2010 12:05 pm

    I am pregnant (due in 7 weeks!) . I ran Des Moines Marathon 2009, one week after learning I was expecting. I have continued to run throughout the pregnancy. After a scare a few weeks ago, and the fact that baby’s head is already quite low, I have decreased both my frequency and pace. My midwife, who has been cheering me on all along, is now urging more caution. So…..although I’d like to get maybe one or two more runs in…I think I’m probably close to done. Walking and yoga for the remainder, maybe the elliptical if that feels good.

  27. April 28, 2010 12:17 pm

    I ran until I found out I was pregnant so, oh, about 5 weeks. Actually, I was running when I was pregnant the first time and felt icky and that’s when I took the pregnancy test. I tried to walk more, but mostly I laid on the couch alot!

  28. April 28, 2010 12:22 pm

    I only started running after my daughter was born, and then only about 10 miles a week. I really started to love it, and then I got pregnant. I thought I would run throughout the pregnancy, but I was tired and sick the first couple of months, ran a little bit (keeping it under 130) for a month or so, and then got to chubby and unmotivated to run for the rest. To get back into it, I read Dean’s Ultramarathon Man. Um, I started it while still in the hospital recovering, which got me some strange looks from the nursing staff. Sure enough, I started running after 5 weeks later, and ran my first marathon just one week shy of my son’s first birthday.

  29. Mother Runner permalink
    April 28, 2010 12:45 pm

    First one ran until I couldn’t run anymore – maybe until 6 months or so. It was good. It felt very weird at the end. Don’t remember why I stopped – that was 14 years ago.

    With the second, had to stop because of placenta previa – UGH!! I was so demolished. I felt like I would never find myself again. Saved every last dime I had to go and buy an awesome treadmill when she was 2 weeks old! I looked like I was still pregnant, but I had to get going. Started walking the next day and was given the ‘green light’ to run at 6 weeks (like I hadn’t been doing a little anyway). I still use that ‘mill regularly and think about what it has done for me & my babies for the past 9 years.
    ps – if I win – I have just the gal to give the tank to. but i’m keeping the book – duh!

  30. April 28, 2010 12:58 pm

    I wanted so badly to run when I was expecting Peanut. When we found out he was on the way I was in the middle of one of my many “I swear I’m going to run again…” spells of 2 miles or so 2-3 times a week. I kept going until I was maybe 8 weeks pregnant and then I quit because fatigue won. I couldn’t peel myself out of bed to run before work, try as I might.

    I picked it up again around 4 months (I know they say not to start running but I was SO RESTLESS) once the fatigue passed and ran 2 miles a few times a week for 6 weeks or so. I loved the time alone with my little buddy and loved even more the moment as I drove to work after my run when the endorphins reached Peanut and it seemed like he was going to run as far as I just did!

    He’s 2-1/2 now and we do stroller runs. He is a big fan. If Mother Nature decides he can have a younger sibling, I would love to run the entire time, now that I’m running pretty consistently (first 10K ever last Sunday, and first 1/2 marathon this Sunday, gah!!). I might have to keep it a secret from overbearing and old fashioned grandmothers but I know it’s OK if I want to.

    Many cheers to all of you who have done it!

  31. Tricia permalink
    April 28, 2010 1:00 pm

    I ran for a little longer during each of my pregnancies, maxing out at 2.5 miles at 29 weeks with my youngest. In the end it was just getting too cold in the winter here in Manitoba and I realized that I could walk faster than I could run! Not to mention the pressure on my bladder. Running during pregnancy was definitely a great stress reliever and a way to keep active. Since I’m not one prone to speed the impact on my pace didn’t bother me much. I definitely missed it when I had to stop and was back at it at exactly 6 weeks postpartum each time. The third time back it was definitely a slower, more gradual return, but now I’m training for my third post baby marathon, having done one full about a year after each of my babies was born. It’s definitely a sanity thing.

