Skip to content

December Goal: Check #4

December 27, 2010
by

O.k., so I’m 24 hours late with this post: can my excuse be that I have no idea what day it is anymore? Seriously, could be Wednesday, could be Saturday. Doesn’t matter: my house would still be a cluttered mess of Nerf bullets, science experiments and Legos–and my kids would still be high on candy canes.

About to break the tape on December--and welcome 2011!

Another excuse: I was out for a long ride yesterday. Make that a long climb, followed by a long descent. My (game-for-anything) friend Katherine and I rode up Deer Creek Canyon, which is a 3,500-foot climb. At one point during the ride, she yelled, “I hate you!” (What a joker that Katherine is…) Then later, she flipped the bird to a road sign that showed we had .5 more miles of challenging climbing. Because I’d done it before, I knew what I–and my cooked legs–were in for: speeds that barely get over 7 mph. I give her major props: if it would’ve been her leading me for the first time up the Canyon, I would’ve turned around way before she even got pseudo-angry.

Given that the Mt. Taylor Quad has another 600 or so feet of climbing–on top of what we did yesterday–it’s a good thing I’ve kept on track this week. I missed one weight circuit, actually, but other than that, I’m on. And this week, with my husband home all day long, looks to be smoothest sailing yet. I’ll be keeping those quads cranking.

What about you? Did you weather the holiday storm so far? Have you made plans for your workouts this week?

46 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 8:50 am

    I think the best thing to do to get through the holiday hump is schedule your workouts and start working towards new goals BEFORE January 1. I started my third round of Insanity on Christmas Day and I can say I feel perfectly SANE!

  2. December 27, 2010 8:53 am

    Still haven’t managed this holiday well…got in one run this week (out of two I’d hoped for) and still didn’t do the ol’ strength training. I swear, I have no idea why I can’t get that done. My husband’s home this week, and while that should make things easier, it never does…like how he’s out to get huge, real-deal breakfast burritoes right now.

  3. Erin D. permalink
    December 27, 2010 8:54 am

    My running workouts are the only thing keeping me sane through this crazy holiday season!

  4. December 27, 2010 9:00 am

    Doing ok so far, helps that I was already on a training plan for a spring race and that we stayed home for the holiday this year. Got my 8 miles on on Saturday (ow), a short walk w/ a few minutes of running yesterday (“rest” day) and 30 min on the bike, half mile run and the Dimity-demonstrated strength training today, my cross-training day. This is a cut-back week in my plan (first in this cycle), which can make me a tad cranky. Hopefully there won’t be enough people around at work for it to matter. 🙂 We’ll freeze any holiday food left over after tonight’s dinner so we can go back to regular eating for at least a few days before the next food fest at New Year’s, and plan to start the new year off with a run!

  5. Melissa Ann Brook permalink
    December 27, 2010 9:08 am

    I took my run just as it started snowing here in Virginia on Christmas Day, with the intention of taking a few days off to rest and cross train until the snow goes away. I’m planning on getting back out for another run on Wednesday or Thursday when it warms up and the ice melts.

    I’m planning on ringing in the New Year with back to back runs on NYE and NYDay. Since I’m just getting back to it, NYE will be to learn a new route, and NYDay will be to time it and get a good estimate of my per mile time now that I’ve been running a few weeks.

  6. December 27, 2010 9:17 am

    I’m just being pulled along by the post-Christmas current. Made soap this morning with daughters – out of Glamour Girl book Christmas gift…and, I am still officially sick. I don’t do sick. At all. My head feels twice the normal size and weight. I just downed a Pom Chocolate Coffee drink, my hair is spiraled from all directions in overdue highlighting madness. I ran yesterday, much to my husband’s dismay. I’m paying for it. My girls and I are going to see Narnia in 3D and I am going to have fun. Damn the cold. Here’s my plan B: I’m a running MOM, right? So, I have the Houston Marathon in the near horizon – January 30. Lord knows I can stand to shed a few ounces…okay, pounds, ladies, pounds!!! So, I take advantage of feeling poorly by not eating as much – I’m not running as much, so I don’t need as much. I DO need fluids, so I pretty much OD on that. Oh, and last night, I had 2 coffee mugs filled with organic tomato sauce and SBS’s to-die-for turkey pesto meatballs, with a delicate sprinkling of crunched up Ruffles on top. I don’t need pasta all the time… so, with any luck, I’ll come out of this mild sickness (cold on steroids) a pound or two lighter and rested legs. Right??? Right? Yes, right! : )

  7. December 27, 2010 9:27 am

    I have been doing yoga and walking….with my slightly torn meniscus in my left knee, I’ve been pretty frustrated, but moving along…dagnabit! Just received copy of Running Like a Mother and looking forward to the read and the soon to be running…maybe just jogging…ok. still walking for now, but running in the future!

