Skip to content

Hump Day Giveaway: Summer Plans?

May 12, 2010
by

I don't need it to be summer vacation to forget what day it is.

I woke up to three inches of snow in my backyard today. Ironic because last week, a group of neighborhood moms sent around about 170 e-mails–I’m in; I’m injured; I’m glad we’re doing this; I haven’t run in a long time–setting up a running group. Our first day to meet? This morning. Needless to say, we decided to postpone the inaugural run. (Injured me was going to go to snap a picture, then run 3 miles, max. Promise.)

A native Minnesotan, I’ll usually take 40 degrees over 90 any time, but snow on May 12th is ridiculousβ€”and not just because it gives the anti-global-warming folks some ammunition. Right now, I’d take humidity and heat and lemonade and flip flops, even if that meant rising at 5 a.m. to get in a workout before melting.

If I can’t feel summer, I can dream about it, so the question for today’s Hump Day is an easy one: What are you planning to do this summer? Race? Relax? A little of both?

I’m hoping I’m able to join the ‘hood running group for real, come early June, and on my calendar is the Venus de Miles, a super cool women’s-only bike ride in and around Boulder, and possibly a sprint triathlon, TBD, since I’ll be swimming and biking to supplement–and limit–my running. SBS, on the other hand, is already dreaming of her next ‘thon; I’d tell you which one, but she’s got to get her (very supportive, handsome, always amenable) husband on board first. (You reading this, Jack?)

Β 

New kicks for a kickin' summer.

A new pair of Asics will nicely compliment any training or racing regimen; we’ve got another $100 certificate lined up for a random winner. So, as Alice Cooper proclaims so brilliantly, school’s out for summer. What are you going to do?

p.s. Colorado Zooma runners. Here’s the discount code for the race in Colorado Springs on July 17th: RLAM1310 for $10 off half-marathon or half-marathon relay and RLAM10K10 for $5 off 10k. I guarantee you a hilly, fun course–and a glass of great wine afterwards! Sign up!

157 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:33 am

    Teach my son the joys of eating sand, watch my little girl learn how to swim, start a new career, support my husband’s recovery from a rotator cuff injury during Pan Mass 2009, and try to break 10 miles for the first time since January 2007! Nothing really πŸ™‚

  2. KarenM permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:38 am

    I will be training for a marathon for the first time in (gulp!) seven years! Can’t wait for the challenge!

  3. Gen permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:39 am

    We have a race in May in Ottawa and the Army in September and a lot of run dates with friends that are teacher/moms in need of an hour or two away πŸ˜€

  4. May 12, 2010 8:40 am

    Teach my little girl how to swim, try and motivate my husband to run a half marathon. Go to TN for my Grandparents 60th anniversary, and watch them renew their vows. And try and train for a sub 2 hr half marathon finally.

  5. May 12, 2010 8:45 am

    Hood to Coast, Cascade Relays trying to convince hubby) Pace a friend for her huntington marathon, start my training for my Vancouver Washington marathon, let my kids run another 5K (they keep bugging me to let them) drop my times on my 5K this summer, get godan (I’ve been putting it off), convince hubby to take us all to disneyland (for the kids, right?) remodel one of our rental homes. Yep, taking it easy this summer.

  6. Rebecca Henson permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:46 am

    As soon as school’s out (I teach high school), I plan to run screaming out the doors, pick up my two little boys and spend as much time as humanly possible outside w/them. We are going to camp w/them for the first time ever! They are finally old enough! As for me, I have a trail marathon this Saturday (first marathon ever!), and two mud-run 5Ks, a tri sprint, and hopefully some other races in there someplace. I just started racing this year, although I’ve been running on my own for 10years now. I can’t WAIT for this summer!

  7. Jennifer permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:49 am

    Race and relax! Just ran my first 5K with two friends and we are going to run at least one a month through summer. Take my boys to swim lessons. Go on a family vacation to Denver and Breckenridge!

  8. Marisa Olsen permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:50 am

    Planning to train-working on upping my mileage and improving my speed, race, and relax during my summer off! Also, hoping to survive running in the heat! Yuck!!

  9. May 12, 2010 8:53 am

    I am going to spend time with my family! I love the summer days where we can plan fun things in the evenings on weekends as a family. We have a big art fair this weekend that I want us to go to that is outside in the downtown of our city. Being able to enjoy the outdoors and spend time with my family is awesome!
    I am also going to plan my runs outdoors so that I can train for the few 5K’s I have coming up. We are also planning a fun-filled family weekend trip to the Ozarks to boat, swim and BBQ.

  10. Tryna permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:56 am

    I’m on kid duty as hubby competes in his first Ironman in Coeur d’Alene. Works for me, swimming sounds too cold for me, but did sign up for a couple of half marathons so am working on my speed and focusing on eating well.

  11. Julie Fredericks permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:57 am

    A little bit of everything- I have one race lined up – a 1/2 marathon in late June. Plenty of travel, visit family in Missouri, Colorado, and Alabama. A trip to the beach in South Carolina. A few week long camps for the kids. The schedule is definitely too full. My biggest worry is how I will keep up with my exercise routine with the kids out of school and my half time(not so half time anymore) job taking up all 18 hours of daycare a week. Guess I will just have to take it one day (and trip) at a time!

  12. Muti permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:58 am

    Do lots of babysitting so their moms can race, swim, bike, promote and heal. And plan on moving to Denver so I can do more of the same…:)

  13. May 12, 2010 9:02 am

    . . .besides the usual work, run, work, swim, work, parent, run, cook, (you get the point) routine, I’m also going to keep a close eye on my teenage son in hopes he doesn’t ruin his life in true teenager fashion.
    plus lots of fun travel.

  14. JnetRuns permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:02 am

    Snow? What’s that? I’m in Florida so we have the opposite problem here, too hot already. So, I’ll be taking it easy this summer and then ramping it up in the fall for a winter marathon.

  15. OtherJulie permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:05 am

    Hubby and I made a deal…he would do backyard (with no input required from me…only labor) and I would do the photos…from 13 years of marriage (with no nagging from him).

