Skip to content

Inspiration Is Everywhere

May 7, 2010

P.E. Teachers: Finally getting the credit they deserve

It was, dare I type it, inspiring to read tales of who inspired you all to run. Given the bad rap they sometimes get (like Dimity knocking on hers for the grief he subjected her to during Presidential Fitness Challenge), physical education teachers got several nods as the person who inspired some women to run.
A middle school PE teacher convinced me to join his newly formed “jogging club” (this was the 80s, after all!). He inspired me to try running at an age when I desperately needed some self-confidence.

Several twin sisters were thanked as well, which warmed this mom-of-twins’ heart. (Will John and Daphne really ever do anything other than antagonize each other?!)

Loved that Christina said her hubby inspired her when he gave her her first sports bra 12 years ago. Well done, hubby!

Lots of dads got kudos from their grown daughters. My hope, as I read, was that with this generation of children we are raising, they’ll be like-inspired by us, the running moms.
Like many of the other women, my dad was the first person I watched run regularly. I remember thinking it was never something I could or wanted to do.
My dad inspired me to start running in high school. He was the high school cross country coach and I wanted to run on the team. He’s still my biggest supporter and even saves up his change for me to use for marathon entry fees!
(How cute is that?!)

The winner of the Asics $100 gift certificate is Grainne Keogh, who was spurred to start running by her children and her desire to get back in shape post-partum. She has since run the NYC Marathon three times and is doing it again this year.

This weekend, in honor of Mother’s Day, do you best-est to spread the gospel of running and inspire another mom to run. Either by word or example.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 6:39 am

    Amen. Oh, and Happy Mother’s Day, y’all.

  2. May 7, 2010 9:18 am

    Our moms did encourage us as well as our Dads. It’s just that moms (like always) are in the background making everything happen and often get less credit. My Dad gets more current credit because he actually ran however, my mom was the exercise nut. We did all kinds of fitness-minded things together. Also I tend to forget that I learned something with my dad’s passing (one of many somethings). I do not thank my parents enough! So now that I do not have my father physically anymore I often point to him as the source of _____(fill in the blank)___. My mom is still with me. Living less than a mile away as the crow flies. I am still guilty of NOT telling her the things I should (I wonder if I will ever learn!). So thanks for the reminder that my mom helps inspire me too. I’ll give my copy of Run Like a Mother to my mom as we celebrate Mother’s Day. Even though she is not a runner I know she will enjoy understanding more and sharing in the humor.

    I will also hug her and thank her for all she did for me while she was running (around) like a mother to take care of me!

    Congrats to you winner!

    Happy Mother’s Day and have an amazing weekend!

Leave a Reply