  8. December 27, 2010 9:31 am

    I’ve done well this holiday season and gave myself the past few days off. Looking forward to getting back on track this week!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

  9. December 27, 2010 9:42 am

    I did okay…I could have added a few more miles in, but I did get in an unplanned 10 miles on the bike, so maybe that makes up for it?

  10. Cathy permalink
    December 27, 2010 9:48 am

    no days off this December. Managed to workout every. day. this. month! And in doing so, I realized how easy it really is. When you take away the possibility of excuses and make the time, it’s all workable.
    My plan for 2011 includes some lofty running goals, but also to maintain a regular exercise routine. No more highs and lows, just trying to stay steady.
    I think I’ll be better for it.

  11. Judy permalink
    December 27, 2010 9:48 am

    Mostly on track. My goals: 1. complete 2010 miles for the year -done! 2. strength training daily, done 6 of 7 days- I will do a make up session today. 3. food journal daily – only did 1 of 7 days. I have never been good at this goal. Not sure why. 5 more days to go.

    • Monica permalink
      December 27, 2010 4:29 pm

      Wow! 2010 miles for the year?! I’m struggling and barely going to make my 1000. Nice work.

  12. December 27, 2010 9:54 am

    After I finished my treadmill half a week ago, I took the holiday week off. However, I’m planning on running tomorrow and may fit some yoga in today. 😀

  13. Dede permalink
    December 27, 2010 10:04 am

    I’ve decided this week to reaffirm to myself “why do I run?” Over a year ago I rediscovered a long-lost love-Running. We confirmed our passion for eachother with long, slow times spent together just like old friends. Then I decided to “raise the bar” with my friend and made more demands on it: more time but faster and not as intimate. I set goals which made me happy: 5k,10ks,1/2 marathons,full marathons. I conquered them all but somewhere after the flurry of activity ( confirmed by the purchase of a Garmin 305, which I may not keep now), I realized I lost my love in pursuit of another: time? Recognition? Fitness? All good friends to be sure but not my BEST friend, running for me. Today I ran a very slow 5 miler and turned the watch off mid way. My goal this year?: well, I do have 2 1/2s and 2 full marathons on tap, and I will train, but I think I’ll take my best friend along this year. Happy running

  14. Dee Dee permalink
    December 27, 2010 10:11 am

    Yeah! Back on track after two weeks of missing my long run. Got in a great 13 miler on a pretty trail with an old friend on the 23rd. I swear it was that 2 hours of bliss that helped me make it through the holiday madness. This week looks promising, too! Looking forward to a new local Resolution Run on the 2nd to start the year off on the right foot.

  15. Beverly permalink
    December 27, 2010 10:18 am

    Still on track. Hope to keep this going through 2011! Wasn’t as bad/hard as I thought it would be. Guess that excuse is gone now. If I can keep up with running, etc during the busy time between Thanksgiving and New Year’s, I can certainly do it the rest of the time.

  16. Rebecca J. permalink
    December 27, 2010 10:26 am

    Started the week off right with a nice run close to home this morning. Used my fun Garmin 305 (thanks honey!) for the first time. I can say running makes me feel like nothing else in my life! That’s why I love it so! Last week was so hectic that I only got in 2 runs, but both of them were wonderful!

  17. Joanmarie permalink
    December 27, 2010 10:35 am

    Help me! This entire month has been a bust. I’ve got to pull out of this tailspin.

  18. Darcy permalink
    December 27, 2010 10:51 am

    So it was a good month. I kept on track with running 3 days a week and even added a 4th day on two of the weeks. My endurance has increased as I can now run for 45 minutes or so (with minimal walk breaks). I made it off the treadmill and outside for a few runs. The only goal I didn’t meet was to sign up for a race but I’m working on that and may even go out for 3K fun run on New Years Eve. Loved this goal setting and progress check–thanks for the accountability. Now to plan for 2011!

  19. Danielle permalink
    December 27, 2010 11:01 am

    D.R.A.G.G.I.N.G.
    I’ve managed a run a week. One morning of Jillian M’s yoga meltdown. About a trillion cookies and my 36th birthday cake. Aunt Flo (merry xmas indeed!). I had the best intentions of starting my 36th year off with a brisk run but the rain and wind are amazing deterrents. Hopefully I can pull something out for the last week of 2010…or at least start 2011 with some moving feet.

