Skip to content

December Goal Check-In #2

December 12, 2010
by

Not my dog, but I wish one of them had this skill. Cleaned the floor too many times last week.

We’re interrupting the 12K’s of the Holidays to check in with you on your December goals. I–Dimity–have had a very rough week. I traveled for work the previous week, and while I was away, the dogs ate items not fit for canine consumption and the hangover hit this week.

Long story, but here are the stats: two dogs, five vet visits, three sleepless nights for me, one ridiculously large bill, one corner of area rug eaten and barfed up by one dog, one black thick dress sock passed out the other end by the other. The number that matters the most? Three sleepless nights. I flashed back to those newborn days, when I lay in that warm bed and thought, “I simply cannot get up again. I just can’t.” Very empathetic for those in the throes of that tough stretch with real babes, not just the four-legged types.

So my workouts suffered. I missed 2, and cut 2 more short by a significant amount. Today–Saturday–was the first day I feel like I’m back to myself and got in a productive training session.

I hope you guys had a better week than I did. How are things going for you? Staying on track?

81 Comments leave one →
  1. megan permalink
    December 12, 2010 4:11 am

    Sorry to hear about your rough week, Dimity. Despite a whirlwind Disney vacation, I did run 4 days this week. My total mileage isn’t what I’d like it to be but we walked about 7 miles everyday so I don’t feel too guilty.

  2. Susan permalink
    December 12, 2010 4:37 am

    Sorry to hear about your rough week, D! I have a choc lab who went through a phase of eating all kinds of stuff. He ate a cheap knit glove a few years ago and it had to be surgically removed. It was a awful.

    I met my running goal this week – I ran 5 times and my IT band has feeling good. I did PT exercises only once so I didn’t quite make that goal. Maybe I’ll do them today.

  3. December 12, 2010 4:47 am

    Yet another good reason for my family to pass on the pet idea for awhile. Holy smokes, Dim!!

    I did okay this week. Missed 1 run due to pure laziness/7 degree temps at 5am. I did do a pretty intense yoga workout in it’s place but, c’mon, that’s not a 5 mile tempo run. Otherwise I did a good hill workout, 3 miles easy x2 day, another (scheduled) yoga workout and 12 miles yesterday. I’m supposed to get 5 in today at marathon pace but pageant rehearsal, Christmas concert, a need to make cookies for said events AND a looming ice storm are kinda putting a damper on that idea. Elliptical tonight, maybe….

    I’d say I’m pretty pleased with how well I’m sticking to the schedule and it is in no small part because of the check-ins here. Thanks, Mothers!

  4. Robin permalink
    December 12, 2010 4:50 am

    With work deadlines, sick kids, sick self, and bad weather, I am glad I kept my goals low. Ahead on running and did manage to make up my missed-due-to-illness long run during the week. Weather kept me from the pool yesterday, but if I get there this week, I’ll be on track.

  5. BigDogMom permalink
    December 12, 2010 4:54 am

    Not a great week. Lots of walking, holiday parties, kids concerts and activities and runners knee have all really put a damper on my miles this week. This makes for a slightly Grinch like Mommy.

  6. BigDogMom permalink
    December 12, 2010 4:57 am

    Oh and I am so sorry about the sick puppies. Been there about a year ago when our dog ate rat poison. Vet visits, stomach pumping, meds and more vet visits. All expensive and stressful. Sorry you have to deal with it all.

  7. Carolyn permalink
    December 12, 2010 5:09 am

    Oh my I am so sorry to hear about your dogs and your sleepless night! Poor pooches (and sock!)…and glad to hear everyone is on the mend.

    I had a surprisingly good week – squeezed in my runs on the days I said I would, met my 2010 goal of one race per month with my running buddy on Saturday with a challenging Jingle Bell Run (and even placed 3rd in my age group for the first time eva’!). But I know these next three weeks will be a challenge so am looking forward to all the RLAM inspiration!

  8. Carrie B permalink
    December 12, 2010 5:23 am

    I haven’t run since Tuesday. I had an ovarian cyst rupture that sent me to the ER. Can’t wait to hit the road tomorrow, I’m chomping at the bit. Sorry your dogs have had a rough week.

