Skip to content

A Brief Hello

December 29, 2010
by

Video: an oldie but goodie. And more uplifting than Black Swan or 127 Hours.

Just wanted to drop a line today to say hola to anybody out there who is finding us for the first time thanks to a certain yellow book that recently landed in your hands, via a sister, Santa, a husband or a BRF (best running friend).

We’ll be back to our full schedule next week: shorts essays and observations by Dimity and SBS, a giveaway every Wednesday, and a featured mother runner of the week. So head out for a few more miles, but make sure your route stops back here on Monday (when, ahem, kids are back in school, right? Unless, of course, it’s a teacher planning day. Which is what it is in Denver. But I’m not complaining: plan away, teachers, while I endure one.more.day.of.break.)

In the meantime, though, if anybody wants to fill in your blank for Today I ran…, we never get sick of hearing the responses.

58 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 4:19 pm

    Today I ran 3 miles like a duck in the pouring California rain!!!

  2. Michelle permalink
    December 29, 2010 4:22 pm

    Five slippery miles! I almost went down twice, but managed to recover. Of course both times I nearly fell was while walking. I’ve found if you just keep running, you don’t slip, but if you slow down…
    Also….for those runner who get really annoyed by standing at a cross walk while car after car ignores them….Today, while I stood at a cross walk and was ignored, I was a little happy to see a cop car behind the ignorer, and he got pulled over! Not one to want to ruin anyone’s holidays. I hope he only got a warning, but I couldn’t help but celebrate a victory for pedestrians everywhere!

    • December 30, 2010 1:54 pm

      Michelle: I’m with you on the victory for pedestrians. Hate when I’m standing there for hours…

  3. December 29, 2010 4:25 pm

    Today I ran in 36 degree rain/snow mix coming down. I also cut my run short – because I have a rattly chest cough going on. Had to play it smart!

  4. jord permalink
    December 29, 2010 4:26 pm

    I ran two short miles. While it snowed. Not a big deal to many, but I’m a lifelong Seattle resident and it was a rare treat. Thankfully, it didn’t stick. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Beth permalink
    December 29, 2010 4:59 pm

    On skis! Cross country skis that is. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good fun was had by all – I skied and my daughter went sledding with friends on a hill near the trails.

    • Robin permalink
      December 29, 2010 5:57 pm

      on skis just like Beth!

  6. December 29, 2010 5:00 pm

    Today I ran just over 3 miles and finally hit sub-9 again…despite the snowy sidewalks!

  7. Jen B permalink
    December 29, 2010 5:23 pm

    Today I ran because I started your book last night and was TOTALLY motivated by the first entry about kicking your butt out of bed at 5:30!! Thank you. And thanks to my hubby for the perfect Xmas gift. I have been following your blog for months, and now I get the joy of reading about how it all began.

    • December 30, 2010 1:54 pm

      Thanks, Jen…glad we gave you a little kick. Happy 2011!

  8. Sheryl permalink
    December 29, 2010 5:30 pm

    Today I ran for the 7th beautiful day in Florida on vacation visiting my sister then flew home to snowy New Jersey…… putting the shorts away and pulling out the winter tights!

  9. December 29, 2010 6:49 pm

    Twice.

    I couldn’t run yesterday and won’t have time tomorrow so got up early and ran before work then went out again during my lunch break. A rare (relatively) warm day made it easier to get out.

  10. Alecia permalink
    December 29, 2010 6:54 pm

    Yellow Book? I always thought it was green.

  11. Mandy Robek permalink
    December 29, 2010 7:19 pm

    Thanks for the brief hello. I had your book on my kindle wishlist and found it was free right now. I’m on Chapter 2 and love it. I can’t wait to learn more and follow you. I ran yesterday 2 miles on a treadmill and lifted weights today.

  12. Maran H. permalink
    December 29, 2010 7:21 pm

    Today I ran with a kiddo who had fairy wings duc-taped to her back while I pushed her in the stroller! I thought it looked a little uncomfortable but she was happy and I got a run in.

    • December 30, 2010 1:56 pm

      Love that, Maran! Nothing like kids in costumes, I always say. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. December 29, 2010 8:04 pm

    One more sweaty hour on the mini tramp with no knee pain…four hours this week!