  32. Jessica permalink
    April 28, 2010 1:05 pm

    Some of you are truly amazing!! I tried! Faced complications with both – bleeding with my daughter at about 10 weeks and placenta previa with my son about 18 weeks. I have always been envious of women who were able to run longer. I started to go stir crazy with both.

  33. Marisa permalink
    April 28, 2010 1:13 pm

    I didn’t run through either of my pregnancies: the first b/c I wasn’t already in a running routine and the second b/c I injured a knee training for a half marathon. =( Two years later, I’m finally running that same half this weekend, hope to be pregnant soon afterward, and plan to continue running as long as I can through this last pregnancy.
    That photo is motivating!! Would love to have a photo of me like that captured…

  34. April 28, 2010 1:19 pm

    I didn’t run (or exercise – gasp) with either of my pregnancies. With #1 I was in school full-time, worked part-time, and was really sick my first trimester (as in I lost 11 lbs). With #2 we were working at a group home so that sucked all the time we had out.

    If I get pregnant again, I’d like to try to run. I know at a certain point there’s no way I’ll be able to. I’m only 5’3 3/4″ and I have BIG babies (9.8 and 8.15) so my tummy sticks way out. I couldn’t take the shaking; I’d be afraid of stuff tearing. :S But my very good friend Sara ran until she was like 8 months pregnant (one of those stick-type figures who came out with no stretch marks).

  35. Joanna permalink
    April 28, 2010 1:27 pm

    With my first pregnancy I ran until around 15 weeks. I was running a Jingle Bell 10K and busted it on the ice three or four times, this was enough to scare me out of running for a few days. During those days I went in for my first ultrasound to find out it was twins! I kept up a strict walk/run routine but only on the treadmil. This lasted until I was around 25 weeks, then complications forced me to stop. The boys are two next week!

    The second pregancy, I was chasing one year old twins most of the time, so I did not “run”, but walked a ton, little frightened to run since my first pregnancy was early. Drew will be five months on Saturday.

    I think the activity I did while I was pregnant has helped me tremendously in my “come back”. I think the best piece of advice is to “listen to your body” it will let you know when you have done too much.

  36. Sheryl permalink
    April 28, 2010 1:32 pm

    I didn’t run with my first two, but running has become such a source of sanity for me I am now pregnant with my third and am determined to run through this pregnancy. I ran the Nashville Country Music Half Marathon this past weekend, and I’ll admit that being pregnant did through a mental hurtle into my running that I did not expect. I expected to be able to easily push through the exhaustion and morning sickness but found myself alternating between feeling amazed that my body can run distance and grow another human at the same time and feeling a little crazy for trying to run so far while pregnant.

    • April 30, 2010 12:07 pm

      Hey Sheryl–

      Nice job on the Country Music 1/2. Good description: amazed and a little crazy. A think that applies to most of us. 🙂

  37. April 28, 2010 2:04 pm

    Almost 32 weeks and still going strong! Ran a 10 mile race in 1:27 on Saturday even. Running helps maintain a sense of normalcy, helps me feel good and I ran last pregnancy through 34 weeks and had a super healthy adorable little boy.

  38. Jen permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:32 pm

    I took up running after my second daughter was born, so this is my first attempt to figure out the pregnant running thing. I am expecting #3 in October and so far, still running at 15 weeks.

    Biggest challenges so far: 1) giving up my beloved trails/hills to keep my HR down; 2) joint pain (not a pre-preggo problem for me); 3) going slower (also for HR) and having to stay focused when the same distance takes a lot longer; 4) having to redo my routes to pass more bathrooms.

    Biggest pluses: 1) running cures my morning sickness!; 2) setting my Garmin to the HR screen and ignoring everything else; 3) looking forward to buying (or winning) a cute maternity running outfit; 4) seeing the baby “running” in place during the ultrasound. If (s)he turns out to be a runner, I am definitely going to take some of the credit!