    What a joyful time we will have!

    Plus road trips to Oregon coast and possible Minnesota…

  16. Priscilla permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:06 am

    Squeezing in as much fun as possible in the form of — Sprint Tri, Oly Tri, kayaking, bike riding around town with my daughter (especially to the new frozen yogurt shop down the street! Our local DQ closed a few years ago) and two weeks in Alaska!

  17. Jill (Mama to 4) permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:09 am

    I am going to enjoy the break from dance rehearsals, martial arts lessons, kid choirs, and the endless requests for “extras” for school. I am going to get into work early and get out early. I look forward to using all of the extra “free” time to spend with my kids and work on trying to improve my half-marathon time.

  18. May 12, 2010 9:11 am

    Summer is marathon training time for me so I’ll be hitting the pavement at insanely early hours of the morning to prepare for my fifth 26.2 miler. That combined with weekend trips, family reunions and summer camps will pretty much have me in a coma by the end of August. Good times!

  19. May 12, 2010 9:11 am

    I am looking forward to playing outside, kiddie pools, trips to the lake, a family reunion, swimming, running and having tons of fun!!!! FWIW, it’s in the 40’s and raining here again today. Like you I prefer cool over hot and humid, but it’s getting out of control! Especially since it was 80 a month ago. Crazy!

  20. Erin permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:17 am

    We have a pretty big deal 10 mile race where I live in August, and there is also a pretty big deal training program that goes with it (“biggest organized training program in the country for a specific race” according to the group organizers). The program kicked off last night, and I’m happy to be doing it after a couple year pregnancy/baby induced hiatus. It is a 16 week program, which is way too long for a 10 mile race, but I like it for the forced commitment and social aspects. I feel like I’m going to be a runner again after too many months off.

    Other than that, I am a teacher who is counting down the days ’til school is out so I can spend inordinate amounts of time with my three small children who I don’t get to see nearly enough of during the school year!

  21. May 12, 2010 9:20 am

    Road trip home topped off with a 5K/10K local race with lots of family and friends…can’t wait.

  22. May 12, 2010 9:23 am

    Training for my first half marathon. Running a few local 5K’s. Taking the kids to the park, to the pool, to the beach, to visit grandparents… Also, laying low while my husband prepares to take the bar exam in July.

  23. Heather permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:28 am

    I am a solo runner. Always have been. I have never entered a race and don’t plan on it until after my kids are grown. I have four children and I homeschool them year around but we love summer. Summer for us involves swimsuits all day, most days and playing and eating outside. This will be our best summer ever because we have installed A/C. Ah! Hot summer sun as long as we want it but cool inside. We can’t wait!

  24. Meredith permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:30 am

    I’m training to run my first 5K, and trying to lose the baby weight (my son is 2.5, my daughter about to turn 1) and fit back into my cute summer dresses in time for my 30th birthday at the end of August!

  25. bizymama permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:36 am

    to spend lazy, summer evenings and weekends with my children enjoying each other and just being together; to run as often as I can steal away time (and train for that Nov. marathon- do I dare?!), knowing that it will fill me up, energize me and inspire me to be bold, brave and sane in all other aspects of my life; to focus and be productive in the office and keep mother-guilt to a minimum; to have at least one get away with my husband; to remember/celebrate anniversaries that range from our wedding and the kids’ birthdays, to the recent deaths of close family members; to continue to volunteer my time wisely and meaningfully; to write, write, write.

  26. jen@theevolvinghomemaker.com permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:36 am

    Both. I am planning on focusing only on racing and relaxing with the kids this summer…it is all that other stuff (laundry, errands, deadlines, chores) that get in the way of a perfect day! Running and relaxing should be the only thing on the to-do list, and I am going to do my best to keep it that way!

    πŸ™‚

  27. Kate M. permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:40 am

    I’ll be pushing out a baby in late July and then trying to survive those first six weeks while still paying SOME attention to my 2 1/2 year old daughter; then hopefully easing into a routine of regular walking and jogging to start to feel like a normal person again!

  28. May 12, 2010 9:44 am

    When I am not running kids to summer activities, I will be racing. And when I am not racing, we will be at the lake, in the cabin relaxing : )

  29. May 12, 2010 9:54 am

    I am going to the happiest place on earth, Disneyland, hopefully I will be doing a lot of water skiing if I can find a car to pull the boat and if I can afford the gas prices, and if Idon’t qualify for Boston on June 5th I will continue to train for another marathon on Sept. 4th in Pocatello Idaho. (way to go Idaho!)

  30. May 12, 2010 9:56 am

    I am really hoping to ramp up my running and start training for my first Half that I plan on doing in the fall…before possibly getting knocked up once again…..ugghhhh I meant adding one more little cutie to this family! I also am thinking I would really like to try a sprint tri, but we will have to see.

    Over all I love summer, I love to sweat my ass off just sitting by the pool!!!

  31. becelisa permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:56 am

    summer doesn’t mean a whole lot to a working single-mom except that it’s extra hot here in florida and extra hard to train! i just registered for my first tri (aug. 21) so i’ll be learning how to swim beyond floating on my back sipping fruity drinks and trying to juggle biking and running somewhere in my crazy world. my next marathon training starts in july as well so it’s bound to be a crazy busy summer! but i wouldn’t have it any other way!

  32. Lisa Zieger permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:58 am

    Running my first race — a 10K — on June 6; beginning to possibly maybe contemplate a half marathon (did I just write that down?!?); enjoying dinners of CSA produce on the patio with my husband and watching my little boy learn to walk — and run!

  33. Sarah permalink
    May 12, 2010 10:00 am

    Maybe running one or two 5Ks, start 10K training end of July/first of August, meeting the in-laws at the beach house as much as possible, lose 20lbs (of too many to mention), run, run, run, and just enjoy my amazing, always surprising kids.

  34. May 12, 2010 10:06 am

    What am I doing for the summer? I am teaching my reluctant daughter to ride a bike, demonstrating the benefits of using the toliet to my 20 month old in the hope of early potty training, working towards becoming a better wife to my amazing husband and preparing for my second trail ultra, oh and maybe moving for the first time in 40 years! It’s going to be an amazing summer!

