Skip to content

Enjoy the Silence

November 16, 2010
by

Some days, I'd take mountain lions over kids. (from toothpastefordinner.com)

The best part of hitting the road for Run Like A Mother is, of course, meeting you guys. Hearing your stories, signing your books, just feeling the vibes of all you amazing women.

The second best part? The silence. Tranquil hotel rooms, punctuated with television that doesn’t involve the cartoon network. Peaceful rental cars, unless I want to blare Kate Perry. Relaxed dinners at places where the hostess doesn’t automatically pull out a four-pack of crayons when you walk in the door.

Oh, the silence is so good.

This weekend in Tempe at the IronGirl didn’t disappoint–loved meeting Hollie, Melissa, and Sheila, among others– but I had a tough week heading into the trip. At the risk of sounding spoiled, I didn’t want a weekend away. I wanted a weekend full of raking leaves, reading to the kids, running, falling asleep as Grant and I watched a movie. I wanted a weekend of feeling grounded and loved.

Last night, after I got home from the airport, we had just about 20 minutes of reading, then bedtime. Perfect reentry.  I missed those kids, I thought as I fell asleep last night.

The honeymoon, as they always do, ended too soon. A sampling of the snippets from our household from 4 p.m.-6 p.m today. A few notes: Ben was in full-on, four-year-old tantrum mode. And despite his after-school snack consisting of  half of a bag of leftover popcorn, an apple and a fruit leather, he was apparently starving. Reaalllly hungry. Could.not.wait.20.minutes.for.dinner.

Amelia: “Your nose really sticks out, Mom. Worse than anybody else in the family.”

Ben: “I want a peach!”

A: “Mom: do you know what a nucleus holds? DNA. But what’s DNA?”

Me: “You can have peppers and carrots, if you want Ben, while I make dinner. Do you want those? Yes? Oh, we have no carrots. So just peppers, o.k.?”

B: “No, not  just peppers! I am so hungry! I want carrots!”

B: “I want a peach! I want a peach! I want a peach!”

B: “My feet are on the table, Mom. See them?”

Me:”Grant, can you stop on the way home and grab a bottle of wine?”

A: “How do you spell ‘hundred’ Mom?”

Me: “Oh, I forgot. You’re taking the train. Just get home soon, o.k.? Please?.”

B: “No, not that kind of peach, Mom!”

A: “What are you writing down, Mom? Are you writing a personal narrative?”

Me, in my head: “Hmmm, do mushrooms have an expiration date? They’re fungi, right?”

B: “Mom, I love you. Can I have a hug?”

A: “You need to be at my school between 9:15 and 9:30 tomorrow morning, Mom. Did you forget that?”

B: “Mom: where are my shin guards? I want to wear them to bed.”

Full bellies, mildly lethargized by baths, the duo went to bed fairly easily. And then again: beloved silence. Broken only by two lines I speak so often, and mean so much to me.

To Ben and Amelia, after kissing each of them goodnight: “I love you, my sweet boy/girl.”

To Grant, after kissing him good night:”Be sure to kick me out of bed in the morning.”

27 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 6:05 am

    I wasn’t aware you put a recording device in my home! Great post. So so so dead on!

  2. Tammy permalink
    November 16, 2010 6:18 am

    You crack me up!

  3. November 16, 2010 6:50 am

    I just laughed out loud sitting here in a coffee shop. You’ve just described my home many a night during that ^&%^?! witching hour.

    Thanks for that 🙂

    Heather

  4. Iliana Zuniga permalink
    November 16, 2010 7:38 am

    My boy are 2 and 4 so they are not as articulate as yours, but other than that… same drill here in Brooklyn.
    Great post Dim!

  5. Angela permalink
    November 16, 2010 8:03 am

    hahahaha…I tell my husband to kick me out of bed in the a.m. all the time too. I say, “No matter what excuses I try to make or how cuddly I seem, kick me out when the alarm goes off or I’ll regret it later”. Sometimes he actually does it; I’m always mildly shocked and momentarily offended when he does, but oh-so-grateful after.

  6. November 16, 2010 8:04 am

    Right on! Maybe that’s why I’ve found I actually enjoy running with no iPod, no TV, no sound. Just me and my footsteps…me and my breathing…just me. I love it best outside, but I’m even enjoying it on the treadmill (at least for a mile or two).

  7. kristen permalink
    November 16, 2010 8:34 am

    AAAGGGHHH! No wine for the whine? You poor girl.

