Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

May 13, 2010

Janice Smith, self-proclaimed Fitness Cheerleader, ran a 10K race in her undies to fundraise for cancer research.

I’m still not in love with Twitter, but I have met a few great moms on it, including the Fitness Cheerleader (@fitcheerldr), a.k.a. Janice Smith. This 34-year-old, pregnant mother of two little girls lives in Milton, Ontario, and offers inspiration, advice, and pep rallies, uh, I mean, pep talks to folks trying to lose weight and get fit.

Best recent run: In early April, I ran the 5K in the Harry’s Spring Run-Off to raise money for prostate cancer. It was an absolutely gorgeous day, my best friend was there to cheer me on (and watch my daughters for me), and I placed 7th in my age group! I was excited to have a finishing time of 25:26, especially since I was eight weeks pregnant at the time.

Favorite cheer: “Slide down a waterfall/Land on a cactus/We think your team needs more practice!/Go back, go back, go back to the woods/You haven’t got the rhythm and you haven’t got the goods/You haven’t got the jazz/You haven’t got the stuff that Fitness Cheerleader has!”

Most memorable runner coached: A mom with three kids who came out to every training session. She was bound and determined to not only learn to run, but to run a 10K. She trained so hard, she completed the 10K—and she beat me! It was so great to see how proud her family was at the finish line. It was then and there that I wanted to be the same kind of inspiration to my family. She also proved to me that you can be both a mother and a runner.

Sure-fire weight-loss tip: Eat seven to eight servings of fruits and veggies every day. You’ll eat healthier, run faster, consume fewer calories, and have less room for junk food.

Most indulgent splurge: My double jogging stroller that can be converted to a bike trailer. Definitely the most expensive piece of running gear that I’ve ever purchased. It was a complete sanity-saver during my second maternity leave as my husband spent half of that year in Ireland. Without that stroller, I wouldn’t have been able to run at all.

Fit it all in: shoe horn or crowbar? Crowbar. Nothing in my life can be empty, especially my purse and my gym bag. I swim laps before work and run during my lunch hour. After work, I pick up the kids, cook dinner, and then spend quality time with them by going to the park or pulling them in the bike trailer to the park. After the kids go to bed, I cuddle up with my laptop to stay connected.

Matchy-matchy or whatever’s clean: More like: whatever I can find! With my busy life, I could care less if I run with one black sock and one white sock. The biggest disappointment in my day is when I open my gym bag and find that I’m missing a critical piece of running gear (like shoes). I usually run in a running skirt, hair in braids, and a pink pair of sunglasses.

Follow this mother at: www.fitnesscheerleader.com and www.momontherun.net

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 11:12 am

    Sounds like a great runner to profile! Janice seems to have a lot on her path and is covering some amazing ground! Way to go Fitness Cheerleader!

  2. May 13, 2010 7:52 pm

    Wow! I wish I were so secure I could run in my underwear, or that I had pretty underwear to run in! 🙂 Fabulous blog, I’m glad you highlighted her because now I’m a reader of her blog. Yay!

  3. May 14, 2010 6:50 am

    Thanks for featuring me Sarah – you’re the best!

Leave a Reply

