Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

July 22, 2010

Goal-oriented gal: Staci with her family after her first race, a half-marathon last fall

Among the countless reasons to run, weight control or the desire to lose some L-Bs is one of the top ones for many of us. Staci Dombroski, 31, a mother of two in Greenville, S.C., was chronicling her weight-loss journey when she discovered our favorite sport.

Best recent run: Running on the beach in Playa del Carmen on vacation before everyone was awake. [Need she say more?]

Partner swap: I am running with a new partner because I was recently injured and needed to take it easier. There was a girl in my neighborhood who wanted to get back into shape after her baby so we decided to run together. It has been wonderful because I am building back my strength while motivating and coaching her.

Good morning: Running in the morning has been the best thing for me. There will be no excuses later on about missed appointments, sick kids, or general life getting in the way for me. I get up around 5:30 while the husband and kids are still sleeping. It gives me such energy during the day that I can’t explain it. It makes me a better person when I run in the morning.

Mix master: I started to do the run/walking while in my recovery mode from my recent calf injury. My doctor told me I needed to take it easy going back into running. I would start out with running for 2 minutes and walking for 4 minutes. I started to gradually increase my times to running for 4 minutes and walking 2 minutes. After about two months of playing with my times and making sure my calf was healed, I ran my first mile and have not stopped since!

Feeling racy: I am training for the Spinx Half Marathon in October. That was my first half marathon I did last year and I want to set a PR. I am following the FURMAN First training plan because it is a time-saver. I’m also incorporating P90X into my training because I feel how much it strengthens me and helps me with me speed.

Favorite running bling: My favorite running accessory is my friend’s Garmin. I have not been able to purchase one yet, but I love when she lets me use it! I have a hard time with pacing myself, and it’s the perfect reminder to slow down or speed up.

Follow this mother at: http://dombroskiweightloss.blogspot.com/

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 10:45 am

    My first race (besides virtual ones) will be my half-marathon too. 🙂

  2. July 22, 2010 10:46 am

    Thanks for picking me!!! It was great talking to you 🙂

  3. July 22, 2010 10:49 am

    Another inspiring running mother! Getting up in the early morning, racing on vacations; Staci knows how to live an active lifestyle. Way to go girl!

  4. July 22, 2010 12:48 pm

    love her blog….great gal!

  5. July 22, 2010 1:01 pm

    Just discovered your blog-love it. I just started my own running blog, more for a motivation for myself. I am in the recovery process from a back injury. Taking baby steps back. I love running and ma looking forward to getting back into the groove. Many blessings.

  6. July 22, 2010 5:10 pm

    Yay Staci! Enjoy the FIRST plan!

Leave a Reply