  39. Kate M. permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:36 pm

    Currently pregnant with #2 and have totally slacked off running (which I’ve always done very moderately anyway) with both pregnancies. Both times, felt like utter crap the first 12 weeks or so, and by then felt totally out of cardiovascular shape and unable to get back into jogging at that point. 1st pregnancy did lots and lots of walking and decent amount of swimming. This time around, can barely get a good walk in without having the little-discussed-but-apparently-common-according-to-my-web-search heinous crotch pain. So, really looking forward to some day post-baby when I can get my bod around the block at a steady clip. And this blog is really inspiring me to get back into it!

  40. Lisa permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:52 pm

    Definitely no more pregnancies here. However, for the four children that I’ve had, here’s how it went.

    I ran a little with the first, but only made it for about 3 months or so.

    For the second, I ran until six months. At that point, we moved from California to Colorado, and the doctor said I shouldn’t run anymore because of the altitude change. I should have ignored her because I was really going strong, but I did continue to work out in some form or another (mostly the bike) until she was born. (Sorry Dimity, we moved back to CA a couple years later.)

    For the third, I didn’t run at all. I was incredibly ill for the entire 9 months so it wasn’t happening (boys didn’t agree with me).

    For the fourth (and last), I ran the entire time and felt great!!

  41. April 28, 2010 2:55 pm

    I was 20 when I had my first son. Back then a long run for me was 9.5 miles, my max. I ran, walked, hiked, did aerobics (did they call it jazzercise then?) until I was about 6 months. I gained 60+ pounds due to water (lymphatic) issues. My doctor did not offer any advice regarding my exercise. He was only ever concerned about my weight gain. However I had an natural unassisted birth just slightly beyond my predicted due date. I was running (shh, don’t tell the doctor) after just under 3 weeks postpartum.

    11 years later would find me pregnant with my daughter. A long run was now 20+ miles and I was runing nearly everyday. 27 miles is now my max. I ran through my pregnancy. My doctor was concerned about my running. He reminded me to take it easy. I had a natural childbirth. My daughter was large (for me) and it was a more challenging delivery. I know that my fitness level allowed me to deliver her without medical assistance. I gained around 30+/- pounds. I was running 3 weeks after delivery. I was back to my prepregnancy weight after 2 months and 15 pounds lighter 10 months later.

    My newest son came 8 years after his sister. A long run is now anything beyond 26 miles. 33+ miles is now my max. My doctor was supportive of my continued running. She monitored me and the baby closely. I ran 3.5 miles the day I went into labor. I was in denial that I was “real”. I delivered at 7 a.m. the following morning. Labor Day. I had gained less than 30 pounds. I was running again 2 1/2 weeks after my natural delivery. I was back to prepregnancy weight after 3 months.

    Without a doubt my fitness level going into my pregnancies allowed me to continue to run throughout the pregnancy. I feel that my running allowed me to more fully enjoy the experince of carrying my children regardless of my age, as my children are very ‘spread out.’ My running also provided me with the ability to naturally delivery my children and be able to be a part of one of the true miracles in life.

    Running/fitness is such a part of me. I am so glad that I was able to share it with my children from their very start. I can only hope that they will in some way carry that lesson with them.

  42. April 28, 2010 3:57 pm

    I’m 14 weeks pregnant right now, with my first. I’ve been able to keep running without any problems and plan to run until I’m too uncomfortable or the baby is born, whichever comes first. If running starts to bother me, I’ll switch to the pool, but that means I have to renew my gym membership!

    Also, here’s a nice, reliable source saying exercise during pregnancy is a-ok: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/exercise-during-pregnancy/AN01560.

  43. April 28, 2010 4:14 pm

    I ran with my second baby while pregnant but not for long. During the first trimester I did not run too much because I was tired all of the time. During the second trimester I did one 5K. I ran it pretty slow and I had to stop to go pee! By the time my third trimester came around it was cold (-20), and snowy so I did not run at all – I barely went outside!

  44. Emily permalink
    April 28, 2010 5:13 pm

    I did not run during my first pregnancy, but I gained 65+ pounds and felt terrible.

