Skip to content

December Goal: Check In #3

December 19, 2010
by

 

North: Nirvana. South: Nirvana + a couple hills. I went south.

A much better week around here, due mostly to the fact that I declared Tuesday a mental health day and had very little computer screen time. Instead, I had to head to Boulder for some errands and used the opportunity to go for a trail run. On the recommendation of a friend, I headed to the Mesa Trail and promptly sucked wind: the first mile or so is a continuous uphill. (So the fact that I have to go 22 more miles uphill in mid-February is a bit concerning: I won’t lie.) But I had a great, 90-minute run: the temperature was in the 50’s–don’t hate me, snowy Midwest–the sun was out and I felt alive and revitalized. Note to self: I need to take more mental health days, especially if they involve trail runs.

I still have one more strength circuit to go for this week, which hopefully I’ll do after I ride in the basement, which I’m doing right after I finish this post. Then off to the Nutcracker–promise, won’t criticize the weight of the Sugarplum fairy–then a neighborhood sleigh ride. Is it too Scroogey to say I’m really looking forward to December 26th?

How are you doing? Still semi-focused on your goal? Major props if you are. Let us know.

58 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 7:50 am

    This week has been bad. I haven’t made goal. I got a chest cold from my kids that has taken me out.

  2. December 19, 2010 7:53 am

    This week was pretty good considering I had a cold. I still managed to get in a pilates class and three runs – one of which was a jingle bell 5K with my 15yo niece who had never run a race before. She finished – and that was the important part! The bonus to this whole thing was that while I didn’t set any PRs, I did win my age group and took home a cool Christmas ornament!

  3. Catrina permalink
    December 19, 2010 8:02 am

    I am pretty focused still. I did 2 days of Pilates, but got sick wednesday and stop for the week. Might try and actually run this week, hip feels much better!

  4. Jasmine permalink
    December 19, 2010 8:11 am

    I’ve been slowly building up mileage toward my half marathon goal. I’ve been sticking to five runs a week….squeezing them in whenever and wherever I can! 🙂

  5. December 19, 2010 8:17 am

    I’m hanging in – having a spring race to focus on helps!

    Dimity – wondering if you started with the chi running, how is it going? I’ve read the book but gone no further yet.

  6. ice cream addict permalink
    December 19, 2010 8:19 am

    Still on track with my runs, getting out 3 times per week and hitting my 12-15 miles/week goal. It helps that I’m in a Nike+ challenge with some friends and we committed to hit 300 miles by the end of the year (from the day after Thanksgiving.) We have about 80 to go and I don’t want to be the one to make us miss our goal!

  7. December 19, 2010 8:23 am

    Yeah Dimity you went on one my old favorite trails!! Also try the trailhead across the street- The Dowdy Draw Trail.
    I’m still on my goals… have a long run today in the rain and will be ready for the Phoenix RnR 1/2 in just a few weeks!

  8. Julie Fredericks permalink
    December 19, 2010 8:36 am

    This week I did great- started a new bootcamp, got my runs in and made it to the pool for a swim. The trick will be next week- can I keep it up now that the kids are out of school?

    • Bente permalink
      December 19, 2010 10:22 am

      I’m with you Julie! Tried to do a lot more this week because the next two weeks with my daughter home from school is going to be tricky but I will try diligently to fit it in.

  9. December 19, 2010 8:59 am

    Rough week but I met 3/4 of my run 4 times a week goal. My cold is on the downside so I have high hopes for next week.

  10. December 19, 2010 9:05 am

    I’m pushing my date up for my half bc my foot hurts…so I’m going to get it over with and then rest 😀

    • Robin permalink
      December 19, 2010 3:09 pm

      Good luck! I am finding the cold is numbing my foot pain…enjoy your rest!

  11. December 19, 2010 9:05 am

    Been sick for a week and a half now…finally went to the doctor yesterday, so I’m hoping this sinus infection clears up soon. I’ve only made 1 out of my 2 planned runs this week and no strength training. So, I’m clearly not doing well with the goals. I’m planning on hitting at least two runs this week and 2x strength training…and I should be well enough to do that.

  12. Marissa permalink
    December 19, 2010 9:23 am

    Shin splints have done me in on my weekly goals. I did make my yoga class Wednesday, which hopefully will help stretch out everything else! One way or another I need to sweat this week because I’m getting pretty cranky without exercise! The upside is that I’m catching up on all the sleep that I missed while getting up at 5am to train for the Philly marathon!

