Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

April 29, 2010

Nina: strong in pink.

Kinda crazy how SBS knows Nina Restieri, a 41-year-old mom of four in Old Greenwich, CT: Nina was the college sweetheart of Sarah’s husband, Jack. But now it’s Sarah who loves Nina, for helping her navigate the labrynth of social media. And she thinks Nina is hot stuff: Nina only started running last November, and she’s already jumping into races.

Best run: One rainy Sunday in January, I woke up with a hangover and a lot on my mind. Despite the weather, I went out for my run. Running in the freezing rain that morning turned out to be so cleansing, both emotionally and physically. Ever since then, I have welcomed the chance to run in the rain.

Bedhead? Deadhead? Shredhead? I follow a group on Twitter called Shredheads. It is a group of people who regularly engage in the masochistic practice of working out to Jillian Michaels’ DVD’s, especially “The 30-Day Shred.” The shred is a fantastic complement to running, although recently I abandoned Jillian Michaels for a new form of cross-training: I have started taking pole-dancing lessons. It is slightly less masochistic, though unfortunately I have not yet found a Twitter group that shares my interest.

Upcoming race: I am training for the Brooklyn Half-Marathon at the end of May. In the meantime, I’m also running in the R Baby Foundation Mother’s Day Run in Central Park, which is a much more manageable 4-mile run. I am super-competitive, so signing up for races really keeps me motivated.

Stilt walking or juggling? I am so organizationally challenged I had to invent a new day planner called momAgenda in order to meet my scheduling needs. Since then I have become an expert at juggling: As a mom of four, wife, and business owner, among other roles in life, scheduling is mandatory if I want to keep my sanity. I schedule in everything, from workouts to date nights.

Can’t run without: My iPod. The only exception is when I run with a friend. Then I (reluctantly) leave the iPod at home.

Power song: This is embarrassing to admit because I am a classic rock girl at heart, but when working out, I really love cheesy top 40 music. Britney, Lady Gaga, Madonna–those fast dance beats are so motivating for me.

Hat, visor, or shades: I wear a hat. It keeps my hair out of my face.

Follow this mother at: www.momagenda.com/blog/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 11:16 am

    I like the cheesy pop music to run to, also. Unfortunately, I like it otherwise, too. LOL

  2. April 30, 2010 6:49 am

    Cheesy pop music is the ONLY thing to run to!!! Off to check out Jillian Michaels’ DVD. I need someone to torture me and get me ready for summer, and I especially like the idea of complementing it with running. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

