Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

July 29, 2010

Tricia and her hunky training partner (a.k.a. her hubby) after their first half-marathon.

Tricia and the other (little) man in her life: running with her son

We came across the blog of Tricia Minnick, a 27-year-old mom of one son in Florida, when we were amping up promotion of Run Like a Mother. We were hella-impressed by her 128-pound weight loss and her devotion to running—she’s now training for her first marathon.

Best recent run: Earlier this year, I spent about 12 weeks not being able to exercise because of a stress fracture in my ankle and some nerve issues in my foot. At the end of the three months, I was itching to run, but also worried about having lost my endurance or, worse yet, my love of running. My first run was short and slow, yet awesome. But then the next three runs were terrible: I couldn’t find my stride and I kept thinking of quitting. I knew I needed to reconnect with my love of running and I needed to do it fast before I became discouraged and gave up. So my husband and I headed out for some challenging “bridge” repeats (we don’t have hills so we do repeats on an intracoastal waterway bridge). Before the run, when I looked up at the bridge looming above me, I realized it wasn’t just a bridge I was facing down, but also my own demons. I was preparing to go head to head with self doub,t and I planned to come out on top. I tucked my head, shortened my steps, and pumped my arms as I charged up that incline. With each step, I chipped away that self-doubt. Every time I pushed off, I could feel myself gaining confidence. I reached the top and was rewarded not only by ocean views but the realization that the best part was still ahead of me—the downhill. I was free, and I was once again in love with running.

For better or worse: When I first took up running. my husband agreed to help me train for my first 5K. He is in the Army, so running wasn’t new to him. He said he enjoyed a few miles, but wasn’t interested in long distances. Well, before I even crossed the finish line of that 5K I was already planning on a 10K. My husband was surprised, but again agreed to help me get to that distance. Of course we all know where it goes from there. The miles kept adding on and before I knew it I had a new goal: a full marathon. Originally he agreed to be my support crew, but as I devised a training plan and picked out a race, his excitement grew. He caught the marathon bug too and he hasn’t looked back. Training together and sharing a passion for running has been amazing for our relationship. Running is something we can connect over. We are in this as a team.

A fraction of former self: I still consider myself a newbie runner. In January 2009, I was a morbidly obese mom who was letting life pass her by. I was 278 pounds and quickly losing control of my life. I had a toddler son that I could barely keep up with. My blood pressure was skyrocketing and my self esteem was plummeting. Somehow I found the courage to change. I made a commitment to myself to work out and eat right for 21 days straight, hoping to form new healthy habits. Well, those habits stuck and I became even more focused and interested in how to be healthy. I lost the first 100 pounds in just under nine months. An additional 28-pound weight loss soon followed bringing me down to 150 pounds at 5′ 8″.

Skirting the issue: I am a RunningSkirts.com addict. There is something empowering about feeling fun and flirty while kicking butt. For better or worse, when I feel like I look good, I am more likely to get out there and run. And aside from the skirts being “cute,” they are incredibly comfortable and functional. My favorite is the running version which has the bloomers [“spankies” in cheerleader lingo] built in as opposed to the compression shorts of the athletic version. Right now my favorite color/print is their Run Love Fleurs print. So fun and perfect for this time of year!

Night-night: About 90% of the runs my husband and I do start after 9 p.m.—and we take our son with us in a jogging stroller. We typically go to bed at 11:30 p.m. While that’s late for most 2 year olds, it means he sleeps in late. It isn’t unusual for us to be in bed at 10 a.m. He gets plenty of sleep, just on our own schedule. Night running works out well since it is incredibly hot and humid in Florida. It gives us a break from the heat. Of course, there are some nights where I think, “It’s 9 p.m., most people are getting ready for bed and I’m facing a 6-mile run.” But I’m sure morning runners face the temptation to hit snooze and turn back over in bed. What it boils down to is desire.

Post-running splurge: Without a doubt my favorite post- run splurge is Promised Land Midnight Chocolate Milk. It is the BEST chocolate milk you will every drink. So creamy and super chocolate-y. After long run days it’s the perfect recovery drink.

Follow this mother at: http://enduranceisntonlyphysical.blogspot.com/

Pre-transformation, pre-runner: Tricia before she lost 128 pounds

25 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 10:39 am

    Go Tricia! Love reading stories like this. Amazing. Good luck in your marathon!

