Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

July 1, 2010

Giving Chase: Kristen before her recent 5K, 6-months pregnant

Kristen Chase, 34, is co-publisher of TheShredheads.com, the home base of devotees to Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred DVD. Six-months pregnant with baby #4, Kristen lives in Atlanta.

 

Best recent run: A 5K I did a few weeks ago in around 33 minutes, which for me, at 6 months pregnant, was great. My practice outdoor runs had been much slower and plagued with potty breaks. I’ve also noticed that when I run in the mornings, I’m completely spent by 3 p.m., which isn’t ideal when I’m chasing around three kids and trying to work from home. But I do love the feeling of pounding the pavement, treadmill, or track, even with the extra weight in front of me.

Taking it off: I’m definitely one to gain a lot of weight during pregnancy, averaging around 60 pounds per kiddo. Fortunately, with breastfeeding and just chasing after the kids, I was able to drop the weight pretty easily with my first two kids. However, when #3 came along last year, I found myself only down 15 pounds (of the 55 lbs I gained) after five months. I was pretty depressed, not just in general terms, but also at the prospect of having to squeeze myself into a bridesmaid’s dress for my sister-in-law’s wedding. So…

…Better Shred than dead: I had seen 30 Day Shred results at BodiesinMotivation.com: The Before and After photos, combined with the fact the program only takes 20 minutes a day, convinced me I could put it into action. And so, for the entire month of March, I did my daily 30 Day Shred workouts and documented them at The Shredheads. Combined with simple dietary changes (only water and no eating after 8 p.m., as well as watching my sugar intake), I lost 12 pounds that month. I continued on for April doing a combination of yoga and cardio DVDs and lost another 8 lbs. Then I decided to start running, and I did my first 5K in June 2009. Since then, I’ve run five 5Ks, two 10Ks, and two half-marathons.

Baby on board: This is the first pregnancy I’ve ever considered running, and so far, it’s been great. I bought a bigger sports bra, some lower-cut pants, and invested in BodyGlide–something I never had to use before, but ouch! chafed thighs hurt! I’ve had to understand that for the next 9 + months, I won’t be working on time, speed, or stamina, which has been difficult I like the competitive aspect of running. Right before I got pregnant, I had dropped from 11-minute miles to 9-minute ones, and I was hoping to do a sub-2-hour half-marathon. But seeing as I was nine-weeks pregnant when I ran the Disney Princess Half in March, I was happy with the 2:14, which included two potty breaks.

Pee is for Potty Breaks: I used to brag about my awesome bladder of steel–before getting pregnant this time, I’d never had to do a pee stop during a run or race. But now that I have a baby on board, I can’t even do a 5k without having to stop. (We won’t talk about emergency poop stops, right? Because I’ve had some of those. Thankfully, they were trail runs.)

Follow this mother at: http://www.theshredheads.com/

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 11:57 am

    Kristen and the awesome Shredheads is why I am running. So glad to see you featured here sexy mama!

  2. July 3, 2010 3:11 pm

    I love this post! I’m very excited about training to the point that I’ll be able to run through my next pregnancy. I was ‘active’ during my last two pregnancies, but not to the point that I was super fit, or able to do much beyond pilates and the occasional step class. Thanks for the motivation and inspiration!

  3. Kristen Macke permalink
    July 6, 2010 3:26 pm

    I just stumbled across this blog today, but was so excited to read about Kristen. I just ran a 5K on July 4th (5 months preggo). Everyone told me I was crazy, and looked at me like I was nuts, but I felt great afterwards!

  4. August 18, 2010 4:00 pm

    I can totally relate to this blog! So many mothers have these things in common.

Leave a Reply

