Skip to content

And the Garmin Winner is…

December 23, 2010
by

Today is kind of like a marathon: only one winner on paper, but you're all winners in our minds.

First of all, dang it that we don’t have 600 Garmin Forerunners 110 with heart rate monitors to give away. While I love to give away such awesome prizes, I hate that this one can only go to one person. I much prefer the cake walk at our local school carnival, where at least 3 people win every round, and there are at least 12 rounds in one day.

But a Garmin isn’t a cake made from a Duncan Hines mix, so without further ado, the winner is…

Maureen Duke, whose favorite song is Santa’s Super Sleigh from the movie About a Boy. Congrats, Maureen! You out there? If so, please e-mail us at runmother at gmail dot com with your address, and we’ll ship it promptly…as soon as the lines at the post office die down.

And since we’re all about being generous around the holidays, we want to repost this, as we haven’t heard from either winner yet. You out there, Kathy or Kasey?

The two lucky (and tired) winners of the pair of the Montrail Fairhavens shoes and Mountain Hardwear Geist jacket–and the sacrifices they make for running–are

1. Kathy: The part of my life that takes a hit for running is sleep. If I can’t get out in the early AM I am much less likely to fit it in. I don’t like to sacrifice my family time because that is so limited with work and school and real world activities. So I may not maintain my youthful glow for much longer due to sleep deprivation, but I will certainly live longer and happier with my early morning runs!

2. Kasey: Sleep is always a big sacrifice, especially as a mom where is seems like there is never enough! (who doesn’t love waking up to “MOM I HAVE STINKY POOP” screamed from the bathroom?) I sacrifice fashion, because when it comes down to it how can I spend $80 on cute boots when that is nearly a new pair of running shoes? I sacrifice time with my kids and husband, but I love that my kids ask about my run. I love knowing that they see me making the time to be active, and I know it makes me a much happier mom when I come home.

Congrats Kathy and Kasey! E-mail us at runmother at gmail dot com with your address, sizes for shoes and jacket and color preferences. We’re on it.

So we’re going to run away (ha!) for a few days to celebrate with our families, but will be back in business on January 3rd–and will check in on Sunday for final December goal check-in. If you’ve just found RLAM through the 12K’s, please continue to visit here and our Facebook page–not only do we have great giveaways every Wednesday, we have inspiration, community, support and motivation in spades.

In the meantime, merry, happy, and all that jazz to all of you. xo.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Janette permalink
    December 23, 2010 5:38 am

    Congrats to Maureen!

    Thanks for the awesome giveaways this year, it was a lot of fun even if I didn’t win anything. Maybe next year? 🙂 Wishing you and Sarah a merry Christmas, and a happy and healthy (and injury free!) New Year to you both.

  2. Nancy McM permalink
    December 23, 2010 6:03 am

    Thanks for the chance to win prizes… love reading your blog and find it so inpirational! Merry Christmas to you both, enjoy your time off, and here’s to a healthy, injury-free run happy 2011 🙂

  3. Heidi permalink
    December 23, 2010 6:46 am

    Merry Christmas SBS and Dimity!! It has been such a pleasure reading your posts this year and feeling like part of a community, even though I’ve never met you or any of the others on here. Thank you for this site and all the inspiration you provide day in and day out. Your posts have made me laugh, motivated me to push hard, made me feel like I’m not alone or insane in the things I think and do because you share the same thoughts/feelings/actions. I’ve loved your work since the RW article about your training for NWM, as I related so much to both of you, and I just really, really appreciate you being here and posting and sharing. The forum you’ve created for women/mother runners is an awesome one. Thank you.

    • bowenshea permalink*
      December 23, 2010 8:23 am

      Thank you so much for your appreciation and kind words, Heidi. We’re so glad this tribe and us have provided you with support. We are planning on 2011 travels, so hopefully we’ll get to connect in person next year. Happy holidays!

  4. Bente permalink
    December 23, 2010 6:48 am

    Congratulations to Maureen! I hope you enjoy your Garmin as much as I love mine. Thank you Dimity and Sarah for the wonderful and creative blog and giveaways. Your book is the gift I’m giving to my favorite running partner. I know she’ll love it as much as I do. Merry Christmas!

  5. December 23, 2010 6:50 am

    Thanks for sharing your words of running wisdom. I’ve enjoyed following and love the giveaways (hoping to win something next year – lol). Happy holidays to each of you :). See you next year!

  6. December 23, 2010 7:02 am

    Mmmmm cake walk!
    Congrats Maureen!

    Happy Holidays girls!

  7. Cynthia Fish permalink
    December 23, 2010 8:11 am

    Have a wonderful holiday and a healthy and personal best year everyone!

  8. December 23, 2010 8:22 am

    The 12ks were awesome fun! Happy Holidays all!

  9. Sarah permalink
    December 23, 2010 9:16 am

    I am new to your blog, thanks for the inspiration and information!

  10. December 23, 2010 9:34 am

    I did not win but I sure want to thank you for doing all this! The videos production and giving all the fabulous things! This was great fun!

    Wishing you both a Merry Christmas !
    Joyeux Noel!!!

  11. Susan permalink
    December 23, 2010 9:38 am

    Dimity and SBS,
    Thank you for such a fun contest! I so enjoyed the thrill of it all and reading the entries each day. Even though this is a wonderful time of year, it can be stressful, too. Reading the entries each day was a treat for me. To all the RLAMs out there….thank you for being such a great community!

  12. December 23, 2010 1:16 pm

    Thanks for sharing your words of running wisdom. I’ve enjoyed following and love the giveaways (hoping to win something next year – lol). Happy holidays to each of you :). See you next year!

Leave a Reply

