Skip to content

Hump Day Giveaway: National Running Day!

June 2, 2010
by

An all inclusive, low-maintenance holiday: National Running Day. No pancakes in bed, no presents, no turkeys. Just run.

Today is a holiday I can heartily endorse: National Running Day.

In my mind, it’s better than Valentine’s Day (too much forced romanticism; restaurants use it as an excuse to jack up prices); Labor Day (really? we have to celebrate working?); and–dare I say it?–Mother’s Day (I’d rather feel a smidge of appreciation every day than one whole day; and again, prices for brunch–aka dry cinnamon rolls and overcooked eggs–skyrocket to $40/plate).

I meant to get a run in this morning (I’m happy to report I’m on a 9 minutes on/1 minute walk x 4 regimen, and I’m feeling a little bit better), but slacked since I’m at my mom’s house and the bed was too comfy. I will, however, do my best to get one in tonight, when I hit Duluth on the RLAM tour, or definitely tomorrow morning with RLAM’ers at Duluth Running Company. A holiday she’d never skip, Sarah will be running at Lululemon in Bethesda, MD tonight.

Sarah is worried about the heat and humidity in Annapolis, and here in MN, the air feels thick like a milkshake. We westerners like our air dry and cool. Nevertheless, summer is officially here. Which means sunscreen and copious sweating on every run, even the early morning ones. It always takes me a few runs to get used to heat: I feel so sluggish when I’m not starting a run with goosebumps.

So to start summer off easy, we’ll give you two questions for today’s humpday giveaway:

1. How are you celebrating today? (Or if you’re injured or otherwise unable to run, what’s your ideal celebration?)

or

2. How do you deal with the heat of the summer on runs?

(Feel free to answer either or both.)

The random winner will take home a $50+ spread of Scape Sunscreen, a 50+ SPF that won’t run in your eyes; stays on in the water; doesn’t make you smell like you spilled a pina colada on yourself (not that that’s a bad thing…just distracting on a run); is lightweight enough that it doesn’t give your triceps a workout rubbing it in; and brings your splits down by 30 seconds, on average. (O.k., made that last bit up.) But pro athletes love this stuff, and I’ve sampled it too, and I love it…especially the foam and the spray. I’m all about easy application these days.

So kick off your summer by telling us: You tying helium balloons to your sports bra for National Running Day? Or stuffing your bra with ice to stay cool in the heat? Let us know, and we’ll be sure to keep one of you sunburn-free for all your runs this summer.

83 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:37 am

    I am not sure I have any wisdom to share. I was out this weekend and at about 630 AM I was thinking – this running in the summer thing stinks! I am excited to see what other ladies have to offer. No run today for me, supposed to be a strength training day (but ended up an awake at 5 baby and 2nd coffee at the desk day)!

    Side comment … Dimity I am excited to see that you are doing the run/walk thing. I have always done that and I think people think I am a slacker. Right now I am only at about 6:1, but building back to my 10:1 or so. Have the Newport RI 1/2 in October in my sites. Will be my second 1/2 (first in 2007).

    • Jessica permalink
      June 2, 2010 7:37 am

      opps “sights” not “sites”

  2. Tricia permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:41 am

    Celebrating today with a slow and easy 4 or (maybe) 5 mile run…ran my first half ever this past weekend and still running on stumps of pain.

    Ideally, a celebration of running would be a long run…either on the boardwalks of my homestate NJ or the lovely rural trails I’ve found in my current state MN.

  3. Christina permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:43 am

    Happy National Running Day!

    I’m actually starting a training plan for my 3rd half marathon this week. The race is in August and I’m already getting super excited for it. Wheeeeeeeeee!

    As for running in the heat, that’s a tough one! I try to run early in the morning if I can. But if that’s not feasible, I usually end up on the ‘mill at the gym. It’s a good excuse to catch up on cheesy reality TV πŸ™‚

  4. Susan Riley permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:44 am

    I’m returning to running after 4 months of inactivity due to neck surgery, and am half-way through the C25K program. Today I did 30 minutes of elliptical and then 1/2 mile of running, although running wasn’t “scheduled” today. But how can you resist on National Running Day???

    To combat the heat & humidity here in suburban NY, I soak my feet in ice water before going out to run, and I make sure that I drink more electrolite fluids than usual. My biggest problem aside from the heavy-feeling legs is the more difficulty with breathing that usually happens in this hazy, hot, and humid weather. Sometimes I have to take a hit on the inhaler before going out for a run, but I try to avoid that so I won’t feel too jittery.