  9. December 12, 2010 5:28 am

    Sorry to hear about the sick “furry kids” I’ve been there! I’m getting my workouts in but have cut short time wise twice this week. Still trying to have that voice inside my head say kind things. Some is better than none.

  10. December 12, 2010 5:32 am

    Oh my goodness! I’m in the throes of sleepless nights bc of my newborn, but she’s no where near as troublesome as your puppies! Hugs! I hope they’re feeling well soon & that you’re able to get your runs in!
    Have a great week!

  11. December 12, 2010 6:04 am

    What an awful week! I hope things improve quickly!
    DH’s dog barfed 3 times in 2 days but he was home to clean up 2 of the messes.

    I missed 2 days of strength training, but I got in 3 good runs and walked all over Washington DC one day.

    Not a bad week at all here!

  12. Rebecca permalink
    December 12, 2010 6:10 am

    Wow, sorry to hear about the “other” marathon you’ve had to run! Hope everyone’s pooping regularly and without foreign bodies now!!! I just got my new treadmill (really can’t comprehend thoughts of a 12 degree run) and have managed to finish the 4th week of training for 10k distance, today I plan to start week 5, should be able to do 6 miles again. I’ve only been running for 7 months, so my goal had been to plan for a 10k in the spring, but with all the inspiration I find here, my new goal is a half in march! Thanks momma’s!

  13. December 12, 2010 6:21 am

    This week was bad. I only ran once. We got real bad snow storm….complete with ice and I was scared to run.

  14. December 12, 2010 6:27 am

    Surprisingly enough, even though I’m a complete “winger”, and we’ve had very cold and windy days here in north Alabama, yes, I’m right on track! In the next couple of weeks I MUST start training on the more technical parts of the trails…something I’m a little afraid of…

  15. December 12, 2010 6:30 am

    Ugh. So sorry about the pups, the other sock (at least you now know where the missing one went. We blame the dryer elf that eats our pairs.), the rug and of course you and the missing sleep.

    I did get in my 4xrun 2xstrenth this week. The first full week of workouts in a month. BUT….my knee or rather ITB is still sore, less sore, but still that nagging, annoying, would-you-just-get-better-now-so-I-can-run sore. Not sure what next week will bring…..

  16. December 12, 2010 6:37 am

    Pretty good week here! Two good runs and hopefully another this afternoon when it warms up…hubby took me out so I’m not eating AT ALL today, or tomorrow! Lol. Hope your coming week is a better one all around!

  17. Catrina permalink
    December 12, 2010 6:38 am

    I ran once this week, and my hip is still sore, so I have decided to take the rest of Dec. off from running, in hopes that I can start training for a spring half in Jan. But my goal of Pilates has been great, got in 4 days this week. Going to try and start biking.

  18. Nancy M permalink
    December 12, 2010 6:50 am

    Gotta love our dogs, make life so much more fun! Yes, still on track went to the gym 5x this week. Though Monday was my first visit with the personal trainer, so now I have to figure out when to fit in the strenght training exercises in with running on the treadmill. Hope this week is a better on for you 🙂

  19. Iliana permalink
    December 12, 2010 6:54 am

    I managed to get 2 pretty decent runs on monday and friday (5 and 7 miles) but saturday morning i woke up with pneumonia-like symptoms and have been homebound by hubby since? Ithink i will have to stay away from the roads allnext week at least! Bummer

  20. Cynthia Fish permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:12 am

    This weather is not helping my migraines..stop raining and just snow! Now there’s snow, so my head feels like it’s going to explode! HELP! I need to work out, but have to get past this nausea! I haven’t ran since last week and still have Christmas shopping to do! TODAY I WILL seize the day; run on the treadmill (did I mention it is snowing now? ;), clean and shop! So, I’m getting off here before my day is gone! Have a great run everyone!

