Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

November 5, 2010

Kelly Collins and her mom/BFF on Mackinac Island at their most recent half

You know why you should check out the blog of mom-of-two Kelly Collins? Because she titled her recent race report, “Mackinac Island ½ Marathon: What the funk?” ‘Nuf said.

Best recent run: The Mackinac Island Great Turtle Half Marathon. I had planned on making it a PR (personal record) attempt, but in the week prior, everything that could go wrong did, including me getting sick. Instead, I took it easy, chatting and taking in the scenery with my mom. PR’s are nice, but running scenic fall trails with my best friend will be a memory I’ll never ever forget.

2 races, 2 PR attempts, 2 weeks post-marathon: The stubborn runner in me really wanted to break 24:00 this year in the 5K, and I was running out of races. As for the 10K, well, there was a free breakfast I couldn’t pass up. (I’m a big fan of food, part of the reason I run!). Plus, my 10K PR was from last year, and I only needed to run my current warm-up pace to break it, so I figured it was doable. Results: I have two new PR’s! And of course, mere moments after crossing each finish line, my thoughts were: “hmmm….I think I can do it faster.” It’s a sickness with me, really.

Mommy and me: My mom rules. She’s a breast cancer survivor. At 53, she decided, “I can do that” after watching a 5K, despite the fact she’d never been an athlete before. She started run/walking 15 minutes three to four times per week. Three short months later, we ran our first 5K together. Now she’s run four half-marathons and a slew other shorter races, often taking home age-group awards. The best part is I get to have my mom as a running partner!

Hey, coach: On my blog, I get a lot of running questions and realized it’d probably be a good idea to actually know what I’m talking about instead of just spouting off what works for me. Then I did a search online and found there’s not many running coaches out there specifically for moms, which doesn’t seem right. I’m happier, fitter, and have more energy when I run than when I don’t, and in a hectic household with two small children, running gives me balance. It’s the peaceful polar opposite from what the rest of my day is like. I’d love to help some other moms find that through running too. So, I took the RRCA coaching certification class and now you can officially call me coach!

Go-to running outfit: Black running skirt, pink long-sleeve tech shirt with thumb holes (which when I bought I remember thinking, “why does this shirt have holes in it?” Now my thumbs naturally look for holes anytime I wear long sleeves!), pink Chica Band, and Nike Zoom Structure Triax 13s, even though they’ve been discontinued. The good news: They’ll be on clearance for awhile. The so-very-sad news: I’m eventually going to be forced to find a new shoe. Dreading that.

Hypo-na-WHAT? I sweat. A lot. By a lot I mean way more than one person should. And not only do I sweat a lot, but I am an extremely salty sweater. This can pose a problem for me on long runs because I’m easily susceptible to hyponatremia, a dangerous condition where your electrolytes are too low. The worst it’s ever been was after my first marathon. I was just this side of passing out and on the verge of tossing my cookies the entire day. Even the next day was rough. But I’ve learned to prevent it by drinking sports drinks with very high electrolyte content. Just in case, I carry a salt packet, too. If I drink early and often, I don’t usually have a problem, but I’ve also learned to recognize the warning signs. You’ll never find this in a medical book anywhere, but I swear if I start burping during a run, things are about to go downhill fast if I don’t take some serious steps to squash it. It sounds totally weird, I know, but I swear it’s true.

Follow this mother at: www.runfastmommy.com

Thumbs up--and out: Kelly en route to her 5K PR last month in her signature running top

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2010 7:08 am

    Her blog is really amazing!!

    What a great thing to run with your mom. I could only dream…

  2. Beth permalink
    November 5, 2010 9:36 am

    You are so blessed to be able to run with your mother.

  3. Denita permalink
    November 5, 2010 12:23 pm

    I love the picture of Kelly and her mom…how awesome!

  4. November 5, 2010 2:34 pm

    So happy for you Kelly!! I was so excited when I opened up the RLAM email this morning, and saw that it was you featured. How fun!! I run most of my races with my dad, we may not be the same pace but we are both on the course experiencing the race vibes together.

  5. November 5, 2010 2:37 pm

    My daughter is going to start training with me to run her first 5K in March – I am super excited. I’m looking forward to keeping up with your blog 🙂

  6. Alecia permalink
    November 6, 2010 1:40 pm

    Very cool. I’m headed to her blog right now!

  7. runnanna permalink
    November 6, 2010 2:18 pm

    Great article! If you haven’t checked out her blog yet..you’re missing out! She is a hilarious writer, super mom, and an inspiring daughter. Thanks for the ‘atta boy! Loved the run on Mackinaw. So glad we decided to slow it down and really enjoy the last long run of the season. Love you!

  8. November 6, 2010 2:18 pm

    I love that you get to run with your mom!

  9. teri permalink
    November 8, 2010 10:34 am

    What a great article about a great Mom! I really enjoy her blog, its informative and funny!! Looking forward to seeing more arictles about her!

Leave a Reply