    Enjoy the gift, everyone!
    Susan

  5. Megan permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:45 am

    Heading to the gym to hit the treadmill. I would rather be outside, but on Wednesday I rely on the childcare at the gym to get my workout in. I also posted a link to National Running Day as my status update on Facebook, and encouraged all my friends to get out there and run!

  6. Anitra permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:47 am

    I celebrated by running a nice easy 6 miles this morningI watched the sun come up no head phones no watch. Just ran for the joy of it!!

    Well I live in Texas so by 5am it is already hot unfortunately I do not think there is any sure way to deal with this heat and humidity. I try and run through as many sprinklers as possible!!:) Oh and if you are on a long run freeze water bottles they may feel like carrying bricks the first mile but its nice to have something cold to drink or splash on your face.

  7. June 2, 2010 7:54 am

    Today I’m celebrating by working out with my personal trainer at lunch (I will run tomorrow). I got my orthotics yesterday and took them out for a test spin, doing week 1, day 1 of the couch to 5k program – my first run in 8 weeks and my plantar fasciitis stayed quiet. Yay! No more screaming at me! I hope my baby bump will cooperate and allow me to run for at least another 3-4 mos!

    How do I stay cool? I jump in my pool in my sports bra and underwear after a run – for that reason I only buy cheap sports bras, ’cause the chlorine ruins the good ones πŸ™‚

  8. Phebe permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:57 am

    First I felt a little badly that there is no way I can squeeze in some nice big group Running Day event here in Boston, but then I decided who needs crowds? I went on a nice 6 miler around the pond near our house as the sun came up. I have decided to embrace sweat ladies. Let it pour! I come home sweatily drenched, shower, get everyone off to school, get back into workout clothes (new ones, dry ones) and bike to work. It’s all about sweat! I love this new holiday! I think we should close up shop and all run with our friends!

  9. June 2, 2010 7:59 am

    I didn’t know it was National Running Day, but I’m happy to say I do have a run plannned for later this afternoon. My husband is out on his 18 miler right now. Wow, he knows how to celebrate!!
    The spring weather here has been very cool and a little rainy. This is both unlucky and lucky, as you guys know. It means we sometimes have to run in the rain, but it also means mid-afternoon runs are still an option.

  10. June 2, 2010 8:02 am

    I’m on the injured list, so I’m celebrating by drooling over my Runner’s World and blogs like this one. I’m also putting together an “active recovery” plan that includes water running, spinning and some core strength training.

    I haven’t tried them yet, but a friend swears by Frogg Toggs Chilly Pad. She cut a section about 5″X5″ that she tucks in her bra strap and says it keeps her cool all run long!

  11. pam permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:06 am

    I have been slack…I mean SLACK. This is the perfect holiday to get me running again. I brought my gear to work and I AM going to get moving today. It is after all a holiday. πŸ™‚

  12. June 2, 2010 8:08 am

    I just ran my first half on Monday, so I am still sore. I will be running only a very slow mile with my daughter today, but it will be tons of fun!

  13. June 2, 2010 8:10 am

    I’m hitting the road this morning for a run after preschool dropoff! We are supposed to be getting 1.2 inches of rain today here in the Portland area, so maybe I should put on some arm floaties or a life vest as well!

    To stay cool? Run early – nothing is better than a “dawn patrol” run with girlfriends early on a summer morning. Run on shady trails instead of hot pavement. Carry a hand-held water bottle to stay extra hydrated – Nathan makes a nice small 10-12 ounce bottle/hand held strap combo, which is a perfect size option for shorter runs. Wear a white hat or visor to reflect the heat. And – SUNSCREEN!!!

  14. Lyndsay S. permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:10 am

    I would much rather run in 10 degree weather than 80 degree weather. Very soon I’ll have to stop my lunchtime runs and instead run first thing in the morning. However, while it may be cooler the humidity is much higher. Sigh. I also pray for rain when I run!

    My plan is to celebrate National Running Day by running, then celebrate National Donut Day on friday by eating a donut. Keeping it simple.

  15. Julie Fredericks permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:10 am

    To escape the heat I just run early – really early in the morning – and when that doesn’t work, I have been known to put ice in my hat.

  16. June 2, 2010 8:22 am

    I had an easy 5 miler on the schedule for this morning, but the thunder and lightening foiled my plans, so now I get to try to smash it in later. boo. I hate running late in the day, but I hate NOT running worse! I need to get a treadmill so I can quit panicking about not getting my run in.