  21. December 12, 2010 7:14 am

    This week rounded out very nicely for me, sorry for your pups’ poopy week. It was my recovery week from my local 1/2 marathon, we watched our dear son shine by lifting the Sugar Plum Fairy over his head in the Nutcracker yesterday and snuck in a pre-performance morning run to meet my goal of 4 runs a week. Cold glum weather but the runs are keeping me smiling inside.

  22. Laurie Allin permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:16 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your week 😦 Hope it improves soon.
    My December goal of completing a psuedo Ironman by lifting 2.4 tons (exceeded after one day in the gym – bad goal), Biking 112 miles is more than halfway with 80 miles completed, and my Run 26.2, is sadly slacking with only 5.5 completed.

  23. Darcy permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:20 am

    Sorry about the “ruff” week with the dogs! Great week here on my goals. Got my 3 runs in plus a 4th yesterday. And after 7 weeks of running on the treadmill (I am a new runner), I took my first run outside and it felt great. I was surpised that I was faster outside than on the treadmill but more sore today, I am sure related to some small elevations on my run. Passed the 10 mile mark for weekly total this week! Thanks so much for this blog and FB page. You all give me the courage and confidence to RLAM!

  24. Stacey Beard permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:21 am

    Week 2 of Marathon training has gone great! Got all 4 runs in and still found time to do a yoga/pilates crosstraining. Ran 9.5 miles yesterday, as well. Yeah!

  25. Tori permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:36 am

    I had a decent week. I ran 2 days, but both strong days, so I’ve got to congratulate myself on that. I ran a local 5K Jingle Jog with my cousin and BF on Saturday. It’s so fun to see people dressed in their silly holiday gear, having fun running, and raising money for a good cause-autism. Great race, but I did not meet my goal of running it in under 30 minutes. Bummer! I came in at 31:10, still 2 mins faster than I’ve done in the past. I’m a perfectionist and continuously trying to make peace with the fact that I’m not a fast runner and that it doesn’t REALLY matter!:)

  26. Jess M permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:36 am

    I’m totally slacking during December! Argh!

  27. cindyAz permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:40 am

    I have been staying on track with workouts. The amount and type of food I have been eating, however, could stand some improvement.

  28. Paigie permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:43 am

    AH! I feel for you Dimity- I have those nights with my dog but with thunderstorms…I’ve been lucky for a while- usually a summer time problem. Goal-wise I’m on track- training for Phoenix 1/2 and have been feeling great!!

  29. Katie permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:57 am

    Since I am not training for a race, it has become super easy to stay in bed, thinking I’ll work out in the evening, then in the evening, thinking I’ll work out in the morning. Ugggg. But, I did go swimming two times (on plan), strength trained once (should have been 2), and did not run at all. I’m going on a 3-mile run this morning, but am worried about my hip and foot since they still twinge with hurt every once in a while even though I have not run in a month. Here goes…

  30. Jackie permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:58 am

    This week will be better! Have faith!!!
    I got in four workouts (not running cuz of this IT band thing) plus two session with my PT. Ready to start running mentally, but PT says take a break, so I’m sticking to walking & strength training.

  31. December 12, 2010 8:03 am

    I haven’t worked out since the marathon last weekend while I Le my body recover but my mind is ready to Go Go Go…

  32. December 12, 2010 8:06 am

    Good luck to everyone with their goals! I’m on track with mine so far, although I need to get on the treadmill today. (Winter storm warning here, so an outside run isn’t happening.)

  33. December 12, 2010 8:18 am

    Oh – so sorry! I hate hate hate getting up in the night with my dogs! (Why is it that they *always* wake me up and never my husband??!!) And, one of my dogs is going through a nasty eating everything phase, which has included a ballet slippper and $24. You’d think my kids would learn to pick their stuff up!

    Exercise plans went great for me this week. Mostly because I kept thinking about having to report here. 😉 I did 4 runs and one pilates class (that was what almost got missed, but even being 5 min late I still did it!)

    Thanks for the motivation!

  34. Michelle permalink
    December 12, 2010 8:26 am

    The photo sums up my December goals. They are in the toilet.