  35. May 12, 2010 10:17 am

    I’m hoping to find a 10k on the coast somewhere for June/August. I think I’m ready for the distance challenge, and I’m always looking for a reason to visit the Oregon Coast!

  36. Julene permalink
    May 12, 2010 10:36 am

    My husband and I are celebrating our 10th Anniversary this summer with a week trip to Boston, while the kids stay with their Grandparents! We are getting excited even though it’s still 2 months away. As for running, my first Half is in less than two weeks, and after that I’ll be training for the Ragnar Great River relay. It’s our team’s inagural year so we are all anxious to see what it holds!

  37. May 12, 2010 10:36 am

    I’m running my first marathon, running my first ragnar relay, attending the wedding of my brother in law, and helping organize a week long girls camp. It’s going to be super fun and really busy!

  38. May 12, 2010 11:06 am

    I’ll be starting summer by finishing my second marathon and finishing summer by training for my third marathon. I look forward to running another one mile race with my six-year-old daughter and look forward to teaching her to ride her bike without training wheels. Through my marathon training this Spring, I’ve been able to discover new pedestrian paths and parks in new neighborhoods. I look forward to sharing these new findings with my kids while we enjoy some quality time together outside this Summer.

  39. Katy permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:18 am

    It’s HOT in Texas and I am a night owl. So this summer I plan to LEARN to get up at the crack of dawn like you guys do. I am considering a boot camp for this so the peer pressure and spent cash will get me up. Hoping I can just keep it going after that.

  40. Sara permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:23 am

    I’m excited for summer! Plans include easing back into running after pregnancy in time for Portland Half Marathon in September, training for one mile swim across the Columbia River with my dad, lazy days at the park, and swim lessons with my 3-year-old!

  41. May 12, 2010 11:35 am

    This will be my first summer as a stay-at-home mom in FOURTEEN years!!! I have visions of hanging out at the pool with my 15 year old daughter…going on long runs in the morning without having to worry about getting back in time to get her to school…and road trips (to anywhere). More than likely it will consist of mowing the lawn, cleaning out the garage, and running a taxi service taking darling daughter places//letting her practice her mad driving skills!!

  42. Dani Hainds permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:43 am

    I’m planning to run the Steamboat Half Marathon (4th time), make a trip to Mexico with 6 running buddies, help host a family reunion and maybe get some climbing in. I consider this my down time! I work in an elementary school and have to fit a lot in to my summers!

  43. Kathy permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:45 am

    Work 😦 Ferry my twin girls to all sorts of fun camps and wish I was a kid again with them! Vacation at my parents house away from the Texas heat. Try to build up my mileage so I can jump into 1/2 marathon (or marathon – haven’t decided) training in the fall. Join the gym and cross-train in the AC. Hang by the pool on weekends and drink margaritas πŸ™‚

  44. May 12, 2010 12:00 pm

    I’ve got a marathon June 16th and then juggling kiddos all summer to various activities. (It’s the 6-year-old’s inaugural year in children’s summer theater.) My beloved works 24 hours a day, 6 days a week at a summer camp so I spend a lot of time as a Single Mama this time of year. I’ll be running shorter races TBD during July & August and definitely a 10K in September. I’m also in a community theater show and will be assistant directing a musical that starts up in August.

    Shoot, I’m tired already!

  45. Melanie permalink
    May 12, 2010 12:07 pm

    I’m staying home! with a new baby, scheduled to arrive mid-June. We’ll be getting to know each other and trying to stay cool in our house, and I’ll be trying to get back into running as my body and new motherhood allow.

  46. Amber Izzo permalink
    May 12, 2010 12:09 pm

    This summer is going to be a fun and busy one! I am planning on running two half marathons, several splash and dash races and possibly a triathlon. I also want to get to climb my first 14er, maybe I will brave and do a few. Lots of fun and sun and running:)

  47. May 12, 2010 12:16 pm

    A whole lotta relaxing! With baby #8 due in a couple of months, I’m hoping to keep eeking out a daily run (assuming my body will continue to cooperate!), but the racing schedule for the summer is nil. Kind of hard since last year at this time I was gearing up for tri’s and my other races….I’m working through my race envy and living vicariously through my crazy friends. Still hoping to squeeze in a couple of short races (and taking advantage of the virtual races I come across), though obviously just for the fun of it, no PRs in the cards this race season! Once baby arrives I am excited to jump-slowly of course-back into longer and faster times, and break out the road bike again, and get a nice jump on next year!

  48. Christie permalink
    May 12, 2010 12:22 pm

    I am due to deliver my second baby in early June. After the expected 6 week doctor-mandated rest period (does everyone pay attention to this?) , I plan to start running again and race in the Disneyland half-marathon, which is in early September. Maybe this is a little ambitious, but I figure I need some motivation to get moving, and if that doesn’t work out, I’ll do the 5K fun run. After all, I guess motherhood is all about going with the flow and making adjustments to previously well thought out plans, right?

  49. Crystal permalink
    May 12, 2010 12:34 pm

    I am excited to send my graduating seniors out into the world (I teach high school), spend lots of time at the swimming pool with my three little ones, and train for my first half marathon!

  50. May 12, 2010 12:49 pm

    This summer I will take advantage of cool mornings to run and warm afternoons to swim, picnic and play with my two girls. I’m sure we’ll spend lots of the time at the park and the pool.

  51. Jay permalink
    May 12, 2010 12:57 pm

    Start my summer with doing my first Olympic Distance Triathlon. It was running injuries that got me into triathlons πŸ™‚ Spend lots of time outdoors with my kids and finish the summer with a sprint triathlon and a 1/2 marathon. And somehow learn to eat a few ice cream cones without feeling guilty!

  52. Kristyn permalink
    May 12, 2010 1:15 pm

    This will be the first summer in three years that my little boy will be out of school. I am excited to have both kids together all summer to play, play, play. As far as running goes…..I am really looking forward to a summer of casual runs with friends and NO TRAINING! My body needs to rest and heal, so casual running it is for me…….just got to get through this marathon and Ragnar relay first. πŸ™‚

  53. May 12, 2010 1:19 pm

    Relax. Lay in the sun. Swim with the kids. Sleep late (well later than usual). And get dirty. Oh and run. A lot.