    As for summer heat, I run at 5 am. I hate running in the heat, but I think for me it’s more mental than physical. I need to figure it out. Give me 40 degrees over 80 any day!

    Say hi to Duluth for me! (I grew up there, and I miss it in the summer and fall so much)

  17. Judy permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:31 am

    I am a believer in “it’s what you do every day that matters”. I am celebrating National running day by running 5 miles in the morning before work, just like every other day. It gets my day started on the right foot and I would not have it any other way.

    To stay cool in the heat I always wear a hat and never run between 11 am and 3 pm. “It’s what you do every day that matters”.

  18. June 2, 2010 8:41 am

    I’m actually tapering this week because I have my first sprint tri of the season on Friday. πŸ™‚ So, to celebrate today I’ll be doing a nice, easy 30min. run.

    Happy running everyone! πŸ™‚

  19. SS runs permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:47 am

    Celebrating today by running with 2 miles with my girl and watching my son finish his first sprint triathlon (he didn’t even know he was going to be doing one today – swim team fun!).
    Unbelievable way to start our day and our summer. I’m so proud of both of them.

  20. Laura permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:50 am

    My running partner and I take turns going out before our runs and plant water bottles out on our running course. Instead of carrying water we hide it in bushes as we pass we stop for water breaks along the way. Then we go back afterwards to retrieve the bottles. The small poland spring bottles are perfect for a quick drink along the way.

  21. Alicyn permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:53 am

    I’m doing 6 or so miles with a friend along the ocean in Long Beach after I take my son to school. It’s my last week of long runs before I taper for the Seattle Rock ‘n’ Roll half marathon. Maybe I can convince the husband that I need a new running outfit in honor of the holiday!

  22. Bethany permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:58 am

    I can’t run today due to working and church, and the fact that the humidity and heat are pretty high today. Ideally though, I’d love to celebrate this day by running a half-marathon, BUT, I’m not to that level in my post-baby fitness.

    Speaking of Baby, since I have him now on the majority of my runs, it’s easier for me to beat the heat by running early, right after his first meal of the day. This usually falls around 7am by the time I’m out the door. Aside from that, I just make sure to drink my water before leaving and have plenty of ice cold water ready for when I get home. I also take a bottle of water with me when I run with the stroller. I take room-temp water, as I’ve heard that it’ll get to your body quicker than cold water. Not sure if it’s true or not, but I figure it can’t hurt. πŸ™‚

  23. Tryna permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:00 am

    Am sad because on National Running Day it is supposed to dump 2-5 inches of rain on us today. And, since 5/15 apparently there has only been one day of non-measurable rain. I think I actually see a web between my toes.

    So in honor of today, I am mentally committing myself to the Honolulu Marathon on 12/12! I’m from Honolulu, and used to live near the half way turn around, and have always wanted to do it. Here’s to sunshine…somewhere.

  24. June 2, 2010 9:01 am

    Well I am a bit stiff today and plan to do alot of strength training. I’ve been lagging on that and can feel it on my hard runs. I am training for my first 10k in July in Colorado Springs (ZOOMA). To celebrate though I may have to buy myself a cute new running thing. skirt, shorts, shoes…
    I just started the running outside thing about 4 months ago and have not tried any stay cool techniques. With the exception of running through my neighbors sprinklers with my dog on my last run. Not sure they appreciate it, but what they don’t know… So I am very interested in what everyone has to say about them.Especially considering the upcomign race in July of all months. I questioned my sanity after signing up for that one but the free shirt was actually cute…. πŸ™‚

  25. Melanie permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:08 am

    Happy National Running Day!
    Did an easy 5K on the treadmill at the gym this morning. That’s my only option as my husband is out of the house by 5:30am so I can’t run early before the heat and need someone to watch the kids.

    It is amazing how quickly I fall out of shape after not seriously training for a big race. I did my 3rd 1/2 marathon in March and have not been running any regular training since then. 5 miles seems long again. Can’t wait to get back into regular training this summer to get ready for the Marine Corp 1/2 in Jax in October! Gotta do the training on the treadmill for the summer. I am a major whimp in the heat!

  26. June 2, 2010 9:09 am

    I just went for a 3.8 mile run in Como Park. Down in the Twin Cities it’s 59, no humidity, overcast and breezy. Perfect for a run. In fact, I’d rather never run in the sun. Ever. Me and heat and sun and running, doth not a cozy group make.

    My knee went all wonky right at the end of the run today, though I can’t blame that on the weather. Just bad form.