  13. December 19, 2010 9:30 am

    I’m focused like a heat seeking missile. *grin*

    I had a spinal incident (still healing from spinal surgery) so I had to miss Tuesday’s run. Made it up though and all my other work outs this week. On Saturday we ran in frozen rain – felt awesome to not let the weather scare us and we had an awesome (but chilly) time.

  14. Tori permalink
    December 19, 2010 10:15 am

    Last week? I’ll fess up – one 2 mile walk on Friday with the baby just b/c the sun finally came out! We had a cold rainy week in Ga and b/c it’s the holidays, I’m giving myself the gift of no forced eliptical time. This week will be much better … better weather, more time. I’m just itching to get out of the house asap for a run right now. Gotta wait for my hubby to get home from Christmas shopping, so he can keep the kiddos. Goal- 4 runs this week. Dimity, trail run looked fabulous.

  15. December 19, 2010 10:27 am

    Semi focused. Getting a couple runs in a week, but failing miserably on the other goals (core work and drinking water). Marathon training starts on Boxing Day (26th) so they’ve now turned into New Year’s Resolutions. 🙂

  16. Atha permalink
    December 19, 2010 10:28 am

    Rough week here also. Two sick kids and holiday shopping has put me in a bind on a couple of occasions. I’m still on track to meet my 100+ mile goal for the month though. As of today I’m at 62 miles for December.

  17. cindyAz permalink
    December 19, 2010 10:53 am

    Failed week 3. I could make excuses but I just didn’t stick with it. I am having to recommit. Sometimes it feels like I have to recommit every other week. *Sigh*

  18. Andrea permalink
    December 19, 2010 10:55 am

    I met my weekday goal, but I haven’t gotten in a run this weekend. I missed the run with my running buddies this a.m. I’m hoping to head to the gym in a little bit and get in a run on the treadmill. Overall, pretty good week. Plus, I did a one mile time trial on Friday and finally ran a mile in less than 8:30 – a PR of 8:27.

  19. Cindy permalink
    December 19, 2010 10:59 am

    yoga balance and core training this AM for 35 minutes! Running this afternoon for 30 min! Love a break from work!

  20. Tracy permalink
    December 19, 2010 11:07 am

    Bad week here – while I did two of three of my runs and 2 of the strength trainings – the space between them was too long – and they shouldn’t count (runs and strentgh) in the same day. Dcember 26th can’t come fast enough here either!

  21. Christy permalink
    December 19, 2010 11:29 am

    only missed a day of strength and cardio…figure that is pretty good considering all things…and I probably could have gotten it in if I REALLY wanted to…so I am not feeling too bad! We’ll see how the next crazy week goes with more kids around and more chaos in general…I may have to alter my goals….

  22. Ruthie permalink
    December 19, 2010 11:34 am

    It was a rough one this week. Okay maybe the last four weeks have been ugly. I blame it on my new cozy pajamas. The cool thing is is that I know that I have to go in cycles, otherwise I end up overtraining and hurting myself. Usually in November and/or December I go into mama bear mode “Must find a den and hibernate” and I skip a few weeks. I start feeling soft and imagine a thick layer of fat building up and then I get back to it. I’m starting to get back into the groove. The runs are harder. The cross-training is miserable, but I feel my muscles again and while they are moving a bit more painfully, they are also thanking me for not forgetting about them entirely.

  23. Csaf permalink
    December 19, 2010 11:36 am

    Well, I ran 2 of my 4 runs last week, which is an improvement over the previous week (0 for 4). I’ve been covering for my boss for most of the last 2 months, doing her job and mine, and she’s back next week, so I’m expecting my running mojo will return, too, as my stress levels go way down. An early Christmas present for me!

  24. December 19, 2010 11:58 am

    Going to run 8…once I stop procrastinating on the computer!

  25. Heidi permalink
    December 19, 2010 12:45 pm

    Survived my marathon last Sunday, and made it to the gym for an hour Tuesday before getting sick. So much for my plans for lifting weights, doing core exercises and cardio!! Spent most of the week struggling to just walk the puppy every day and am hoping to be well enough to get back on track this week. This virus has officially kicked my butt!

  26. Nancy M permalink
    December 19, 2010 1:27 pm

    Hanging in there. Went to the gym Sun-Mon-Tues-Wed-Fri {rather than goal of M-F} but still 5 days so I will take it.

  27. Jill O permalink
    December 19, 2010 1:31 pm

    Managed to get in 3 runs this week- not sure how I am going to fit in running while my son is off school for the next two weeks- can you say Playdate!?