  54. Melanie permalink
    May 12, 2010 1:40 pm

    Spending LOTS of time at the pool with kiddos on swim team, start training for 4th 1/2 marathon in October, decide if I should try a full marathon (that may take the whole summer to decide) and enjoy lots of fun family time including kids 1st trip to DC!

  55. ashlee permalink
    May 12, 2010 1:46 pm

    One thing i’m doing? Running the Zooma 10K! My first race since i started having kids over 6 years ago. IT’S ABOUT TIME!

  56. Lisa permalink
    May 12, 2010 1:51 pm

    I am just hoping to be running again as I’m currently on the injured list with no running allowed. In addition, I’ll be relaxing and enjoying the kids.

  57. May 12, 2010 2:04 pm

    I’m going to finish the Couch 2 5K program (I’m on week 6) and get off of the treadmill and run outside. Wish me luck!

  58. May 12, 2010 2:06 pm

    I am going to try to schedule some fun with my girls in between training for the Chicago Marathon and doing small 5k’s thru out the summer and maybe a half before the big day.

  59. May 12, 2010 2:15 pm

    Four sons, camp, gardening, therapy, swimming, marathon training, more gardening and more running, bike riding, the zoo, hopefully a random road trip and more running πŸ™‚

  60. May 12, 2010 2:18 pm

    I usually keep up at least a 10-15 mile base during the summer, but I don’t race. I’m always torn when I do that cuz my buddies are racing and I feel like I’m missing out. But then I plan a camping or beach trip with the family and then I’m glad I can relax.

    This summer will be different. I’m registered for a 50K in July and I want to run the inaugural Women’s Half in Eugene in September. I guess I’ll play in August!

  61. Brittney permalink
    May 12, 2010 2:21 pm

    I will be training for Hood to Coast and a marathon sleepover that my friends and I cooked up: run 1.1 miles every hour. It will be wonderfully sucky!

  62. May 12, 2010 2:35 pm

    Wasatch Back Ragnar Relay in June, then I start training for my first Marathon which is in October! Hoping to run a few 5K and 10K races during the summer as well!

  63. Christina McCool permalink
    May 12, 2010 2:38 pm

    Between shuttling kids to swim and tennis lessons, I’ll train for a 5-k. The race is less important to me than the plan- I love the speedwork. Speed is relative here!

  64. Caroline permalink
    May 12, 2010 2:39 pm

    I am going to keep running 5-6 days a week! Got 3 5k lined up for the summer including one at Disneyland and my boys will run the kids race! this should be fun!

  65. Karen G. permalink
    May 12, 2010 2:45 pm

    I will be running a few 5k’s here in the Northwest, and training for my first half. The month of July will be spent lakeside in my hometown of Sunapee NH. Very excited to visit with my mom and family, and determined to keep up my running while I”m there! It’ll be tough, pulling myself away from the lake, but it’ll feel great to jump in it when I”m done!! And maybe I”ll get to see SBS while she’s in the New England area??

  66. Madeline permalink
    May 12, 2010 2:45 pm

    This summer, we are planning to do lots of hiking, visiting our local farms, travelling to visit our family, and training for the San Francisco half-marathon in July. BTW this weekend, my husband and I are going to run the Bay-To-Breaker 12k ! It will be our first ‘date’ since our son was born πŸ˜›

  67. May 12, 2010 2:53 pm

    Not eating entire bags of Angie’s Kettle Corn every day, like I’m attempting to do right now. Sheesh, I can’t get any typing done with one hand in the bag… plans? Perk up my 5K time by going to weekly track workouts, one sprint tri, the Iron Girl Du and maybe maybe another half marathon. Kettle corn isn’t so bad for you, right?

  68. Martha permalink
    May 12, 2010 2:55 pm

    This summer, I am running my first race ever… a 5k at the end of May. Then we are off on our first road trip with my 3 year old and 18 month old to visit family in New Orleans (a 14 hour drive). In June, I will celebrate my 5 year wedding anniversary with my husband. And I will be preparing my 3 year old for preschool starting in August.

  69. Emeliee Dirks permalink
    May 12, 2010 3:06 pm

    Ogden Marathon this weekend and I’m hoping the snow melts by then! After that is the ultimate in race/party – the Wastach Back Relay. 178 miles – 12 friends – 2 stinky vans – and memories to last a lifetime. On to the Tin Cup Challenge 10K in Driggs in July – amazing small town race with one of the best weekend long music festivals to wrap up the weekend (eat at Forage Lounge in Driggs if you’re passing by – food not to be missed!). Mixed in between that we’ll have our first family beach vacation, running in the sand, and cheering for my 8 and 5 year old little girls as they kick butt during their track season! Life is good ~ being a running mom makes it better!

  70. Jen permalink
    May 12, 2010 3:08 pm

    Hoping to run the “Red White and Boom” half marathon if I still feel up to it at 20 weeks pregnant. That’s my only real running goal. Otherwise, walks, hiking, lots of time at the park with my girls, and probably many gallons of lemonade.

  71. Jennifer Rana permalink
    May 12, 2010 3:26 pm

    Hoping to take a few road trips, and keep on training!

  72. May 12, 2010 3:33 pm

    I’m starting my summer off with a bang…the San Diego Rock n Roll Marathon! And then, I plan on relaxing on the beach with my family with a cool beverage and maybe hit the SD Zoo, assuming I’ll be able to walk! The rest of the summer is reserved for grilling and swimming in our backyard pool. I;m ready for summer to begin!

  73. Lisa permalink
    May 12, 2010 5:08 pm

    I am excited to be running my first marathon in June – Grandma’s Marathon – and combining it with a little family vacation in Duluth! I also plan on chasing after my newly mobile 8 month old and enjoying as many days of sunshine as I can!