    This second time around, I am definitely running. I’m right now at 19 weeks, and just this past weekend I completed a half-marathon. Sure, I ran a lot slower than I did my last one (30 minutes more), but I had a lot of fun. I ran with two friends who’d never completed a half-marathon, and I took frequent water/potty breaks. Just the same, when the finish line neared, I took off and sprinted for it.

    I’ll keep running as long as I continue to feel good. For me, I feel like running in pregnancy is essential — without it, I wouldn’t sleep as well, have as much energy, or feel as good emotionally!

  45. Ami permalink
    April 28, 2010 5:32 pm

    I was lucky enough to run through each pregnancy, although, truthfully, by the end it was mainly a shuffle. With my first child, I ran until 36 weeks; second child was a big baby and I stopped after 32. My third child was a breeze and I ran and skied (nordic) straight through, up until a few days before birth. My fourth, (or as I often say, my last!) pregnancy was a big surprise, so much so that I was about 8 weeks pregnant and ran a marathon. I like to think I took first in the unknowingly pregnant runner division. That seemed to set the tone, as I continued to run, bike and ski throughout the pregnancy.
    Thankfully, I was able to remain active throughout each one; I think it made the labor and deliveries a breeze, as well as post pregnancy fitness. My doctors were quite encouraging and the support was good to have.

  46. Drea permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:20 pm

    I ran through out both of my pregnancies. My husband freaked in the first one as did the many men that I passed in the park with my pregnant belly. I believe their words were, “Ah, REALLY?” Ha! I loved it! Running pregnant let me retain a part of me while the rest of me changed dramatically.
    My husband stopped giving me a hard time after we did a heart monitor test. My heart rate never went above 140 while running pregnant. His shot up to 190 while running beside me. Take That hubby! He let me be 😉
    With my second child, I ran the day I gave birth (7miles pushing my 17month old in a stroller). I was lucky enough to go for another run 6 days after birth. All is right with the world when I can run. I pushed both my kids for years and I have lovely memories of that time. It is no wonder that my kids are already “racing” around just about everywhere we go. Since I have a boy and a girl I always have a winner of the boys race or girls race. Ha! Running pregnant worked for me and made me feel empowered.

  47. Johanna permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:55 pm

    I didn’t start running until after I gave birth to my son but if I get pregnant again I hope to run throughout a lot of the pregnancy if I’m feeling up to it.

  48. Katy McClaskey permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:56 pm

    I did lots of running both pregnancies…..to and from the restroom as I had “morning” sickness all day almost every day. It never went away as promised by friends, strangers, and highly educated medical professionals. The thought never occured to me to run for fitness during that time. But my official position is Rock On! to all you running moms to be! I would bet you don’t gain 50+!

  49. Janalyn Larish permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:59 pm

    My very first 5K I ever did (I was not pregnant), two very pregnant women beat me, by quite a bit. You’d think that would have inspired me to run while pregnant with my two, but it didn’t. I chose the Burger King runs instead. Wish I would have run while pregnant, though. But running was definitely the best cure for the baby blues.

  50. April 29, 2010 6:24 am

    I ran until the morning I went into labour..including a 5K at 39 weeks and a marathon at 16 weeks. At full term I was still running 20-25 kms a week. With everything in my life and body changing, running (and exercise in general) was the one constant I had. I also ran to prove the naysayers wrong, the ones who’d constantly say, “you CAN’T do that, you’re pregnant!” and then follow up with junk food and then whine postpartum about how they have no time to exercise and why isn’t the baby flab coming off.

    I took 10 days off from running after birth and I’m running my first PP race this weekend and a HM in a couple of weeks.

  51. April 29, 2010 9:08 am

    I ran until 26 weeks. My midwife requested that I stop that at time after one last planned event. Her reasoning was that she did not want me to tax my ligaments. I am 33 weeks now and will sometimes do a quick little jog on a straight away but for the most part I am following my midwife’s advice and taking my cardio to the pool, walking, or hiking.

