Skip to content

Nuun Cocktails, Homemade Gummies and Other Running Appetizers

June 18, 2010
by

Grilled, chocolate-stuffed bananas: in an ideal world, the perfect pre-run fuel.

You love bananas. RLAM’ers alone could keep Chiquita in business, I think. You also love oatmeal, toast, Clif Bars, yogurt, cereal, chocolate milk and, of course, coffee, the renowned colonic cleanser.

Then there are the exceptions:

Heidi’s morning menu:  coffee with sugarfree coffeemate and 2 Rolaids to calm the stomach.

Barefoot Angie eats, “lots of bananas and chia seeds and drink Kombucha for the probiotics during the day. A couple of servings of Sunbutter really hit the spot with the protein, minerals and EFAs too.” Kudos to you, Angie for being way healthier–and more nutritionally educated–than I’ll ever be, I think I’ll die never knowing what an EFA is.

Summer or winter, Carrie has water and a popsicle, post-run. “Yes, even after a 5am run, a popsicle cools me off and gives me a little sugar boost before dashing to the shower.”

Amy:  “I wish I could say that I ate healthy pre- and post-run, but to be honest my best runs have come when I fueled up on Dominos Pizza right before a run.” We should all be so lucky, Amy.

Post-run, Lynn eats eggs with fresh gouda. She lives in Holland. Eat plenty of gouda for us, Lynn.

Tina’s pre-long run fuel is usually a sweet potato. “Many times I just cut them in pieces and toss it in the oven with some cinnamon, then pop ’em like candy in the morning.”

Amber, a vegetarian, eats, especially after a long sunny run, “anything I can get my hands on, especially bacon.”

Post-run, Jamie downs a Diet Mountain Dew. “I love it and it hits the spot. My 2 yr old always goes to the minifridge while I’m on the treadmill and without being prodded, he puts one next to the treadmill, so that it’s waiting for me when I’m done. How cute is that?! I then also find his toys in the fridge hours later.” Very cute, Jamie. Can you come train my kids?

You also supplied some great recipes. Alice, if you’re willing to share, your running cookie recipe will be welcomed by many. (That is, if it’s not secret, like that Nordstrom chocolate chip cookie recipe that gets spammed out every couple years or so.) You can either post it in the comments or e-mail to us at runmother at gmail dot com.

Protein Blast (Pre-Run)
2 scoops of NanoPro whey protein powder
about 1/4 cup So Delicious French Vanilla coconut milk creamer.

Leave in the fridge for about 20 mins, and then it turns into this marshmallow fluff concoction, which is actually good for you. 24 grams of protein, and gooey yumminess. It digests very easily.

Molly’s Homemade Gummies (Pre- or during-run)
2 packets Knox unflavored gelatin
5 TBSP Gatorade or similar sports drink powder
1/4 to 1/3 cup hot water

Mix and let it sit for about 10 minutes; then heat it on the stovetop until it is melted but not boiling (stir frequently!); pour into silicone cupcake pan (minis or regular). Let them sit for about an hour. Pop them out and store in a dry container. Toss with a pinch of cornstarch if they seem sticky. They end up being about 40-50 cals and have some sodium and potassium in them. I eat 2-3 before a run and also eat them on rides. Love them gummies!

Nuun Cocktail* (Post-run)
1 finger of vodka
fill cocktail glass with ice
1 full Nuun tab (tri-berry is good)
8 oz. +/- water
*Dehydrates and hydrates simultaneously.

Pumpkin Muffins (All day, all year long)
3.5 cups flour (I use half white whole wheat and half regular)
1.5 cups granulated sugar (I cut this in half from original recipe)
2 tsp baking soda
1.5 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp ground cloves
4 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil (I use 1/2 cup canola oil, 1/2 cup applesauce)
2/3 cup water
2 cups canned, plain pumpkin
1.5 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (mini work best)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all dry ingredients (flour-cloves) in large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, slightly beat eggs with fork or wire whisk. Add remaining wet ingredients (oil-pumpkin) and stir well. Gradually add wet to dry, and stir just until evenly mixed. Fold in chocolate chips (or, as a healthier reader suggested, candied ginger pieces). Coat muffin tin with baking spray, and fill tins with about 1/4 cup batter. Bake for 20-22 minutes.

Holy cow, Way long entry. Sorry. The winner of the sweet, stylish New Balance kit–sports bra, shorts and shoes–is Amanda, who, like many of you, likes peanut butter on her toast, and raisins in her yogurt. Also, like many of you, she has too much experience with stomachs gone wild. I’ll let her tell you:

“I always eat 1 piece of whole wheat toast with peanut butter, honey and cinnamon. 1 serving of Spark for a little energy boost. (Amanda: not sure I have the right link to Spark…please correct me if I–ha ha–have the wrong plug.) I do have stomach issues, but I have got it timed out:  I eat the toast, drink the spark and hit the bathroom when I walk in the gym door, and my stomach is happy to run the day away. Post run is an apple w/ dash of peanut butter or yogurt with raisins and a lot of agua.”

I have to be really careful when using energy gels.  They tend to come out just as they went it. Eating half of a pack or so at a time seems to help. During my first 1/2 marathon, which was on back country roads while it was snowing, I had run off course to “visit” the grain bins. I learned to not eat the gel so fast. Despite the detour I still beat the lady I had been running with!”

Thanks for all your great thoughts on running nutrition. This weekend, be sure to down your banana, Diet Mountain Dew; Domino’s;  Siggi’s vanilla Skyr (an Icelandic yogurt–even thicker and richer than Greek!) mixed with 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (a recommendation from Terzah: on it!); EFAs;  peanut butter; or whatever gets you fueled up.

And then, of course, go for a run.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 6:05 am

    I can’t believe I neglected your blog for so long! I finally went through and read all of the older posts that I have missed. I am also still knee-deep in RLAM, the book! Thank you for all of the very, very useful info! I can’t wait to follow the marathon training, I am right there with you…

  2. Tryna permalink
    June 18, 2010 8:46 am

    Great information, will keep this with all the recipes. And I love that you have international followers who are runners. Kind of cool to think someone in Holland is also going out for their mid-week run. Thanks for the awesome blogs.

  3. Janice permalink
    June 18, 2010 3:25 pm

    What do other runners do to deal with bladder issues? I have had four children, including one forceps delivery, and my doc is recommending surgery. Do I really need to go to this extreme? I’m kind of at a loss.

  4. Bethany permalink
    June 18, 2010 3:59 pm

    I can’t wait to try some of these! But where’s the recipe for the grilled chocolate stuffed bananas?? Haha… Those look delicious! 😉

  5. June 18, 2010 6:19 pm

    I couldn’t take my eyes off those bananas!!!! Are you KIDDING me???? How come I never thought of that ????? I have been missing out. Dang. That’s okay. I know now. I LOVED reading everyone’s preferences & avoidances…homemade gummies??? There are some very clever mommas out there. I ran so early this morning, I feel like I didn’t run…I feel a pool workout is in my extremely near future…peace, yo.

  6. Rhonda permalink
    June 18, 2010 7:16 pm

    Post run: Nutella and whole wheat toast. Yum!!!! Then I eat my lunch.

  7. Dillon permalink
    June 30, 2010 9:24 am

    Thanks for the pumpkin muffin recipe. They’ve been on my mind since reading “foods that go the distance” in RLAM. I’m going to make a half ginger/half chocolate chip batch for my post (first-ever!) 7 mile run breakfast on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