  27. Andrea permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:09 am

    Ran a 6 mile very hilly course! I live in PA and it was already hot, hot, hot at 8:30am and very muggy. I usually run at 6am, but once in awhile I sleep in till 7, take the kiddos to school and then run. I find I like the early am runs much better. My body feels more alive and it is not near as hot. I love that it is now daylight at 6 and not so dark!! Get me pumped up!!!

  28. JnetRuns permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:13 am

    Oops, didn’t know it was National Running day until I read today’s post. But I did get a little (less than 3 miles) run in today! My achilles is acting up so I’m having to take it easy right now.

    Oh but the heat! And humidity! Last summer when we moved to FL I just took the entire summer off as I couldn’t deal with the constant heat, which wasn’t a real good idea as it took me forever to get my fitness back. So this year I’m in maintenance mode, shorter runs at earlier and earlier hours to try and beat the heat. I find carrying water, which I wouldn’t normally do for short runs, really seems to help in the heat and of course I can always pour it over my head to cool off. I did run through sprinklers a few times which was great until someone told me they use reclaimed water in my area. Ewwww.

  29. KarenM permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:24 am

    I’ve been sad to miss my Wed. evening running group this semester because my husband had class, so I always had kid duty. Well, no class tonight (yippee!), so I’ll get to run a hot, sweaty 8 miles with people I love to run with, but don’t get the chance to as often as I’d like. Which leads me to my method of dealing with the heat – attitude adjustment! I’m not going to feel comfortable no matter what I do, so I embrace the heat and humidity. Any run is a good run!

  30. Sarah B. permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:40 am

    I’ve wished my friends a Happy National Running Day and did a track workout this morning with a training partner. A great start to the day.

    To deal with summer heat, I run early or late. We have the cooler temps in the morning here in Austin, but you deal with a lot of humidity then too. Evenings are hot, but drier and sometimes breezy, so I just do what I can, when I can…like everyone else. I load up on lots of water before and after too. It’s great to see the track and trail crowded with other runners in the pre-dawn hours.

  31. June 2, 2010 9:57 am

    We are going to the zoo today and as soon as we get home I am out the door to run 3 miles (or maybe more!) Kayte at Long Legs on the Loose is holding Virtual Finish Chelseas run and I am participating by running the 3 miles as well as hanging ribbons along my favorite route to honor her and our right to get out there and run more importantly to not be afraid to do so.

  32. Joleen permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:57 am

    1. How are you celebrating today? (Or if you’re injured or otherwise unable to run, what’s your ideal celebration?)
    First, it was a soggy mess in Seattle this morning for my morning run. I cut it short at 3 miles as both the dog and I were dripping wet by 6:15am. I will have to finish up after work on the treadmill–it is peak mileage week for me in preparation for the Seattle R and R Marathon on June 26th so no cheating. It has been such a cold and wet spring so far it is getting a bit old to say the least. Sarah and Dimity are lucky to be away in warmer parts of the country.
    Second I will stop griping and say that I tried to “celebrate” today’s run by being thankful. I am thankful that I am blessed with the ability to run and race, it is a gift. I am a nurse and see sick people every day and am reminded that I am very fortunate to have a healthy, strong body.

    2. How do you deal with the heat of the summer on runs?
    I love the “headsweats” brand hats, tank running bras, summer play list on the IPOD, and/ or chatting with a friend. I always carry my hand held water bottle, not matter how short the run. Running close to the river or lake always leaves the option of jumping in on a whim. I love summer runs…can’t wait. =)

  33. June 2, 2010 10:00 am

    I have been working really hard over the winter and now after doing lots of P90X I want to be able to take my shirt off to run when I get hot. Sports bra of course stays on. I am a barefoot runner and only my feet are nude!
    The summer dilemma is do you take more off and get the sun or wear those UV sleeves. I say wear the sunscreen all over that way you can ditch the shirt when its just to hot!

    I also like some ice in my handheld to keep my nuun cool!

  34. Rene Whiteley permalink
    June 2, 2010 10:02 am

    I ran with a very special 3 year old this morning. We went 3 1/2 miles and chatted the entire time. yay for National Running Day.
    As far as staying cool, i like to run in the early am, before it gets to crazy hot:)

  35. June 2, 2010 10:12 am

    My friend, Kelly, and I walked (only ran to avoid the sprinklers) walked the kids to the library…to cool off (and read, of course). Then we walked back.
    I didn’t realize it was National Running Day – shame on me. Maybe I’ll head out later for a few miles πŸ™‚ PARTY ON!!