  74. realrellim permalink
    May 12, 2010 5:09 pm

    I’m hoping to buy a double jogger tomorrow (tomorrow! got the approval from our pediatrician yesterday) and then really get moving this summer. I’ve only been running for two weeks now but it feels great so far.

    I’ll definitely be running a 5-mile race over the Fourth of July weekend (from Winter Park to Fraser), and I’m hoping to get a 10k in sometime late this summer. One day I’d like to do the Venus de Miles, but because the baby is far too small to be in a bike trailer, that will have to wait for another year.

  75. May 12, 2010 5:32 pm

    I am going to spend time with my pre-teen at the pond and continue my quest to become a runner.

  76. Runner girl permalink
    May 12, 2010 5:42 pm

    I live in Florida, and we are already sick of the 90+ degree heat. I’ll take your snow any day!!!
    I plan to slog through my training in the heat as best I can, and find hills wherever I can so that I can finally run the FULL Nike Women’s Marathon this October. I ran the half in 2005 and have managed to get an entry almost every other year since, only to have to drop out. 2007 – won a place in the half, dropped out due to injury
    2009 – won a place in the full, dropped out due to work commitments (boo!)
    2010 – full marathon – to finally be checked off the life list??
    I am planning to buy new shoes this weekend in fact! πŸ™‚

  77. vanessa r permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:16 pm

    Run for sure! Also, going to get the kids up and running every other day (as well as swimming). Looking forward to my first tri too! Gotta love summer!

  78. Shelley Buckholtz permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:21 pm

    We are going to run, relax, and be very busy at our beach place. My husband will be training near the end of the summer for the NYC marathon, he qualified with his PR at Portland. I did not get in from the lottery, but I am thinking about a charity entry.

  79. Darci Knowles permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:22 pm

    This summer I will be training for my first marathon starting June 5. In addition, I will be soaking up the sun with my 2 year old daughter, Carter and hopefully potty training her. When daddy is not working, we hope to take a few trips. Whew! A lot will be going on, but I hope the summer goes by SLOWLY!

  80. Santiea Akus permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:23 pm

    I will be running . . working toward my first half marathon at the end of the summer. My two children, ages 22 months and 4 years, are my “running” partners along w/some truly inspirational ppl at Live Well Fitness Center. We spend most of our weekends cheering each other on at the finish line. On my “off” days I will spend my hours being a students, employee, wife, and plain old mom. Although, my kids prefer “running” mom, cause she is tons more fun!

  81. May 12, 2010 6:24 pm

    Try to survive my first summer back in the office after having a baby last year and taking a year off of work. I hope to squeeze in as many gorgeous early morning runs and afternoons lazing in the backyard with my babe and hubby as possible. Plus hopefully a mini trip to Lake Placid at some point.

  82. Jolene Cannady permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:25 pm

    My plans are to run for fun and a cause. I am headed back to school in the fall to work towards my midwifery. So being a mom of two I want time with my kids in the summer. I also want to have a lot of fun miles with my 8-year-old daughter. We are running the Komen Race in June and this is a great learning opportunity for her. We have already raised $135 for the cause and we are proud!! I look forward to a summer of fun with my family and my times running.

  83. May 12, 2010 6:25 pm

    Training for my first half while catching some babies. Downtime will involve my daughter’s insane soccer schedule.

  84. Michele permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:27 pm

    After recovering from an IT Band issue, I am looking forward to running as many races I can (5k – 10k range;) Especially since I move up in age group mid-summer!

  85. Amanda Andrews permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:29 pm

    I am running in Grandma’s Marathon in Duluth, MN in June! I can’t wait!

  86. May 12, 2010 6:31 pm

    I’m looking forward to the Zooma Half, then I’m doing the Beach to Beacon 10K in Portland, Maine in August, and my first sprint tri the end of August. I’m already tired of my “training” schedule. Not sure how I’m going to maintain it for the next 3+ months!

  87. May 12, 2010 6:32 pm

    I love to go to Martha’s Vineyard every summer with my family. My favorite thing to do is to run the same route but the harbor and watch the first few ferries came into dock. If I am lucky the fog is just lifting and the sun has just come up in the sky.I run by light houses, mansions and pretty beaches. Then I run back home and take an outdoor shower. There is nothing better than an outdoor shower after a good hard run.
    I wait all yr for this running experience. Sometimes in the dead of winter I will pretend that I am on my summer run. Some mornings my husband will say as I rise early out of bed “why are you up so early” or “why don’t you take a day off”. But I am out there all 5 days. If I can schedule a later ferry for the day we leave I try to fit in the “last” run!
    Honestly it is one of my favorite things to do.

  88. Patty Godfrey permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:32 pm

    My 14 year old daughter wants to do some new races (mostly triathlons, but a few road races) with me this year. We have done 2 – 1/2 marathons together as well as tons of tri’s. She highlighted races she wants to do that we have not done yet. In fact, we just raced this past weekend (Mother’s Day). We decided to make it fun and race against each other. So far…Mom 1, daughter 0. Let the games begin.

  89. May 12, 2010 6:33 pm

    I have a lot going this summer. First I am waiting for my hubby to return from Afghanistan. So I keep busy to pass the months and by busy I mean I run!! I have Rock n Roll Seattle coming up in June, Seafair Sprint Tri in July, Danskin Seattle Tri in August, Jock n Jill Half Marathon in Sept, and Portlan Marathon in October!!! And then welcome home hubby!! All I can see beyond that is sun, beach, sand….

  90. christine fiske permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:36 pm

    This summer I plan to do another 5k (mt everrest challange which includes 5k, scavenger hunt and obstacle course ) with my daughter Jesica (19). Train like crazy for my 4th ever race a half marathon in November. Which I signed up for in a weak crazy moment last feb. I can’t even run a full mile yet without walking some. So this will be huge. Changing jobs at work, and whatever other crazy things I can add to my plate.

  91. May 12, 2010 6:37 pm

    I’m running the seattle marathon and then taking an alaskan cruise!! that’s my big summer plan

  92. Rene Whiteley permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:38 pm

    The Worcester Half Marathon on June 13th with another half in September. the rest of the summer will be spent sitting by my pool, bbqing, and fitting in a couple of beach days. i can’t wait!!