    In my town, Boulder, CO, there are a lot of superfit mama-to-be types. I asked many how far they ran into pregnancy. I met one mama who did our town’s big 10K at 8 1/2 months, the run went great but she told me that event is what gave her stretch marks. Nothing major, just vanity.

    To each their own if their body can handle it I guess. For me I stick closely to my midwife’s suggestions. Just work with your medical/birthing team as your continue to exercise I guess.

  52. April 29, 2010 11:32 am

    I mostly walked during my first pregnancy, and ended up having a miscarriage. Since then I’ve been running again, and I really missed it!! We’re trying again, and I really want to run through this next pregnancy! I know that everyone says running won’t cause a miscarriage but it’s always going to be there in the back of my head.

  53. Kelsey permalink
    April 29, 2010 2:32 pm

    I’m 31 weeks and I think that last week’s 6 mile run may have been my last real run for a while. I’ve loved running throughout my pregnancy so far, and for the most part I haven’t had any problems. My doctor said it was fine, since I was a runner before getting pregnant. I always told myself (and others, since everyone has been asking me when I plan to stop running) that I would stop when it didn’t feel good, and it’s finally starting to not feel good on my joints and ligaments… Oh well, I still have spin class and the elliptical machine. And I should probably start getting in the pool more often, too.

  54. Lisa O permalink
    April 29, 2010 2:52 pm

    Excellent question. I was a runner prior to getting pregnant with my only child. I was looking forward to running with a bare belly throughout my pregnancy. However, at about 10 weeks it felt like my vagina was going to fall out when I was running. Uncomfortable and distracting to say the least. Am I the only one this happened to I wonder? I was determined to exercise during my pregnancy so I became a walker. And although it normally drives me crazy to go so slow, it gave me more time by myself outdoors. If I got pregnant again, I would try to run and hope that my vagina stayed in one place.

  55. Gina Harcrow permalink
    April 29, 2010 7:37 pm

    I ran about 20-25 miles a week easy with my first. He was born a month early (total surprise) at 3 pounds 1 ounce. I cannot tell you the guilt I felt that I ran while my little one was struggling. From what the Dr’s. said and what I researched, the running was most likely not the cause. My second, I really watched the pace, ran much less, and didn’t run after 7 months. I also got a Dr who paid a lot more attention to what was going on. I had no issues. I just found out I am pregnant again, about 6 weeks, and at this point I am willing to run. I have a 50 mile race this weekend I have trained hard for (4 20+ runs, 1 30+ run, and 1 40+ run) but I have decided to go and just do the 25 mile option easy, do a lot of walking and let the race go. As much as it bums me out to think I trained for the last 4 months for this, I have the rest of my life to run and race and only a few short months to experience and nurture the life growing inside of me.

  56. Kerry permalink
    April 30, 2010 8:11 am

    Thank you, thank you for giving Jakfish a call out…they are a great little company that I so wish I had found before either of my pregnancies. With my first I was so, so cautious since I was preggo after trying for 3 years – I walked, did yoga, and got into the pool near the end to feel normal. I really hoped to run through my second, which began with a marathon when I was just 3 weeks pregnant…needless to say had no problems getting pregnant the second time around…but by the time the pulled calf muscle was healed I was in the throes of “morning” sickness which didn’t leave until I caught the cold/flu for 2 more weeks, leaving me at 17 wks out of shape and not willing to start all over again until the babe was born….back to yoga, walking and chasing the 2 year old!

    …first post baby race on the 15th…nice easy, flatish (compared to my roads in VT), 5K. Yay!!

  57. Laurie Gowans permalink
    May 1, 2010 10:04 pm

    I ran with pregnancy #4 all the way to 34 weeks. I trained for and ran a 1/2 marathon at 27 weeks. I loved running while pregnant, except for the part about having to pee every 10 minutes! I still gained a lot of weight during the pregnancy (I was hoping running would help with that!), but it really helped me stay in good shape physically and emotionally.