  36. Genevieve permalink
    June 2, 2010 10:23 am

    Ran for 45 minutes today at 5am (before any of my three children even thought about opening an eye). Didn’t realize that it was National Running Day, but I plan to celebrate with some new sneakers!

    The only way to beat the summer heat (and humidity) is to get out early in the morning. Nothing like being the only one on the road, hearing the birds chirping, neighbor’s A/C units purring and watching the sunrise all while burning some calories. Even better is getting home to a quiet and cool house before anyone is awake for an extra few minutes of alone time!

    Cheers!

  37. Terzah permalink
    June 2, 2010 10:26 am

    I ran a disappointing Bolder Boulder on Monday (yes, I actually cried in the massage line). And my plan for a cool and comfy high-plains recovery 4-miler was foiled this morning when my son woke up with a nightmare at 2:40 a.m. and I (not he) just couldn’t sleep again until 5:20 a.m., the time I was supposed to be waking up.

    So I will be spending National Running Day regrouping and planning my training for my next goal–a half-marathon in September. Can I go under 2 hours? Each setback is an opportunity to improve–one step back, two steps forward.

  38. Csaf permalink
    June 2, 2010 10:50 am

    Happy National Running Day! Woot-woot! πŸ™‚

    Sadly, I chose to sleep in this morning instead of getting up for a 5:15 am run. *sigh* But in light of today’s holiday, I’m excited for tomorrow’s run already! It’s just the kind of motivation I’ve been hankering for.

    As for staying cool, around the DC area you have to get up pre-dawn to beat the heat, although the humidity is way higher pre-dawn than it is later in the day. What a trade-off, huh? Heat or humidity?!? Good thing I love to sweat. My fix for staying cool post-run is sticking my head in the freezer for a few minutes (“Mommy, what are you doing in there? Can you hand me the frozen waffles, please?”), and then taking a nice cool shower. Unfortunately, my face stays red for hours post-run, but I take that as a badge of honor for getting my lazy bones up so early. πŸ™‚

  39. June 2, 2010 11:51 am

    I kicked off my morning with a 4 miler (that was all I had time for after waking late) and then tonight I am going to meet SBS!!!! talk about a awesome holiday this is better than Christmas!

    and the heat…ugghhh I think I will start running directly to the pool to swim!!

  40. June 2, 2010 11:58 am

    I am running with Sarah in Bethesda tonight to celebrate! I have been looking forward to it all week!
    As for the heat, other than trying to run early, I have earth shattering wisdom. Sometimes I run two shorter runs one early and one late in the day if it is too hot to go long, other times I hit the treadmill. I do try to go to a nearby trail that is shaded especially when it is hot, to try to be protected ever so slightly from the heat.

    πŸ™‚

  41. Caroline permalink
    June 2, 2010 12:43 pm

    1. I got up and went running…not long but I still went.

    2. I live in Sounthern California so the heat is already here…no humidity but season allergies are pretty bad this year so the only option for me now is to run at the gym…and have the kids at the kids gym since school is out 😦 and they are with me ALL the time now!!!
    Gym is better then nothing at all…!

  42. Christina permalink
    June 2, 2010 12:54 pm

    I celebrated by running an easy 2 miles and downloading new songs- my favorite time-waster. I actually love the heat on runs- I hate running in the cold. It’s pretty humid here in Wisconsin… I have been doing any 2-3 mile runs before my husband leaves for work at 6am.

  43. Stephanie permalink
    June 2, 2010 1:29 pm

    I keep cool by running through the sprinklers people have set out (just the ones the extend onto the sidewalk – I don’t run on people’s lawns).

  44. Lisa Zieger permalink
    June 2, 2010 1:34 pm

    Someone please tell me that my body will build up some tolerance to this heat! I had been so excited, increasing my distance and upping my speeds, beating my records all the time — then the hot weather settled in and I find I can barely make my milage and I feel like I’m running through water 😦

    Am getting afraid I’m not going to meet what I thought were reasonable goals for Zooma Annapolis this weekend.

  45. June 2, 2010 1:41 pm

    It’s 2:40 & no running! Just got home from girls’ closing of their school plus two parties…hence, no run for me…BUT…I’m thinking a nice long Aqua Jogger workout will at least keep my body happy and Lord knows, my mind follows…plus, it might just be possible to get a run in this evening…with my girls in tow, of course, on their bikes, if part of our household has baseball…I’ll keep you posted…get it??? POSTED??? I crack myself up…no, not really. HAPPY RUNNING DAY!!!!

  46. Kate permalink
    June 2, 2010 2:10 pm

    I am going to run with Sarah tonight in Bethesda. Sorry we couldn’t arrange better weather for you!