  93. Amanda Muhlbauer permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:39 pm

    Enjoy the summer with my 2 year old and 4 month old. Savoring the Iowa summer, because winter will be back before we know it. Enjoying the small town races with great RLAM Iowa friends.

  94. May 12, 2010 6:43 pm

    Having a baby! Due end of June. After that recovering, snuggling with the wee one and my toddler and working my way back into training for the fall racing season.

  95. May 12, 2010 6:46 pm

    I am going to run, go to the gym, and run some more. Oh right, plus–read books, take my daughter to camp and then go spend some quality me time at the pool, and do a little curriculum writing just to be able to say that teachers do work during the summer πŸ™‚

  96. Dede permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:46 pm

    Summer? What’s that? Four kids home and me, teacher off, we hit the beach A LOT. Nothing like a sand run while the kids are surfing. Can’t wait 25 days and counting here

  97. Steff permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:48 pm

    I’m training for my first Olympic-distance triathlon! (And likely asking “What have I gotten myself into?” several times!) Oh–and visiting family in Minnesota.

  98. May 12, 2010 6:51 pm

    For summer? Let’s see walking the Bolder Boulder in wave WA at 37 weeks pregnancy, squeezing out a baby, taking 40 days rest and then training to run the Denver Rock and Roll 1/2 marathon in October. Technically no races for the summer but getting my body ready for one in early fall. I would love to start off with a new pair of Asics… I last ran (26 weeks) in Gel Nimbus but would do another gait analysis after the baby just to be sure.

  99. May 12, 2010 6:53 pm

    This will be the first summer I have worked full time since my oldest daughter was born 😦 However, I plan to take many long weekends! In Wisconsin we are lucky to have many great State Parks and we plan to visit many to hike, swim and camp!

  100. Melissa permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:53 pm

    Well, we are moving to a new state in June so the first part of summer will be taking time to settle in. I am hoping to get in a 4th of July race in the new town.

  101. May 12, 2010 6:57 pm

    My son’s baseball season pretty much eats up May and June! So no ultras for me during that time frame — I get to be support crew for him! (Mom, laundry, cook, chauffer, cheerleader, etc.) During May & June, I’m running shorter and faster workouts, lots of fun, shaking it up a bit. We’ve even been doing track workouts each Wednesday morning! I’ve picked a series of 5 races (plus 1 crewing/pacing stint) to enter between June 6th and October 10th. Starting with 2 1/2 marathons, each of the races are then an increasing distance, so my training and racing distances will ramp up naturally towards the end of summer goal of the Heartlands 100 miler in Cassody, Kansas on Oct. 10th. MOST FUN OF ALL — Our family will spend a lovely 8 days in Sunriver in mid-August. Sunriver is our very most favorite place to go as a family, to hang out, relax and have fun. It should be a great summer!

  102. May 12, 2010 7:00 pm

    My family is really lucky. My husband will have a full six weeks off this summer, and since I don’t work outside the home, we have so many fun things planned, I’m having a hard time keeping track. We’ll be doing a lot of camping, lots of travelling, and in the middle of it all, we’ll be doing a marathon! I’m looking forward to everything, although I’ll have a hard time saying good-bye to the school routine for the summer, to be honest.

  103. Jenn C permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:03 pm

    After our early summer beach vacation, I am going to be more involved in my running group–run more often, volunteer at the races I don’t plan to run in, etc. I will also be running with a colleague/friend in the mornings before our workday starts. We have been talking about running a half together next year.

  104. mhelen37 permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:07 pm

    No racing for me in the summer-too hot. I plan on getting back into my early AM runs, when it’s cooler and maybe throwing in some bike rides -I bought a helmet yesterday!! Hope to head to the beach if it survives this awful spill!

  105. Dion permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:11 pm

    My only plans for the summer are to try to stay cool in the heat and humidity of the South!!!

  106. Bethany Lannon permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:13 pm

    I plan to get back into my pre-baby shape this summer by running and strength training and yoga/pilates… and of course I plan to enjoy time outside watching my almost 3-month old baby boy grow up. πŸ™‚

  107. Marcia permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:16 pm

    Well, this Saturday I’m running my first 5K in over 25 years (since I had kids), and my plans are to include a few over the summer. It took me 2 years to get to this place, and now I need to set a new goal – a 10K in the next year or 2?

  108. May 12, 2010 7:17 pm

    I am hoping to get in some R&R, and finally heal my nagging ITB, while having a great time with my adorable little boy and my handsome husband. Yes, you can gag now.

  109. May 12, 2010 7:26 pm

    I plan on getting my plantar fasciitis to heal while swimming laps in the local pool. Once it gets really warm out and we open our pool then I can do some water jogging. I would really like to run this summer but with this injury and pregnancy I’m not sure it’s in the cards for me. Oh well – I just bought a new jogging stroller that holds an infant carrier so I can get back to running this winter – WOOOT!

  110. Sarah permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:30 pm

    We’re going to California in June to complete the See Jane Run half marathon (on my 38th birthday!) My sisters are running it and my dad and I will be walking it together. He’s 70 and has had heart surgery recently so I’m really proud of him! That, and the fact that he’s braving an all-women’s half marathon make him a pretty amazing guy. It will be my second and my sisters’ first half marathon. I’m also hoping to have time to train for and do another sprint tri in July.

  111. Suzy Hay permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:30 pm

    I plan to dedicate two afternoons a week to hang by the pool with my kiddo! I also plan to run a few local races and begin training for a 1/2 in the fall. A new pair of shoes might be just the thing I need to get motivated after a recent knee surgery. Hope I win =) =)

  112. May 12, 2010 7:34 pm

    Vacation. Move. Learn a new town. Race? I’d love to find at least one marathon to run in the early fall. We’ll see if the first three things go smoothly.

  113. Theresa permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:35 pm

    I’m training for my first 1/2 marathon in October so I’ll be running this summer…a lot! I usually take one of my boys with me on weekend runs so it also gives us some one-on-one Mommy and Baby bonding time, which I love. There is something about being able to run in the park, near the water, or just around the block that brings a huge smile to my face these days. I love Summer-time!