  20. Celeste permalink
    December 27, 2010 11:03 am

    I got a wonderful 12-miler in on Christmas Eve that buoyed me for the rest if the weekend. 5 miles scheduled early tomorrow morning–we’ll see how that goes. I did get some fun new running gear that will make holiday training that much more fun…

  21. Atha permalink
    December 27, 2010 11:09 am

    Still on track but barely! I will make my 100+ mile goal for the month but I have had to shift things around to make it happen!

  22. Danielle permalink
    December 27, 2010 12:57 pm

    Ugh–even my comment didn’t stick.

    I am D.R.A.G.G.I.N.G.

    Got in a run a week. A day of Jillian M’s yoga meltdown. A trillion cookies and a birthday cake. Aunt Flo.

    Really intended to start my 36th year with a brisk run but rain and wind are convincing deterrents. Hoping I can shake the funk and start 2011 off with my feet moving!

  23. December 27, 2010 1:33 pm

    Definitely more nice than naughty. Got a short run in a Christmas Eve and then did 12 yesterday. Was supposed to be in the car allllll day today but, thank you Blizzard, I am home for another day. So…. some yoga this afternoon. Oh, and about an hour of snow blowing counts for cross training, right? I’m not 100% sure how I’m going to get good runs in for the next couple of days since I’m traveling w/ my kids and w/out my husband, but I’ll manage. My family thinks I’m nuts w/ all my running but they respect it and will certainly keep an eye on my boys for awhile when I go to it!

    Happy 3rd day of Christmas, everyone! Hope those French Hens aren’t pooping all over your houses….

  24. December 27, 2010 1:41 pm

    i’ve slacked on my running for more than enough reasons and i miss it terribly…child got sick…i got sick…then husband and you know how that goes…AND christmas rolled in with tons of last minute that-should-have-already-been-completed-things-to-do

    it’s freezing and snowing here in atlanta and i can’t find my treadmill “key”
    but thankfully the scale hasn’t tipped one single part of a pound!

    i miss my mizunos.

    BUT i am thoroughly enjoying your book that my husband gave me for christmas…can’t seem to put it down!

  25. December 27, 2010 3:02 pm

    Made at least 2/3rds of my goal each week, rounded out with shoveling, x-country skiing, or snowshoeing, which should count for something. Setting the goal at the start of the months seemed to make a difference – I felt I needed to work toward what I posted here! All in all, not perfect, but enough.

  26. Robin permalink
    December 27, 2010 4:02 pm

    Doing fine! Getting in my minimum and substituted a very snowy long run on Christmas Eve (plus some XC skiing thanks to our 7 inches) for my usual Sunday long run. One more swim this week and I’ll hit that goal too. Good idea to plan out my week, I’ve been a little aimless with holiday cooking and family time — just trying to figure out where to squeeze things in. Sort of like figuring out where all the new stuff goes — it’s about strategy!

  27. Kat permalink
    December 27, 2010 4:06 pm

    Mostly chugging along on my goal to not have a goal. One rest day in the past week, got in 3 runs, 3 xt otherwise. However, the pounds keep piling…the cookies are winning.

  28. Annet permalink
    December 27, 2010 4:35 pm

    I have not done so much this month. We are now on Day 21 of rain in December – out of 28 days – argh… And i don’t mean drizzle, I mean rain so loud we have to turn the TV up. So I can’t bike with my toddler on the back, I can’t run on the grass, err swamp, and the pool is too cold to take my toddler with as well… sigh and walking or running would be miserable. wishing it would end, that’s for sure.

  29. December 27, 2010 5:12 pm

    Well, I did OK last week – not horrible – but it could have been better. I ran 2x… gym none. I kept thinking since I didn’t have to go to work I’d just work a run in somehow. Duh! I now remember that’s why I don’t NOT schedule a run to begin with!

    Crossing my fingers that this week will be better since there will be no shopping, traveling, or wrapping. But, the whole family is home, so that could throw a wrench into things as well!

  30. Alecia permalink
    December 27, 2010 5:13 pm

    My goal is simply to get my lazy butt out of bed in the morning!

  31. December 27, 2010 6:01 pm

    It’s been hard to get out with all the mudslides and flooding here in So. Cal. Finally, sunshine toay! I got out and ran 10 miles down at the beach!