  35. Cathy permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:03 am

    My goal was 30 mins/day for 30 days. On day 12 I’m happy to report that I’ve done a minimum of 30 mins of exercise everyday! Next week will be tough though with holiday parties and school plays I will have to get up early to get a workout in before the day starts. I am not a morning person.

  36. Crystal in Canada! permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:06 am

    Haven’t run since the Vegas marathon one week ago. Still enjoy thinking and speaking of the glory! I also framed my (beautiful) medal and bib from it (and my 1st from 2008). I love sitting writing Christmas cards and not feeling guilty that I’m missing some training.

  37. December 12, 2010 9:17 am

    Yikes Dimity that was some week!

    Despite crazy cold temps here I happy to say I hit my goals for this week – ran 3 days and got in 2 pilates classes! Hoping to repeat this week and maybe add a day of weights!

  38. Kristen Silver permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:26 am

    I was doing so well, 3 of my 4 workout days were done and I had made it to one hour long stretching and core class. Yesterday through me off! Our son was competing in his first bouldering competition and we were at the climbing gym for 9 hours. By the time we got home all I wanted was to relax and have a glass of wine or two :). Upside, son took first place!!!!!

  39. Christy permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:36 am

    Wow….my week was much much better. I ended up even getting in an extra cardio since I had to be off work one day with a sick kid…hoping next week goes better!

  40. December 12, 2010 9:42 am

    I’m a late bloomer. But I’ll get my fat mother running butt back in gear this week. Promise.

  41. Bente permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:45 am

    What a bummer-sleepless nights are the worst. I keep telling my daughter to hold out for a real dog but maybe there’s something to the battery operated kind. After doing the Vegas 1/2 last Sunday (my 2nd and I outdid my first by 22 minutes-by refusing to wait in line at the potties) this week has been hard. Parties, daughter’s activities, and this excess energy knowing that I’m supposed to take it easy. Did manage yoga, Turbo Kick, and finally the best of all a 5 miler on some fresh snow! May we all have a better week!

  42. December 12, 2010 9:48 am

    Too many obligations plus too crappy weather plus an inordinate lack of motivation equals a REALLY CRAPPY week for me, workout-wise. As in NO RUNNING whatsoever. *sigh* moving on – I HAVE A PLAN. If I can’t run, and hour on the elliptical. This week will be better…

  43. December 12, 2010 9:48 am

    Our dog keeps us up nights with his gastro-adventures. It’s horrible, sad, heartbreaking and expensive. Sorry your week was so hard.

    My training is right on schedule. I ran 45 min on Tuesday and Thursday and 10 miles (my longest run in my whole life) on Saturday. I even remembered to use the roller yesterday – unheard of. LOL.

    Thanks for the check-in, it’s keeping me honest 🙂

  44. eep permalink
    December 12, 2010 10:07 am

    As a mother of an 8 mo, I can say that sleep deprivation is no joke! Sorry to hear your week was derailed.

    This week was the taper week for a half marathon, which I ran this morning. Unofficially, according to Garmin, I PRed by 11 minutes! Not to shabby, if I do say so myself!

  45. Becky Connar permalink
    December 12, 2010 10:08 am

    Holy cow! That is one rough week. Hope this week is better for you! I’m kind of off track b/c my ankle has been bothering me and I have a little one that’s been running a fever, one with an upset tummy (not puking though) and I’ve felt the same way, just an upset tummy. I did get out yesterday for a run, we are in OH where we are getting dumped on with snow today and sub-zero windchills the next few days. Thank God for the “dread”mill (never thought I’d say that)!

  46. Jill O permalink
    December 12, 2010 10:21 am

    I only got out there once this week- so slack! I am also have pet troubles, so I sympathize. Our cat has a tumour on his skin. He goes in for an operation on Wednesday 😦

  47. Pilar permalink
    December 12, 2010 11:01 am

    Ah yes. Dogs are wonderful. Mine is 13 and at the stage where she refuses to accept her new age related limitations. Two days before Thanksgiving she tried to jump onto our stone wall – normally a very easy jump. She didn’t make it and we ended up at the vet so she could get a couple of staples in her chin to close up the gash from hitting the rock! All healed nicely now and she did have the decency to look embarrased.