  2. July 29, 2010 11:13 am

    WOW!! 128 pounds is a person! I’m going to check out the blog to see what kind of workouts and healthy food this woman is eating! That’s amazing.

  3. July 29, 2010 11:22 am

    I do follow Tricia’s blog! Great story!!

  4. July 29, 2010 11:28 am

    Tricia is inspiring! Love her blog

  5. Paula permalink
    July 29, 2010 11:32 am

    Love it!!

  6. July 29, 2010 12:01 pm

    What a story! It shows what determination and commitment can get you. 🙂 Congratulations on the weight loss AND finding out your niche!

  7. July 29, 2010 2:06 pm

    Wow–Tricia, I’ve been following for quite some time but didn’t know about your weight-loss story. Amazing transformation!

  8. Jay permalink
    July 29, 2010 2:08 pm

    WoW!

  9. Gina Taylor permalink
    July 29, 2010 3:19 pm

    I think I found this website from Tricia’s! These are the 2 blogs that I read religiously!

  10. Jenn permalink
    July 29, 2010 3:46 pm

    What a great story, off to read her blog!

    And I am SO GLAD to find another late-sleeping toddler! Our 3-year old goes to bed at 11, she gets up at 9:30. 🙂

  11. Natasha permalink
    July 29, 2010 5:21 pm

    I really needed to read this today. Thank you RLAM for posting this and Tricia, thank you for sharing your story. I’ll be at your blog often!

  12. Terzah permalink
    July 29, 2010 5:57 pm

    Her blog is now in my RSS reader! Such a great story!

  13. July 29, 2010 6:02 pm

    Tricia is an amazing women. I follow her blog and see her as a strong and courageous woman; nothing seems to phase her – even the marathon.

  14. July 29, 2010 6:48 pm

    Now this woman’s story intrigues me. This woman’s before picture looks like me. Just subject 8″ and 58lbs. I have a bad knee (unrepaired torn ACL). Can I do this? Can I learn to run too? Is there anyone out there who has learned to run with a bum knee? I could use hearing about your story!

    • July 29, 2010 7:49 pm

      Hey Joy–
      We’re not doctors–nor do we play them on tv–so hard to know whether or not your knee could handle running. I’d see a physical therapist or orthopedist and get her/his opinion before you start (or at least google torn ACL and running and see what turns up). Hopefully you’ll get some good news and be on your way. Thanks for reading.

    • July 31, 2010 4:32 pm

      Hi Joy,

      Coincidentally I had ACL reconstruction and cartilage repair on my right knee several years back. While I have no experience running on an unrepaired ACL, I can at least vouch for the fact that it IS possible to run after a knee injury. Like Dimity said, it would be best to discuss it with a doctor. Good luck!

      Tricia

  15. July 29, 2010 7:17 pm

    I LOVE Tricia and have gained SO much inspiration on my journey from reading her blog!!

  16. Regina permalink
    July 29, 2010 9:20 pm

    Wow, what an inspiring few days on RLAM! This story is amazing, the post from Monday was amazing. How can I not want to get out and run? Thanks SBS and Dimity for sharing these stories!

  17. July 29, 2010 11:11 pm

    Wow! Really inspiring. I follow this blog but it wasn’t until I read the whole story like this that it hit me what an incredible change she made in her life. Thanks for sharing!

  18. July 30, 2010 8:12 am

    yeah tricia!!!

  19. July 30, 2010 8:43 am

    LOVE this post! Congrats on the weight loss and super inspiring story!

  20. July 30, 2010 4:23 pm

    What a great story! I just love the part about her most recent run and facing down her demons! Great work, Tricia!

  21. July 31, 2010 12:10 pm

    What an inspiring story! I like the “Follow This Mother” posts so much! ~K

  22. August 2, 2010 5:46 pm

    So inspiring! I am a mother of two and a morning runner. It is soooo hard to not hit that snooze button every morning. But after the run I’m so glad that I got out of bed and did it. One of my running buddies told me this and it is the motto I live by, “The only runs you regret are the ones you didn’t do.” Happy running!

  23. August 4, 2010 7:04 pm

    I love Tricia!

Leave a Reply