  32. Nancy M permalink
    December 27, 2010 6:59 pm

    Last week was good, did my 5 days Mon-Fri as planned. This week so far no good… well, wasn’t planning on Sunday anyway, and then the blizzard hit so didn’t go to the gym this am. Shooting for tomorrow am…
    Happy New Years to all 🙂

  33. December 27, 2010 7:01 pm

    I’m starting to re-condition after being off for a broken foot. Well, it was broken and I ignored it –and, well, painful/frustrating lesson learned. Getting ready for a Winter Run- half marathon in NJ. What could possibly go wrong there?

  34. realrellim permalink
    December 27, 2010 8:02 pm

    Another good week: 18 miles completed (goal 15) and one of one strength workouts done. And we went snowshoeing today, though that doesn’t count for last week.

  35. Linda Williams permalink
    December 27, 2010 9:23 pm

    Did better this week. Ran my two days, including a nice run on Christamas Day. It was great to run with hardly any traffic. And almost all the businesses were closed. I made it to my Tuesday strength class. The only thing that didn’t happen this week was skiing 😦 But I’m gonna make up for that this week! (I’m trying for four days of skiing)

  36. December 27, 2010 10:18 pm

    I don’t know how this December would have gone if I hadn’t made the goal of 4 runs a week. After my last race on 12/3 a lot of emotional turmoil set upon my family. Along with the holidays, I very easily could have just let running slide. I missed a run here and there but over all this month has really worked out. This week, I ran 4 times as planned and I think making it into the new year (along with my 1 year running anniversary) is going to be ok. 🙂

  37. December 28, 2010 4:45 am

    I am running an ultra marathon on January 8 – this is keeping me focused during the holiday season! I ran 27 miles on Dec 23rd and now get to taper (whew).

    The NYC Blizzard has put a damper on running the last two days but I will get out there today.

  38. Heidi permalink
    December 28, 2010 5:02 am

    I worked out every day last week, including 8 miles on Christmas. Was feeling great about my plans for the new year until my tendonitis flared yesterday – now trying to decide whether to push though the pain and risk injury to meet my goal, or reset my goals for the year. (I know which is the smart option, but…) Still – this has to be one of my better Decembers in terms of exercise!

  39. Laurie Allin permalink
    December 28, 2010 9:26 am

    I’m ahead of my December goal of completely a (non-swimmer’s) Ironman. I’ve done over 2.4 Tons of weights, 143 miles of riding so far, and I’m at 27 miles of running and getting motivated to head out for another 3 today.

    Deer Creek Canyon is one of my goals over the next few months. I’ve signed up for my first century – Buena Vista (ride to Leadville and back) need to work on some climbing myself!! Nice job!

  40. December 28, 2010 10:58 am

    Today’s short run is the first scheduled run I’ve missed all month. I have a 101 degree fever and after sleeping 17 hours yesterday, I still feel like something ran me over. I think I read you’re not supposed to run if your sick is below the neck.

    Otherwise, got in all runs since the last check-in, including 12 miles on Sunday. Woo-hoo!

    (okay, just typing is making me tired and queasy- signing off)

  41. December 28, 2010 12:36 pm

    First of all, I love reading all the comments above! What motivation. Even those who aren’t getting in their workouts are *thinking* about them, and at this time of year that’s at least something!

    I managed 6 on Christmas Eve with a dear friend, 7 on Christmas After, and 6.5 on the treadmill today in 1200 intervals. My one regret about today-I didn’t really push myself at all, running a pace that was only slightly uncomfortable for the 1200s. Alas. I did it and felt good.

  42. Laura permalink
    December 28, 2010 3:15 pm

    Work out plan, not going according to plan. Got three great runs in last week (according to plan), but hurt my knee on last run! Then whacked it again on a table on Christmas Eve dinner. Argh! Very short run yesterday followed by more knee pain. Current upside? Got new shoes inserts today to replace my old ones. Hope for good run tomorrow.

  43. Sue permalink
    December 29, 2010 8:52 am

    I managed to get two runs in before a nasty GI bug hit me on Christmas Eve and sent my plans right out the window. Still feeling sick, so the only exercise I’m getting is a lot of “running” to the bathroom 😦 Hope 2011 starts out happier and healthier!!

  44. Jen B permalink
    December 29, 2010 5:21 pm

    I have kept the pressure off this holiday by setting myself a goal of 30-minute runs every other day. It is very do-able despite heavy rains here in Vancouver, and even though the runs are short, I am still getting the benefit of a good sweat each day. But like many of you have said, the cookies, Xmas cake–yes I love it, chocolates, trifle, etc…are all getting the better of me. Oh well, only a few more days of excess, right??!!

Leave a Reply