    Thanks to you December challenge I have been totally motivated to get moving again. It has been a great week of running and I was thinking during my run this morning about how I needed another check in to keep things going. So thanks so much.

    Glad to see all the RLAMs out there!

  48. December 12, 2010 11:21 am

    Oh man, sounds like a rough week :(. I hope next week is much better!

    I am very excited that I met my goal this week. I ran twice and did a cardio workout video at home once. Last week I did really crummy and I was feeling discouraged but reading all the comments at the “check-in” last week really helped me get motivated again. I’m looking forward to this week but not sure how the running will go since we just had a big snowstorm and I don’t have a treadmill…

  49. Anne permalink
    December 12, 2010 11:27 am

    Good weather once again has made achieving my goal easier – still we are ready for some snow!

  50. Susan permalink
    December 12, 2010 11:35 am

    My December goals are not going to get accomplished. Instead of 5 running days this week I have been working on rehabing an injury that keeps flaring up (probably because I earlier refused to quit running ) I have however been keeping up with exercise as best as I can. I have no gym access but I have a treadmill so I can run (or walk) inside and have several exercise dvds. Today it is a nice warm day outside so I”m going to try for a run and hope I can get in 2-3 miles without any complaints from my leg. Would love to be able to get back into my running groove this week.
    Sorry to hear about the dogs unfortunate diet- reminds me why the only dogs we own are of the stuffed animal variety.

  51. December 12, 2010 11:41 am

    Unfortunately, not a great week here either. I ran my marathon relay with my parents and siblings and hit my goal there. I took care of myself in the days following and ran a couple of easy miles Wednesday…and then proceeded to run a fever from Wednesday afternoon to Saturday around lunch, which explains why I didn’t get my second run in or my strength training sessions. I know, I know. I have to get those in. It’s an ongoing dilemma. I blog about it at least once every couple of weeks…but I’ve yet to do it.

  52. Erica Richards permalink
    December 12, 2010 11:41 am

    met my goal of one speed workout (it’s been a year and a half since I’ve done one!!) and one long run. Horray for low expectations!! My other 2 runs felt like icing on the cake. 🙂

    Hope things get better for you Dimity!

  53. Jessica permalink
    December 12, 2010 12:25 pm

    Ayaya! That is quite a hilarious story! As far as for my goal this week…not so good! I hope to get right back on track Monday! We had a hectic week with daddy traveling & mommy at home with needy, but lovable little ones. : ) I am okay with missing my workouts & not too upset with myself because as usual I set really high expectations. It’s one of those things my husband & I both do! If anything that is what I am learning overtime…set realistic expectations.

  54. Tracy permalink
    December 12, 2010 12:35 pm

    I did 2 of the three days of cardio and 1 and a half of the strength/core I want to do. It was a really abbreviated strength so I can’t completely count it!

    Hope this week is better for you Dimity!

  55. ice cream addict permalink
    December 12, 2010 1:28 pm

    Sorry about the sick dogs and sleepless nights. So far, I’ve been on track until this weekend. Two sick little ones and a husband that is away made it difficult for me to get anything in other than naps when they napped! Hoping to add in an extra workout during the week to make up for what I missed this weekend.

  56. Trish R permalink
    December 12, 2010 1:44 pm

    Here’s to a better week ahead! I am definitely experiencing a winter slow down & am barely on track with my Nike+ # runs and miles for year end having slipped from being ahead at the start of the month. Cold, sleet and snow not helping as I have been limited to treadmill runs which don’t exceed 4-5 miles. Real culprit is year end work load and added pre-holiday shopping, shipping planning and of course partying :)! Ho Ho Ho hoping to maintain in the weeks ahead and regroup in January.

  57. Jennifer permalink
    December 12, 2010 1:54 pm

    recap goal: Just that the family and I are running a race to raise money for charity each weekend, so far so good!

  58. Judy permalink
    December 12, 2010 2:27 pm

    I had a much better week this week compared to last. For my goals:1. I am at 1961 miles for the year, only 49 more to go to meet my goal. 2. I did my strength exercises 7 out of 7 days. 3. I kept my food journal 7 out of 7 days. Next week is going to be a tough one for me but I am hopeful.