  114. JEnny J permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:35 pm

    When the weather hits 40 I make a goal to run one race a month. I’ve knocked out two already (5k and 5 miler). The summer months will include a 5k finishing at home plate of Great American Ball Park in June, a 5k with the high school team I volunteer coach at in July, and my high school alumni race in August. In the middle I’ll relax at the pool with my 4 year-old and get ready for baby #2 who is arriving in November πŸ™‚

  115. Vicky permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:40 pm

    Summer will be lots of working, car pooling kids and remembering that I need time for me.

  116. Christa permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:40 pm

    A few vacations here and there. Lots and lots of running. Running a few local races 5/ 10k but training mostly for the Chicago Marathon in October. But trying to enjoy the summer with my kids. Lots of family, fitness and fun!!!!

  117. Kelly permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:57 pm

    race AND relax! Ditto to some of the other moms here, I’m doing the Chicago marathon in October. My favorite race weekends are those where I can race and take in the city, too. It will be my first post-baby marathon and I am super excited…both for the journey and the final destination!

  118. Betsy permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:57 pm

    this summer…. take a trip to kansas with my mother-in-law and three young children, be the matron of honor in my little sisters wedding, cheer on my husband in his numerous races, spend hours and hours at the park with my children, spend time with the family out at the lake, watch my children ride up and down the sidewalk hundreds of times, and last, but not least… dust off my running shoes and get back at it!

  119. alison permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:11 pm

    this summer i’m starting off with a half marathon in NY. then there’s a wedding, taking care of a garden and getting ready for my oldest to start kindergarten.

  120. Christina permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:17 pm

    Not a lot of specific plans for the summer! Our schedule is pretty much the same, with me and hubby working and our three-year-old son in preschool/daycare. I will be kicking off the summer with a half marathon (my second) on May 30 and wrapping it up with a half marathon at the end of August. So there will be lots of running, running, running throughout!

  121. Christine permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:31 pm

    I will be chasing after my daughter and watching her enjoy many first this summer…oh and running my first ever 24 hour Relay and running a marathon!

  122. molly permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:34 pm

    running the Colfax Half-Marathon and leaving for Clearwater beach the next day!

  123. May 12, 2010 8:34 pm

    I hope to maintain some semblance of fitness through the summer months and slowly begin training for my next half in October. I’m also toying with running The Hottest Half here in Texas in August. Is that insanity or what??

  124. Maria Young permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:41 pm

    Hood to Coast is a must-do for the summer. And maintenance runs between now and then. If I’m really lucky I’ll be able to do either the Dirty Half or Haulin Aspen in Bend. Lately I’ve been living for the trail runs.

  125. Jess permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:48 pm

    My summer: 1) Rehabbing my four-legged child from a torn biceps tendon 2) training for the Denver Half with TNT – time to give back by doing something I love 3) Running with my girlfriends on Sundays 4) Going to Mexico with said girlfriends and maybe not running while there πŸ™‚ Looking forward to it all!

  126. Renee permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:56 pm

    Going to try to keep my 1/2 marathon running base and enjoy the long runs instead of dread them. I want to try to PR in a half in September (in Lansing, MI), so sprint work is forthcoming! Then running the half in Baltimore in October with friends! So, this summer…prepare!

  127. sassystew permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:09 pm

    Train for a triple threat in October: Portland, Nike Women’s and Columbia Gorge marathons, the first three weekends in October.

  128. Stacy permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:33 pm

    I am doing my first half marathon, the Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle on June 26th! Have been training with Team in Training. I just signed up yesterday for my second half, the Langley Half two weeks later, so I can qualify for the Half Fanatics…thinking positive πŸ™‚ Not sure what event will do in Aug, but doing Aflac Iron Girl 10K in Seattle in Sept & debating whether to do my first full marathon with the Seattle Marathon in Nov!

  129. May 12, 2010 10:15 pm

    I can totally relate to not knowing what day it is. They all seem to run together when your a stay at home mom.

    This summer I’m running my first marathon, working on baby #4, ridding my house of too many people, and going on lots of road trips with my little family. It’s gonna be busy and FUN! πŸ™‚

  130. May 12, 2010 10:17 pm

    I refuse to sign up the kids for summer camps for fear of missing a chance to take a last minute camping trip, or just to throw the kids and towels in the car and head to the beach. I love the freedom. So I’m wondering how fitting running back into my life is going to work… 10k the first weekend in August may or may not be realistic but its a goal to get me back on track!

  131. Monica permalink
    May 12, 2010 10:47 pm

    Just started a new job. But running wise I plan to have some fun doing some shorter races (5k’s/10k and a street mile) as part of the Team Red Lizard Summer Series. And also the Flat Half on Sauvie Island.

  132. May 12, 2010 10:47 pm

    I’m going to breathe a sigh of relief I’m off work for a couple months while running myself into the ground, playing with my kiddos, do some trail running, some outdoor swimming at neighborhood pool, climbing a 14er or two, a couple camping trips in the mountains, painting at least one room in my house, and DEFINITELY getting a run in with Dimity (this is crazy it’s been almost a year we’ve tried to do this!!).

    And yea about that white stuff today….did we just bypass spring and summer and I missed it??? My allergies say spring is here but I had to get my winter coat on this morning – ick!

  133. Connie permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:12 pm

    SO looking forward to the summer! (Of course, that’s what happens when it snows in MAY!!) My hubby’s taking the summer off, so my summer will likely consist of keeping him in line (a full-time job in and of itself), keeping my 2-year old in line (I like to think of it as the terrific two’s), and managing to find time for myself somewhere in between. I’ll be giving my notice and taking the month of June OFF of everything, for the first time since the mid-80’s when I was in high school! Hoping to pick back up my running program to start training for a big run, but if not, will at least stay in shape by biking – I may sub for a rider in the Courage Classic and already signed up for Venus de Miles. OH – and trying for baby #2, which could potentially change all of these plans!! πŸ˜‰

  134. GottaRun26.2 permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:17 pm

    I plan to run as much as I can and train for the SF Nike Women’s Marathon. I have recently become a trail guide for the Irvine Ranch Conservancy and plan to assist in leading runs this summer through the local trails and share my passion for running the hills!