  14. December 29, 2010 9:05 pm

    …in my head only– I’ve got shin splints and have prescribed myself 2 weeks of low-impact exercise. Boohoo. But right after breakfast tomorrow I’m dragging 7 or 8 kids to the rec center with me so they can swim and I can get a good long bike ride.

    Mary, mom to 10

  15. realrellim permalink
    December 29, 2010 9:17 pm

    Today I ran intervals in the dark after dinner to avoid running those 5 miles tomorrow in cold and snow.

  16. Suika permalink
    December 29, 2010 10:22 pm

    Today I ran a hard mountain trail in a skirt in perfect weather in a dry Colorado December.

  17. December 29, 2010 10:30 pm

    In my mind ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. December 29, 2010 10:31 pm

    Oh and I was barefoot…this all hPpened after I read sbs’s awesome article.

  19. Staci permalink
    December 30, 2010 12:02 am

    Today I RAN!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ No kids in school for the freedom of a lone run and hubby at work today. …..had to drag the kids with. The 5 yo in the stroller, the 7 yo off and on his scooter for 6 miles! We did this between rain/sleet/snow squalls! The weather was great for us, and I got a bonus upper body workout with the darn stroller (and a 7 yo off and on it) ๐Ÿ˜‰
    They were treated with Starbucks hot cocoa afterward for being good little troopers. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Was the whole thing peachy? No way. But overall, we did it, and they tolerated it pretty well!

    • December 30, 2010 1:57 pm

      You’re my hero, Staci! 6 miles with 2 kids? Nice. Hope you got a hot cocoa too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. December 30, 2010 5:38 am

    Today I ran to start off my 16 weeks of training. A hip injury has set me back and today I had to get back on track and start all over again. Tomorrow I will be sore I am sure =) LOVE THIS SITE!

  21. Nancy McM permalink
    December 30, 2010 6:01 am

    Great video {I had never seen}! Today I ran 2.5 on the treadmill… not my best, but I did it ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Anna permalink
    December 30, 2010 7:32 am

    Today I ran for the Kleenex box.

    • Laurie A. permalink
      January 1, 2011 4:55 pm

      {{{{{HUGS}}}}} to Anna. Hope whatever led you to the Kleenex box, sadness or illness, lifts soon.

  23. Christina permalink
    December 30, 2010 8:01 am

    Today I ran to hit the snooze button because I did not want to get up.
    But next week I start half marathon training so there will be less of that ๐Ÿ˜‰

  24. Megan permalink
    December 30, 2010 8:29 am

    Today I ran my 5k loop 53 seconds faster than my previous PR! Also, I ran in my new capris I got for Christmas and I tried them out commando for the first time!!!! Must have worked, look at my time! Who knew undies were holding me back so much?

    • Rebecca J. permalink
      December 30, 2010 12:01 pm

      Love it! your whole comment made me laugh.

    • December 30, 2010 1:57 pm

      LOL. Megan. Lose the undies, gain the speed. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • December 30, 2010 3:34 pm

        That would make a great RLAM shirt y’all!!!

  25. December 30, 2010 8:31 am

    Today I haven’t run yet. Hoping the blowing cold rain will stop soon so that I can add just a little bit more milage to this year’s tally!

  26. Rebecca J. permalink
    December 30, 2010 12:03 pm

    Today I ran 4.35 miles (thanks for the accuracy Garmin!) with my rbff and her son (12). He didn’t run the whole way, but most of it, and he seems to be hooked! It was super icy and slick, but I am a believer in YakTrax Pros now! Wish they made some for my Jeep as I need milk and bread from town.

  27. Sherry permalink
    December 30, 2010 12:06 pm

    today I ran 4 1/2 miles and the slickest part was my own driveway!

  28. Stacey B permalink
    December 30, 2010 1:14 pm

    Today I ran 1/2 mile repeats in 15 degree temp. It was COLD but I felt so good when I finished

  29. December 30, 2010 1:20 pm

    Today I ran…because I read your blog! And because you used the word “penultimate”! It’s my most favorite word ever! I taught it to my 2nd graders and they amazed everyone around when they could just slip it into conversation!