  59. Jasmine permalink
    December 12, 2010 2:42 pm

    Staying on track as best I can. Had a physical therapy session on Monday which left me pretty sore so I did my hill workout on Wednesday and walked on Tuesday instead. Hope everyone has a great week this week!

  60. Sue permalink
    December 12, 2010 3:11 pm

    Crap-tastic week in the workout department, I’m sorry to say… One lousy run on Friday and that was it! I even had to skip my Jingle Jog 5K yesterday because of holiday commitments. Here’s hoping we all have a better week. Anything is better than nothing, right ladies?? 🙂

    • Anna permalink
      December 13, 2010 7:21 am

      Crap-tastic – I love it! You’ve definitely kept your sense of humor! I might have to steal that word sometime!
      -Anna

  61. Andrea Lehman permalink
    December 12, 2010 3:26 pm

    Ran 5 days with a total of 24 miles this week, which is one of my goals (20-25 miles per week). Went to the gym once this week for cross training and strength training- want to do that twice a week, so I missed that goal. Ok- since I still worked out 6 times a week.

  62. Kami permalink
    December 12, 2010 5:02 pm

    I am really motivated lately. Seems to be a pattern for me, the colder/darker the better. I always seem to stay on track in the winter vs. the summer. In the summer I just want to lay on the beach. Worked out almost every day this week. I am even making time for yoga so I am feeling more flexible which is something that has been lacking from my body for a LONG time.

    My baby is 4 so the sleepless nights are few and far between, although I can totally relate to the dog issues.

  63. Alison Price permalink
    December 12, 2010 6:09 pm

    Didn’t meet the goals for last week. Only did yoga and a 5K on Tuesday and a Boot Camp workout (from hell) on Wednesday. This week needs to be different, as my mental state is suffering from the lack of road time. Hopefully the blizzard will subside and I will be back out tomorrow a.m. and then the rest of the week should follow…..

  64. December 12, 2010 6:39 pm

    I haven’t had a full week of workouts yet this month. The treadmill is just so hard! Today I wasn’t feeling well so I put off my 11 mile run until tomorrow. I’m going to try to prepare well – hydrate, take a short nap, eat well, and stretch. Now I just need something good to watch.

  65. Rebecca J. permalink
    December 12, 2010 6:42 pm

    So far, so good!!! Finals are this week, and I have my tests planned around my running. The only thing killing me is feeling like I should spend some of my running time studying. But I know how much more productive my day will be if I just get out there and move it!

  66. Alicia B. permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:44 pm

    Due to some fabulous advice that I got, my goals have been to merely maintain for December which means running three days a week and keeping my distance the same. Since I’ve never been an overachiever, it’s been easy to keep up with what I’ve been doing. My running group will be running a couple of races in March and May so we anticipate picking up the miles in the New Year. But for now, we congratulate ourselves for gathering in the wet Portland winter at 6 am and running, running, running.

  67. December 12, 2010 7:58 pm

    So sorry to hear about your poor fur babies…
    My train got derailed when I pulled my plantar fascia during my long run this weekend. Upon closer investigation, the plastic support of my insole was cracked. I went right out and got new ones, and hope to be back on track next week!

  68. kat charles permalink
    December 12, 2010 8:07 pm

    Sorry about the dogs and your lack of sleep…those furry ones would not make it long at my house this week…we have a schnauzer who insists on running away in the -2 degree windchill. Not sure she will make it through the winter if she keeps that up.

    In terms of goals…3 runs (check), 3 xt (check). On track for the week/month.

  69. December 12, 2010 8:36 pm

    Oh my. Sorry to hear about the dogs!
    Last week was good-cross trained Monday, speedwork Tuesday, ran 5 Wednesday, took Thursday off and ran 8 Friday morning outside on a beautiful morning. We went to see the in-laws in Charlotte this weekend which means no sleep for me due to a roaming 2 year old, so I knew not to factor in a crazy workout! I did, however, finally get the book from my mother in law for Christmas! Yeah!