  47. June 2, 2010 2:24 pm

    Celebration through wallowing for me. I’ve been sick w/ a mysterious fever for a week and there’s no end in sight. (Blood work tomorrow… infection maybe?) IDEALLY, however, I would do what I always do on a Wednesday: a 7 or 8 mile run at about 4:45AM.

    That’s also my answer to beating the heat. Get out there before the sun does. I know it’s not pretty sometimes, but it gets the job done. And of course, hydrate, hydrate, hydrate.

  48. June 2, 2010 2:25 pm

    I am most definitely going for an evening run along the lake up here in Burlington, VT. It’s beautiful! I wear sunglasses to beat the bugs (and the heat).

    I used to live in North Carolina (in the hot hot Sandhills region) and to beat summer heat I simply had to suck it up and change my attitude about running in the heat (I hate it). I sometimes soaked my sports bra in water before running to keep cool. I also ran with a water bottle and knew the location of water fountains on my route. I find 70+ degrees to be a bit warm for running, so I think I’ll still be running with a water bottle this summer. I have yet to need a soaked sports bra, however.

  49. dawn permalink
    June 2, 2010 2:33 pm

    1. i ran 3 miles today – tapering for a half on sunday. hooray for a semi-cool morning!

    2. i get up earlier than normal and try to go before 9am – i hate mornings.

  50. Lisa permalink
    June 2, 2010 2:43 pm

    I celebrated today like all those professional runners out there and did a tempo run and some speedwork. My tempo run was 37 minutes of lightly jog/walking while pushing my 4 year old up hills on his bike and then sprinting after him on the down hills, shouting at him to stop to look for cars. On the flats I just tried to keep up with him. The “speed” work consisted of 12 times around the bases at our local park where we stopped on the way home. So that would be 12 x 360s? I probably rested a little longer in between than I should have, but my son got his turns too and sometimes he only let me hit ‘doubles’ so I had to stop at second base when it was his turn.

    How do I beat the heat in the summer? I try to run in the morning, as early as I can. We have a great trail that is mostly shaded that I use a lot. And I LOVE the early morning lawn sprinklers – they are lifesavers!

  51. June 2, 2010 2:47 pm

    to deal with the heat, i run at night (in a group.) at night it is still hot, and there are mosquitoes. but the group is jolly and it feels kind of pranky & bad ass to be out running in the dark. we challenge each other to pop into unsuspecting townsperson’s outdoor showers/swimming pools.

    it’s a slog. i run much less in summer than any other season. hot!

  52. June 2, 2010 2:58 pm

    Heat running can be a bear, wearing a wicking shirt with a sports bra built in reduces the amount of clothing I have to wear, and I try to wear a hat when I can. I’m always torn-does it trap the heat in or shade my face enough to cool me… πŸ™‚ Love the site. πŸ™‚

  53. June 2, 2010 3:24 pm

    I am sure the only way I am going to be able to get through the 100+ degree heat the summer holds for me here is to switch to early morning runs or utilize the treadmills at the gym. Drinking tons of water is also going to be essential. I celebrated today with a 3.2 mile run. πŸ™‚

  54. Kaylyn permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:35 pm

    Happy National Running Day! πŸ™‚
    I celebrated this morning by going for a quick 4 mile run with my son through the park. Which leads right into how I keep cool while running during these summer months. I use to get up pretty early for those cool temperatures but it’s getting to be that time of year here in Georgia when no matter how early you get up– the heat is with you! Finding somewhere to run with plentiful shade is always a plus in the heat! I also like to plan my run to strategically end at the pool! πŸ™‚ A quick off with the socks & shoes and I jump right into the pool! (That’s my favorite way to deal with the heat!) …and if all else fails and the heat gets the best of me, I turn to the good ‘ol Mill!

  55. Judith H. permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:56 pm

    Today had to be celebrated with me relaxing due the the heat. With my MS I have to choose my running days wisely.

    I am still a beginner and I have not really had to much expercience of running in the summer.

  56. Abby permalink
    June 2, 2010 4:01 pm

    Celebrated today with a 4 mile run over my lunch hour! My only tip for running in the heat is to start carrying ice water, I know that sounds obvious, but I noramlly skip bringing water along if my runs are under an hour. When it starts to heat up bringing water on every runs helps keep me going even on shorter run days.

  57. Cristina permalink
    June 2, 2010 4:08 pm

    I’ve spent National Running Day realizing that it might be my new running shoes that are making my feet hurt after even a short run. At least I’m hoping that’s the case and not some injury….. So I’ll just say that I beat the heat by running EARLY–earlier than I ever thought I’d wake up to run. Happy Day Everyone!