    First time visitor – love your blog! Happy New Year! And thanks for getting me off my butt today!

    • December 30, 2010 1:58 pm

      Welcome, Cathy! Sarah will be so proud that you share the penultimate love. She’s a huge fan. (What lucky 2nd graders you have!)

  30. Stacy Brown permalink
    December 30, 2010 5:15 pm

    Today I ran on the treadmill to be strong….physically AND mentally!

    Love the video…makes me happy everytime I watch it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. Leslie Baker permalink
    December 31, 2010 8:29 am

    Loved the video! Especially since I knew the minute it started that it was Nike! 2010 Nike was my first marathon and it was th most amazing feeling to cross that finish line! My sister in law ran by my side the enetire 26.2 and we both completed our triple crown with Team in Training the way we started it three years ago..together! As someone who used to sit on the couch, it was a HUGE accomplishment! That day I RAN…for my honorees, to show my kids how important exercise is, and to prove to myself I can do anything I set my mind to!

  32. Jessica permalink
    December 31, 2010 12:39 pm

    Last night I ran 30 minutes on the tredmill. Tonight I plan to run outside when the cool front rolls in. I recieved the ever so popular “yellowish-green” RLAM book for Christmas…YEAH! And I also bought one for a gift for a runner too! I’m loving it! Thank you Dimity & Sarah!

  33. December 31, 2010 2:23 pm

    Dimity,
    I just finished reading your RLAM book, gifted to me for the holidays. I have to pump about 6 times a day to feed my little 5 month old piglet (love that reference by the way!) and spend that 60 minutes a day reading. Your book was PERFECT because 10 minutes equated to about a chapter in your book. It made me renew my commitment to running this year… thanks for writing it! I LOVED it and will be sure to keep up with your blog!
    Thanks!
    Ruth

  34. Jackie permalink
    December 31, 2010 2:23 pm

    5 miles, which put my right at 700 on the year!

  35. Kristen S. permalink
    December 31, 2010 2:45 pm

    to celebrate my 101 pound weight loss this year, a big thank you to Run like a mother for helping me thru it the entire way. I found you searching the web for motivation and inspiration for the daunting task ahead, and you all helped me realize my goals and made me a better mother for it, I ran, and ran, and ran this year!!!!

    • Laurie A. permalink
      January 1, 2011 4:58 pm

      Kristen, you are a ROCK STAR! I hope you are patting yourself on the back everytime you run. WHat an inspiration.

  36. Melissa Stephens permalink
    January 1, 2011 8:39 pm

    Today I ran day one of my training for the Dallas Rock n Roll 1/2 marathon in March!

  37. Cindy from the north permalink
    January 1, 2011 9:08 pm

    Today I ran the 5K Resolution Run in -9 degrees C to prove to myself that I could be a winter runner, and got the bonus of my best time without planning to!

  38. Susan permalink
    January 2, 2011 1:03 pm

    Today I ran 4 miles at Waterton Canyon. Best I have felt in a long time.

  39. Tara Mataraza Desmond permalink
    January 2, 2011 7:05 pm

    Today I ran under the weight of holiday indulgences, in the rain, with a sleeping baby in the BOB. Anticipated feeling terrible but loved feeling fresh and fast(ish) instead.

  40. ice cream addict permalink
    January 2, 2011 8:02 pm

    Today I ran a painful 3.3 thanks to a very sore calf. I’m hoping it’s just from neglecting the hills while I was on vacation as opposed to something that is going to be a true problem.

  41. January 4, 2011 7:40 am

    Today I ran because your book made it OK for me to want to get up at 5:30AM and try it. I’m slow, but I know I’ll get faster…

    PS I linked here on my most recent post. Is that OK?

  42. January 4, 2011 8:41 am

    I know I’m late, but on the 29th, I ran 3.32 miles to make up for bailing on a terrible half-marathon training run the night before. (No headphones on the dreamill with only sports on the tvs to distract me, added to leaden legs was just a death march on the 28th. Overcast skies, quiet run the next morning–29th–was MUCH better, even though the legs still felt like lead.)

  43. January 12, 2011 5:20 pm

    Today I ran 4 miles at Waterton Canyon. Best I have felt in a long time.

Leave a Reply