  70. realrellim permalink
    December 12, 2010 8:52 pm

    Managed my goals again this week: 17 miles and one strength workout done. It wasn’t as good of a workout as I needed, mostly because it got cut short earlier in the day by a needy 9-month-old. I’d planned to finish it that night but then there was a husband who put a diaper bag on top of the car before leaving for a holiday activity, and the diaper bag falling off the car and the diaper bag getting run over by other cars and husband going back to search for the hat I’d knit our baby that had been in the now-destroyed diaper bag and the stress of reminding myself that it was an accident even though I’ve repeatedly asked him not to put stuff on top of the car due to his habit of forgetting and driving off with stuff on top of the car. Yeah. So by the time the baby was down for the night I felt tense and sick and awful and I gave up.

    The week also included a holiday concert and two birthday parties (1 kid, 1 family) for my oldest daughter, so it turned out pretty well, all things considered.

  71. Billie permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:12 pm

    The weather was so cold here I ran inside 2 days to get my quota of running at least twice a week in. Then this weekend I was able to get out both days thanks to a break in the freezing temps. On track so far!

  72. Linda permalink
    December 12, 2010 10:01 pm

    I met my goals this week. Ran three times (including a half marathon race today), did my Tuesday strength class, and had an awesome ski day on Thursday (powder day!)

    Dimity – sorry to hear about your doggie’s misadventures. I have a pup too, and he’s as much work as a kid sometimes!

  73. Jennifer D. permalink
    December 12, 2010 10:32 pm

    Met my running & pilates goals for the week but fell short on strength training.

  74. Janelle Williams permalink
    December 12, 2010 11:08 pm

    Right on track and feels good! Working out makes December so much easier to deal with 🙂

  75. Lea Nyseth permalink
    December 13, 2010 12:49 am

    Having a rough time of it…only ran once this week…the rain/dreary weather has gotten to me. I am looking forward to a new week and getting back on track!

  76. Cindy permalink
    December 13, 2010 6:11 am

    Tears came to my eyes when I read this…just as I thought I was OUT of the newborn stage (he’s 4 months old today and has been sleeping through the night since 2 months), I have been up every night this week to feed him. Depsite that, I was able to get in my scheduled runs during the week, it was the weekend where it fell apart. One poor cat sent to Rainbow Bridge, one blankie lost, and one heck of a Christmas party…well, I didn’t run all weekend.

  77. December 13, 2010 6:49 am

    I am not “really” on a training program right now, so any workout I get in is a good one! My goal is to exercise 3 days a week, and I am on track with that goal! Have to get serious after the New Year, since I have a 1/2 marathon in February and a 1/2 Ironman (my first) in May……

  78. Anna permalink
    December 13, 2010 7:19 am

    I am so impressed that your dog knows how to throw up in the toilet! My kids can’t do that. It’s 8:18 am and I’ve already eaten 2 pieces of left over Ariel birthday cake. I think that also summarizes my work out progress. I’ll have to revise my goal of my Feb 13 1/2 marathon from a less than 2 hr goal to “Please, Lord, let me finish!”

  79. Jessica permalink
    December 13, 2010 7:22 am

    I was derailed by a foot injury that needed some nursing. So I had to miss one workout:( I realized 1 1/2 miles into one that it was so not worth the abuse to my foot, just to get my run in and suffer like h$ll later. But I did put in a long run at the end of the week of just over 11 miles and the foot didn’t give me to much grief! My cold that won’t go away, on the other hand, is really starting to irritate me. I kind of like being able to breath when I run…

  80. Beverly permalink
    December 13, 2010 8:31 am

    So sorry to hear about the dogs! Not a great week here but not a total wash either. Skipped one run altogether. Added time/miles to another to make up mileage. Shortened two other runs. Am keeping up with the strength training. Added a pilates class Hubby says as long as I keep the ST up, I get my reward. Also said not to kick myself too hard. I’m doing way better than I have before. Usually I’m lucky to run 5 times total during the weeks between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Leave a Reply