  135. Laura permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:29 pm

    I am going to run in small races and build up my training regime! Can’t wait πŸ™‚

  136. Tamra permalink
    May 13, 2010 4:45 am

    I will be taking swimming lessons. I need to get more confident in the water because I REALLY want to do a triathlon next year. It’s on my bucket list before I turn 40.

  137. cathy permalink
    May 13, 2010 7:29 am

    Race! My goal is to do more racing this summer so I eventually get better at it!

  138. Becky permalink
    May 13, 2010 7:56 am

    I’ll spend the summer working, and on my days off, playing with my 3 boys and hubby. I just ran a half marathon, but am signed up for a few 5 and 10K runs with my 11 year old for the spring. He’d rather ride his skateboard, but he’s willing to lace up running shoes and talks about the day he will beat me in these runs. So for now, I don’t feel too bad about beating him!

  139. May 13, 2010 8:54 am

    I’ll be getting back in the pool, and maybe on a bike!

  140. May 13, 2010 9:11 am

    If I can knock this injury, I will be running the Zooma 1/2 in Annapolis and hopefully, the Brew Run while we are on vacation in Cape Cod.

  141. May 13, 2010 11:45 am

    I have af ew races planned all gearing up for my first half (chicago Rock-n-Roll) and first marathon (chicago)…trying to keep on track…

  142. May 13, 2010 12:06 pm

    I blogged about this giveaway here:
    http://corgipants.blogspot.com/2010/05/giveaways-to-enter.html

    Sorry I haven’t gotten back to you yet about this, I won the Brooks gift certificate and got my shoes in the mail. I am smitten, I got the Switch 3s and love them! I am keeping them nice and clean and using them as my indoor gym/treadmill shoes because I don’t want them to get grungy. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much!!!

  143. Tricia permalink
    May 13, 2010 12:31 pm

    I’m hoping a sprint tri at the end of June and a half in mid September will be a good way to make sure I keep in shape, keep training and don’t have too much fun this summer.

  144. Julie Berland permalink
    May 13, 2010 1:18 pm

    I always think of the summer starting with the Bolder Boulder (run twice, the first on my own, the second heading back to the start to run with one of my 8 year olds), then since the kids are out of school my running gets put on the back burner unless I wake up early which doesn’t happen. Vacations to in-laws in MN and parents in NH allow for a few runs. I’m ending the summer with being part of a friend’s crew for the Leadville 100. Can’t imagine running it but will feed off the energy of some amazing athletes.

  145. May 13, 2010 2:03 pm

    Well hopefully it won’t take all summer, but I’m currently looking for a job, since I got laid off last month. 😦 It really puts a hamper on getting out and having any fun. 😦

  146. Mary Wright permalink
    May 13, 2010 2:17 pm

    Run – Swim – Bike – Canoe… In October this last winter, a girlfriend (who has run several marathons and halves) suggested it would be fun to run the Hippie Chick Half Marathon outside of Portland Mother’s Day weekend. Hmmm… I love outdoor activities, but am plagued by I.T. knee pain if I overdo so haven’t run in years… but I grew up in Portland and I could visit Mom… So I signed up and finally started training in March. The Hippie Chick Half was a blast. Another girlfriend (who hopes to run her 59th half on her 59th birthday this year) talked me into signing up for a triathlon. That will be August. In September she, I and our husbands will bicycle the Tour des Lacs together. In October my husband and I are planning on canoeing the Green River (Canyon Lands Utah) with friends.

  147. Alison permalink
    May 13, 2010 2:39 pm

    Nothing changes for summer around here. However, with the weather being nice a few family bike rides are in order (assuming my ten month old will stop crying everytime we put her helmet on!!).

  148. Stefanie Pitts permalink
    May 13, 2010 5:28 pm

    I am going to race and race and race and race…until my big winter butt is far behind me!

  149. May 13, 2010 6:29 pm

    $100 – wow! I’m going to be training for the Nike Women’s half this summer, wearing new Asics I hope : )

  150. May 13, 2010 9:44 pm

    ill be going to school, playing tennis, playing in the water, and enjoying the sun!! probably some lab research too!

  151. Amy permalink
    May 14, 2010 9:17 am

    Running a 1/2 Marathon Memorial Weekend. Hopefully running the Falmouth Road Race in August. Training (and learning to swim) for the Title 9 Tri (my first ever).

  152. susitravl permalink
    May 14, 2010 10:36 pm

    I’m going to Santa Fe!

    • Monique permalink
      May 16, 2010 10:00 pm

      After a year of rehab from a neck injury, I’ll be working back up to running a 5k, along with all of the normal wonderful family summer fun!

  153. Deby permalink
    May 17, 2010 9:07 am

    My husband and I are training for our first half marathon on june 6th. Wow! When I started running a few years ago, I said that a 5K was my marathon. Ha ha ha! Look at me now! We’re also planning on a road trip vacation to Glacier N.P. in August. And between then, we’re biking, running, geocaching, swimming, and enjoying the MN summer!

  154. May 17, 2010 1:01 pm

    Training for a 1/2 marathon. I injured my knee last year during training and never made any races, this year I’ve done one 5k and a 5k planned later this month. A 5 and 10K in June, then 1/2 in Oct. Not sure yet if I’ll be doing the Disneyland 1/2 in Sept. Depends how training goes πŸ™‚

  155. May 18, 2010 4:11 am

    2 things this summer…As a psychologist contracted with a school district I have summer break! I am going to take full advantage and run on my schedule and not around my work schedule. And also this summer, start training for my first marathon after 3 years of running 5Ks to half marathons πŸ™‚

  156. May 19, 2010 11:26 am

    My college-age sons aren’t coming home for summer (internship/summer school), so that leaves me plenty of time to get up early and go for a run – I want to increase my mileage so that by the end of the summer I can run 7 or 8 miles at one time.

Leave a Reply