  58. May 2, 2010 5:38 pm

    I ran up until I was about 4 months pregnant, when I started feeling really odd when I ran. I felt like a muppet, in a way—all loosey goosey, like my arms and legs were going to work their way out of their sockets. I think I just was extra lubricated!

    I started to do more yoga at that point, and did prenatal yoga until the Bean was born.

    AFTER he was born, I ran at 4 weeks postpartum. I just needed to get out there. I ran two miles and it took me forever, my lungs burned, and my booty was literally bouncing on the sidewalk. But it felt wonderful!

  59. May 2, 2010 6:06 pm

    I’m currently running while pregnant (I’m 12 weeks pregnant with #3) and I also ran through my first pregnancy. Sadly, placenta précis prevented me from running during my second pregnancy.

  60. Amber permalink
    May 4, 2010 10:56 am

    I just had my first baby in early February. I ran up until about a month before she was born. After about five months, I stopped being able to run on road – it just hurt my knees too much. I thought I was done with running but a few days later, I went for a walk on a trail and felt the urge to run. (I usually run more trail than road anyway.) Running on a soft surface was great! As I became bigger, the hills would be an issue, but I would just run the straights and downhills and walk the ups. By the end there wasn’t that much running left in that equation, but even the small amount of running I was doing felt really good. My midwife was fine with it as long as I felt good.

    Now is another story. My daughter is three months old and I am still finding it hard to leave her and go for a run. The times I have run have felt pretty good – I think running up until the end helped there – but I often choose walking with her over leaving her to run. I can’t wait until her neck’s strong enough for the jogging stroller!

  61. May 4, 2010 11:24 am

    I ran off and on with my first pregnancy and even won a race at 5 months! I was off and on because I was living in FL at the time & wasn’t used to the heat (I’m from CT). The baby came in mid-June, so it got pretty warm pretty fast in the second half of my pregnancy. I did make sure that I at least walked every day.

    But this time is going to be different. I am back in CT now & pregnant again. I have given myself a challenge because I actually got a lot of flack from people (work, relatives, strangers, etc) about running while pregnant & I want to prove people wrong! I am working out like normal, though I am going to have to slow down in about two months. I am still racing…in fact I plan on running 9 races, one for each month of the pregnancy. So far I have done well. I won the first one & came in third on the second. I still have yet to schedule the third… I’m only 10 weeks along right now, but I still feel great, and yes, I am training with a stroller. Working out while pregnant is such a wonderful experience! I feel so energized & fantastic for the whole rest of my day after my runs. I encourage all of you ladies to put in a few miles a week. You will definitely appreciate it on labour day. My son came out like a dream, and I like to think it was because of the running 🙂

  62. Kathy permalink
    May 6, 2010 2:29 pm

    I ran the entire time with both of my pregnancies. With my first pregnancy , I did 3 miles on my actual due date. And with my second pregnancy, I ran the entire duration until I miscarried (Note: completely unrelated to my running)

    I think running while pregnant is a really positive experience and a healthy way to bring your baby into this world.

  63. Mary Hendren permalink
    September 13, 2010 2:45 pm

    I ran until I was 36 weeks pregnant when my pelvic girdle pain on the left became too much to handle…couldn’t even lift my leg. I think that was worse than labor! This helped me run a half marathon four months after c- section. Not for everyone but let me keep some normalcy during the pregnancy. Anything is great as long as you keep moving and break a sweat daily!

  64. Amalia permalink
    March 21, 2011 1:47 pm

    I ran through the first 6 months during my 1st pregnancy. Had to stop because my hips were hurting way too much. This time I’m 31 weeks and still going. I run about 3 miles per day every weekday, but *very* slowly (15 minute miles 🙂 Starting to wonder if I should move to walking soon since I think the baby is head down and has started pushing against my pelvis, which is becoming pretty sore. OB’s office suggests using a support belt underneath the belly, which I probably will try.

Trackbacks

  1. Hump Day Giveaway: Running While Pregnant « Run Like A Mother | 3 Months

Leave a Reply