  28. Sue permalink
    December 19, 2010 1:40 pm

    Met my goal… woo hoo! Ran Monday, Zumba Tuesday, and eliptical Wednesday–all before the cold from hell rendered me useless. Hope this coming week includes one more run and possible some strength training? All the cardio in the world isn’t helping the Christmas cookie-induced jelly belly!

  29. Tara permalink
    December 19, 2010 1:52 pm

    My major goal for December is complete and exceeded as of yesterday. I wanted to shave 21 seconds off of my 5K best. I came in 58 seconds faster than my previous-Yay!

    I’m on track (figuratively speaking) with 3 days running & 2 days of cross-training. I’ll be back in my routine on Tuesday 🙂

  30. December 19, 2010 2:57 pm

    WELL exceeded my goal to run a sub-30 5K yesterday–I ran it in 28:45. I jumped for joy and immediately pressed the “reset” button–I’m now going for sub-25 by June. ((I felt great the whole time so I think this is doable. I’m still a very new runner and have no idea what I’m capable of!)) I needed to get in some additional miles this week to make it up to 20, but it’s not going to happen. Next week.

  31. Robin permalink
    December 19, 2010 3:13 pm

    On track for December goals, plans for sub-2 half and sprint tri in 2011 and super happy! Swim done for week, another tomorrow. Road bike purchased. More than 4 runs and a super awesome 11 miler today that makes me think I’ll be on track for my sub-2 half in spring. I’ll admit, I was so jealous of all the great weather, January local halfs, etc.. of the non-midwesterners (and those who left — wink), and then I totally enjoyed today’s freezing run!

  32. December 19, 2010 3:42 pm

    Have discovered that in this weather/lack of sunlight I cannot wake up and run at 5AM more than 2 days in a row. So, I’m altering my expectations and my schedule. I did okay goal-wise during the week (flipping early morning days around some) but this weekend I never got in a long run because I just had tooooo much holiday madness to tackle. It was fun, really, but it definitely made a long run impossible. Not feeling too guilty though….

  33. Judy permalink
    December 19, 2010 3:56 pm

    my three goals: 1. trying to make 2010 miles by the end of the year. I am at 1994 so I should make it. 2. strength training; did 6 out of 7 days. 3. food journal, feel behind in writing it down but I think I ate ok. Next week will do better.

  34. Kelly permalink
    December 19, 2010 3:56 pm

    My goal, too, has been achieved! Just qualified for Boston this morning at the Jacksonville Marathon!! Praise the Lord!

    • Darcy permalink
      December 19, 2010 5:28 pm

      Great job, Kelly! So awesome to meet your goal!

  35. Rebecca J. permalink
    December 19, 2010 4:07 pm

    I have luckily stayed right on track with where I wanted to be! My finals are over (hallelujah!) and now I’m hoping the kiddos Christmas break won’t knock me totally off my plan! Had a fabulous hike in the snow on Friday that got me pumped up. My friend is a much better hiker than I am, but it always reminds me I can be working harder to get the results I want!

  36. Terzah permalink
    December 19, 2010 4:28 pm

    Hanging in there (and I see I’m not the only one with a cold)! As of my last weigh-in on Tuesday, I am maintaining. We’ll see how this week goes. My sister-in-law just sent us four tins of cookies, and that woman can bake like a mother.

    Dimity, I love the Mesa Trail! Glad you got a good one in out there last week.

  37. Dee Dee permalink
    December 19, 2010 4:32 pm

    Only got in 2/4 runs this week, but did both strength training days. Good news: on track for this week since I just got back from a lovely 6.5 miler under clear skies with my Christmas playlist blaring. Then everyone joined me for Dimity’s strength training routine. Sounds annoying, I know, but at least there were more sweaty faces for the dog to lick while trying to hold the plank! Thanks for the accountability, RLAM girls. Love this tribe!

  38. Alison Price permalink
    December 19, 2010 5:22 pm

    Last week went really well…..got in over 12 miles, did yoga and Boot Camp and then….took Friday, Saturday and today off. My kids are now home for two weeks, so the real challenge starts with finding time to squeeze in runs amidst all the other stuff to do before next Friday.

  39. Darcy permalink
    December 19, 2010 5:27 pm

    Staying on track. Actually got 4 runs (instead of my goal of 3) and my endurance is getting better and I am running for 40-45 minutes at a time. I got outside for a run finally and off the treadmill but now we have snow/ice so played it safe on treadmill this week. Still need to sign up for my first race. Was hoping to do a 5k but a local area is doing a 3k on New Year’s Eve…worried about that length..only because I am just getting warmed up by the time it will be over. But it looks like a nice family race with a 1K, 3K fun run and a 10K so we will see! Love the accountability by your goal check-in!