  58. June 2, 2010 4:12 pm

    I’ll be celebrating in BC – I’m pretty sure that even though it’s National (meaning US) Running Day no one will mind it being a bit cross-border – by running a 10km tempo run with my husband and 3 year old. We were scheduled to start speed work, but, as neither of us really need it at this point, we don’t want to get injured… Hopefully the rain will hold off as it’s been pouring all week!

    As for beating the heat there’s nothing special about what I do… run in the evening and carry my Nathan Intesity race vest. I’m lucky though to live somewhere that considers anything over 20C (68F) “hot” πŸ™‚

  59. Lindsey permalink
    June 2, 2010 4:58 pm

    I got up early to get in a couple of miles before work to celebrate National Running Day. I’m also 20 weeks pregnant with my 2nd and thought about sharing the miles with someone even though I was running “alone” today.

    As for staying cool during the hot OK summers, I love packing a wet washcloth in a baggie with ice for breaks or the end of the run. It’s the best treat for staying cool and refreshed!!

  60. June 2, 2010 5:28 pm

    Today I ran 3 miles with my Little Man in the BOB. It wasn’t so much a celebration of Nat’l Running day as it was a Wednesday. And I try to run on Wednesdays. Running in the heat? I usually try to run first thing in the a.m. I live by the shore, so even in the hottest of hot days, you can usually do alright here if you get out befor 8 or 9 a.m. Don’t know how great that plan will work now that there is an 7 1/2 month old calling the shots. We’ll see!!

  61. Emeliee permalink
    June 2, 2010 5:31 pm

    I celebrated today by getting in a 5 mile loop with my favorite running partner, Chelle (who just rocked the Ogden Marathon w/ her first BQ!). Then I spent the next 9.5 hours hosting a “Fun Run” at our elementary school. Each grade got to come out, listen to some rocking music and run 3 laps around our school field (a full mile!), then got a participation prize and treat. We had some 3rd and 6th graders finish the mile at a 6:04 and 6:15 pace! It was amazing to promote physical activity and our love for running with our kids. Literally brought tears to my eyes. Not to mention my excitement and pride when my little angel took 3rd place out of all the 3rd grade girls! Perfect way to celebrate what I agree is one of the best “holidays” of the year!

  62. June 2, 2010 6:06 pm

    Summer training is the only time in my life I ever see 4:30 in the morning. Gotta do what ya gotta do!

  63. Sarah permalink
    June 2, 2010 6:54 pm

    I went for a short run this evening, but the real celebration today is for my sister-in-law. She just finished the second day of the couch to 5K and I am unbelievably proud of her, because though she was already sore and it was hard, she got out there and did it. I am excited to finally have someone to run with on family vacations. πŸ™‚

    As for beating the heat, that’s hard to do here in south GA in the summer time. I try to get up early and go before the sun is high. But the best, the BEST was running at dusk on the beach the other night with a storm blowing in. It was windy, definitely not too hot, and AWESOME.

  64. June 2, 2010 7:27 pm

    1. How are you celebrating today? (Or if you’re injured or otherwise unable to run, what’s your ideal celebration?)
    still recovering from that hip stress fracture and groin pull so no running for me. i confess i did sulk a little for about 10 minutes. then i hit the gym and did a 30 minute spin followed by a 1200 meter swim. i figured that as long as i moved and di doctor approved activities i was celebrating. it felt good. still, i can’t wait to run.

    2. How do you deal with the heat of the summer on runs?
    it gets hot here in my neck of the woods, we’re talking 100+ temps throughout the summer with it “cooling” down to the 80s. unless i am running in an event, i take it indoors because the good sweat that comes with a great run coupled with oven-like temps and these horrific hot flashes of mine of late just do not go well together at all. i run on the tread or take the time to check out lots of different cardio machines. this summer now that i am swimming under doctor’s orders i will likely be swimming. it’s indoors at the gym because i dont have a pool but i definitely will add laps to my summer routine this season.

  65. June 2, 2010 7:33 pm

    Today was a rest day for me…but I celebrated early with my second 5k on Monday (PR’d by 1 minute…woot woot) and I’ll celebrate tomorrow with a run with a dear friend…I can’t wait to catch up with her and torch some cals too!