  8. Tryna permalink
    November 16, 2010 8:53 am

    I actually stay up late at night to remember the quiet, but I have the same situation here. The boy baby is ALWAYS hungry. Kids go play in your room so Mommy can have a time out.

  9. Robin permalink
    November 16, 2010 9:15 am

    I love your Ben…he is my Julian’s double.

  10. BigDogMom permalink
    November 16, 2010 10:17 am

    I gave up running with my iPod last summer and have not regretted a moment of it. My husband and kids don’t understand how I can run with “nothing”. What they fail to realize is that how much I treasure the sound of my own breathing. I can think and process and plan. I am with them or with the kids I teach every minute of every day…until my head hits the pillow…and usually one is joining me (Dad works nights). So….silence is golden!

  11. November 16, 2010 11:13 am

    I love this–I was smiling through the whole thing. Our boys are a bit older but the scene is about the same-I’m just inundated with different requests. When I travel for work and have the quiet of a hotel room, I find that I don’t quite know what to do with myself. I gotta work on that!
    Being caught without wine in the house is never good — did Grant drink it all while you were in Tempe? :>

  12. Noelle permalink
    November 16, 2010 1:08 pm

    D, running mothers couldn’t have a better spokesperson than your charming, frank self. Although after reading today’s post I have to ask: Were you listening at our door? Because it sure sounded like you might have been listening at our door. ‘-)

  13. November 16, 2010 3:55 pm

    Dimity I swear you’ve been hanging out at my house! A great post as always – thanks for making me laugh and feel like I’m not the only one 🙂

  14. November 16, 2010 5:04 pm

    Oh, that is PERFECT!!

  15. Nicole permalink
    November 16, 2010 5:29 pm

    Do I dare say “beautifully written”??? This is indeed what every day between the hours of 4-7pm are like at my house as well. “Tantrum Mode” is often my main drive to reach for the Rabbit (wine opener) and pry open the doors of the cabinet that’s WAAAY out of the kids reach…wine, ahh sweet nectar of the gods!

  16. Jenni permalink
    November 16, 2010 5:42 pm

    Oh so true and I stand here at the kitchen counter reading this post with a cold brewski in my hand!

  17. Jackie permalink
    November 16, 2010 6:01 pm

    Wine on a Tuesday. I like how you think!

  18. Stacey permalink
    November 16, 2010 6:23 pm

    Next time have Grant stop by our house on his way home. You know we ALWAYS have wine!

  19. amy permalink
    November 16, 2010 6:46 pm

    you.crack.me.up. You capture my everyday life.

  20. Christina E. permalink
    November 16, 2010 6:47 pm

    Today was the first full day back home from a long race weekend away from my babies. Wow. Yea, I missed them so much and couldn’t wait to get home, buuuuttt…. umm, yea, when’s bedtime?

  21. maggie permalink
    November 16, 2010 7:00 pm

    All I get is “I want a snack..I want a snack…Iwant a snack” and “I wanna watch a show… I wanna watch a show… I wanna watch a show” Throw in a few complaints about what’s for dinner and a tantrum or two, and that’s my 4-6 routine. Ugh. Also tough to realize that it used to be my time to run – come home from work, change, run, decompress. Ha ha. No more.

  22. Carla O. permalink
    November 16, 2010 7:28 pm

    It’s really bad that I started laughing before I even got to your blog entry…the cartoon got me started and I kept laughing until the end! So glad to hear that other kids are like mine…

  23. November 16, 2010 7:49 pm

    I have 5 boys: 19, 17, 15, 12 and 5….it really never changes. Except that sometimes I do achieve some level of silence as many of the requests are made by email or text, but they always start the same way : “Mom, can I, did you, would you, did I, didn’t you, should I, will you, why didn’t you…..and the list goes on”!

    • November 17, 2010 7:42 am

      Oh, don’t tell me that, Wendy. I think it’s the word “mom.” every sentence they say has that word, so I know they’re talking only to me. I love being needed, but there are limits to everything. 🙂

  24. Rebecca J. permalink
    November 16, 2010 9:15 pm

    Ha! I love it and can totally relate! Today my 7-year-old lost 3 TUBS of toys after being ridiculously rude to me right off the bus! Now she has to earn them all back. Motherhood! But she’s getting on the school bus in the morning and I’m going running, so it’s all good!

  25. Erica Richards permalink
    November 17, 2010 8:03 am

    aww, I saw good night to my “sweet boy” and “sweet girl” too! They are precious little creatures. 🙂

  26. Jill Simpson permalink
    December 6, 2010 5:52 am

    This is my household and exactly how I feel about my family and being at home versus being away from them

Leave a Reply