  40. Pilar permalink
    December 19, 2010 5:55 pm

    Still plugging away! All good so far. Very inspiring to hear from all the other RLAMers!

  41. December 19, 2010 6:11 pm

    Goal for Dec is 4x run 2x strength training. This week I did get all in; but one of my classes was missed due to a holiday party and was told to do 200 pushups in 25 minutes instead. So I did that tonight and will count that as my 2nd session. Does that count?

  42. December 19, 2010 6:37 pm

    I’m trying to add weight training on my off-running days, but I’m not successful so far… maybe I’ll get those free weights I’ve been hinting for Christmas!

  43. Linda W. permalink
    December 19, 2010 6:43 pm

    The wheels came off this week. Both my kids came home from college, so I spent time with them instead of working out. Monday night I came home from work, intending to go to spinning class at the gym, and my daughter had cooked dinner for me! So of course I stayed home and had dinner with her instead. I did manage to run 5 miles today, and skied Thursday and Friday. So I accomplished my skiing goal, if nothing else!

  44. December 19, 2010 8:18 pm

    I wasn’t sure I was going to make it but I did! I did strength training early in the week and got in two runs. I also started looking at half marathons for May or June…I’m so excited to run my first one!

  45. December 19, 2010 9:21 pm

    I’m still going strong. I’ve got to balance out all the cookie eating I’ve done this week! Made it out for a very wet and rainy trail run today (it’s been very, very rainy here in Santa Barbara) in preparation for a 25K trail run in March.

  46. realrellim permalink
    December 19, 2010 11:54 pm

    Still on track. Did 17.5 miles this week and one strength workout (which I just finished before posting). The best news of the week is that I ran the Rudolph’s Revenge 10K on Saturday and finished with what is a blazing time for me: 56:49 by my Garmin. I’m still waiting for them to post chip results, but the gun time was 57:34. Either way, I’m thrilled. It was the first race I’ve run without pushing a jogger since my second child was born nine months ago, and it was nice to see that I’ve regained most of my speed.

    This coming week I’d like to do some better strength workouts. *fingers crossed*

  47. December 20, 2010 6:08 am

    I am still doing the training, but I am kind of “taking it easy” on myself. Meaning my runs are slower than they should be–but, I am doing them, so they count……

  48. Kristen S. permalink
    December 20, 2010 12:43 pm

    Last week…well, I kinda tried to run, but this week, amid all the craziness, I’m sticking to my goals and I’m gonna celebrate with Monkey bread on Christmas!

  49. Jackie permalink
    December 20, 2010 3:29 pm

    Was doing Ok (Getting my four workouts of any kind each week) until today. Trainer called to tell me that she accidentally booked someone else in my spot :-(. Rescheduled for Wednesday. Going to have to count my PT sessions as workouts for this week to meet the four…

  50. Niki Harper permalink
    December 20, 2010 5:48 pm

    So far I’m meeting my goal of running every other day no matter what. I’ve had a few firsts along the way…I ran outside even though it was 18 degrees (wind chill of 2), ran in the rain, ran on a tiny little indoor track and was lapped 5 times by an amazing gentleman who was easily 70 years old. Future book idea…Run Like a Grandmother??

  51. Melissa Davis permalink
    December 20, 2010 7:29 pm

    Somehow I missed the 2nd checkin-however I have made my goal for the second and the third week! Very happy about this and I think I am feeling the positive benefits of crosstraining!

  52. Janelle permalink
    December 20, 2010 10:31 pm

    yep still focused but was lucky enough to have a week in Hawaii and ran at sunrise along the beach walk 5 of the 7 days we were there.

    Like many others, now fighting a cold. Hoping to make it out tomorrow morning. Having the 5 year old home from school is harder than I thought! Must hire babysitter this summer!!!

  53. December 23, 2010 7:20 pm

    Was doing Ok (Getting my four workouts of any kind each week) until today. Trainer called to tell me that she accidentally booked someone else in my spot :-(. Rescheduled for Wednesday. Going to have to count my PT sessions as workouts for this week to meet the four…

  54. Rose permalink
    January 5, 2011 6:36 am

    I’m extremely “re-focused”! After Thanksgiving I took on an “I don’t care about anything but making it through the holidays” attitude and boy did I suffer! In that short amount of time I feel as though I completely undermined months of work and felt like a lump. After Christmas my family went to play in the snow and I about had a myocardial infarction when I had to force my butt into my snow pants…..resolve….back to inspiration and back to the gym with me….boy does it feel good and boy am I grateful for blogs like these, thank you, thank you!

Leave a Reply