  66. Erin permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:43 pm

    I celebrated by completing my 1st “3+mile run” since my knee injury in February. My knee pain tonight is tolerable and man-o-man did I forget how good it felt MENTALLY. Since my injury I’ve remained active with the elliptial, stair master & weight training, but NOTHING compares to a good long run. So glad to be back! P.S. I’m most deserving of the sunscreen pack as I am a redheaded freckle face and spend a small fortune on sunsreen. πŸ™‚

  67. June 2, 2010 7:58 pm

    I like the humidity and love the sweat. I feel so cleansed after a nice run. I’m just getting back into running after having my 2nd kid. Not so easy when my hubby is an addicted cyclist.

  68. June 2, 2010 8:13 pm

    I ran 10 miles I was working on 20 10 mile runs in 30 days missed my 30 day window over the holiday weekend when I could only squeeze in 2 miles one day but my 30 days of running is still going strong at day 22! I have a 21 k Xterra xduro in June and I insanely have another trail ultra in July. I wonder what I was thinking…ice packs in the sports bras sound like a GREAT idea!

    Today was the last day of school for my middle one so tomorrow starts the wonderful summer early longish (6+miles) runs! Yeah!

  69. Kristin permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:35 pm

    I wanted so badly to run today in celebration…but it’s also my wedding anniversary so my day was filled with family festivities–not a bad trade! But, my alarm is set for an early morning run. ~K

  70. Priscilla permalink
    June 3, 2010 4:29 am

    Celebrating – Just a nice and easy 30 min run after the little one went to bed. (Which is also a summer time running tip – go in the evening, it is light out late, but the sun isn’t just beating down on you. However, it is often still quite warm, at least in Oklahoma, but it eases you into the summer time heat.)

  71. Jennifer permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:07 am

    I celebrated by running on my treadmill at home (and by posting a “Happy Running Day” message on my Facebook page). I live in the coastal South, and I handle the summer heat by mainly running inside on the treadmill (sometimes that’s a choice more due to afternoon/evening thunderstorms than the heat) or slowing down my outdoor runs. I also carry water with me when it’s hot and have some Gatorade in the car for afterwards.

  72. Alison permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:34 am

    To deal with the heat I run early!!

  73. June 3, 2010 10:32 am

    I spent the day recovering from a TON of cross training over the holiday weekend! I love long weekends, because that normally means I get in longer and more workouts than normal. My Memorial Day morning was spent at Golds Gym for 1hr 30min doing an intense Body Combat/Body Attack class…it was awesome! Still feeling the effects today!

  74. Lelia permalink
    June 3, 2010 11:48 am

    After doing a hysterectomy in December, running has been difficult. But today I ran 4.5 miles and felt as if my groove was back. Ran 10 minute miles, best in 8 months and felt great at the end – my coach was panting like crazy. Keep in mind that it was 92 degrees and 100 percent humidity in Florida. I feel great.

  75. June 3, 2010 5:47 pm

    I celebrated National Running Day by hosting a giveaway on my blog AND by getting out for a run. It was great, and super fun to celebrate with so many people who love running!

  76. June 3, 2010 6:03 pm

    I celebrated by going for a one mile run yesterday – not much, I know, but the day before I ran four miles (in a row! without stopping!!) and didn’t have a lot of gas left in the tank. Loved that I saw a lot of people out running – I think word got out!

  77. Sarah C permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:51 pm

    Just keeping the back of my neck cool keeps the rest of me so much cooler actually.
    I hadn’t heard of this sunscreen but it sounds awesome!

  78. Deby Mullen permalink
    June 3, 2010 10:44 pm

    To celebrate National Running Day, I put in my last training run before my very first half marathon on Sunday. I ran 3 miles with a neighbor so we celebrated the holiday together!

  79. Kathy permalink
    June 4, 2010 7:25 am

    I celebrated my rest day by taking a 3 km walk with my four kids (all girls, under 5 years old!) it took an hour, but we looked at birds, ants, worms, and a work crew cutting down a mature tree.

    I deal with heat by trying to run in the early mornings (about 5:30 or 6 am) when I can, running just before dark, after the kids are in bed, or, if all else fails, running on my treadmill in my basement. I don’t do well with heat and humidity, and southern ontario is really heavy on both in summer. My goal right now is to keep running all summer, even if I have to run less.

  80. June 5, 2010 5:22 pm

    I celebrated by skipping BLOGGING (sitting on my butt in fron to of the computer) on national running day and just….running. πŸ™‚ It was lovely.

  81. June 5, 2010 5:23 pm

    and I keep cool by wearing a hat and always carrying water

Trackbacks

  1. Thoughts While Running « I'm Thinking Too Hard!

Leave a Reply

