Skip to content

“How Was Your Day, Honey?”

January 3, 2011

While I’m not totally up on new media (like, what is Foursquare other than my third-grader’s recess game of choice?), but lately I’ve been laughing my butt off over Xtranormal movies (or, “robot movies” as Dimity calls them because she can’t ever remember the real name), like this one about moms of multiples. Inspired by Dim spearheading the 12K’s of the Holidays YouTube vids, I resolved to make a Run Like a Mother Xtranormal movie. “You should make it be about a woman who is plagued by all these injuries,” Dimity suggested, not surprisingly. “Nope. I’m doing one about a husband who is clueless about all his wife does in a day–and her running,” I replied.

As I started typing text and arranging camera angles, I realized I needed to paint the scene with a fairly wide brushstroke. The husband had to be over-the-top lame, yet still elicit some oh-it’s-so-true chuckles and nods. To add some, ahem, realism, I borrowed choice lines from my own husband, Jack. But he’s not the green-shirt-wearing guy in this movie: Jack progressed a long way in 2010 in terms of appreciating my running and my never-ending contributions to the smooth-ish running of our family life. So, thanks, honey. And how was your day?

If our little flick strikes a chord, please pass it around to your gal-pals. And share with us any zingers your husband (or boss, in-law, or neighbor) have uttered lately.

34 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 5:09 am

    THANK YOU! What a great way to ease me back into the real world after a week off. I can’t wait to find out what happens next! Thank goodness my husband is not such a dolt….

  2. Mariale permalink
    January 3, 2011 5:23 am

    Hahaha that’s hilarious! Well done sbs my husband couldn’t be more like that guy!

  3. January 3, 2011 5:58 am

    “used as a support beam”

    hysterical!

    you used the kids’ names of one of my good friends from CF, Ohio. Funny!

    Was waiting for her to flip him off right there at the end 🙂

    good work, SBS!

  4. Deborah permalink
    January 3, 2011 6:31 am

    Ha ha, hilarious! I particularly liked the “17 pound weight…um….baby.”

  5. Bente permalink
    January 3, 2011 6:43 am

    Thanks for the laugh this morning!

  6. Andrea Lehman permalink
    January 3, 2011 6:45 am

    Luv it! Will share with my friends!!

  7. Maria permalink
    January 3, 2011 7:01 am

    Was I dreaming?? Now that we’ve had #4, proud to say Dad is very well versed on what to do. Made me think of the old days though. Very funny!!

  8. Kristen permalink
    January 3, 2011 7:12 am

    So, what are you making for dinner?…..I shot snot on the computer screen!!! OMG, are you sure it’s not my husband we are sharing?

  9. January 3, 2011 7:23 am

    Very nice! I may be able to top it, though. Last night while having dinner with friends, I was saying how sad I was to not be running the half marathon we signed up for together( this weekend), and my (usually considerate) husband said “Well then you shouldn’t have broken your foot” !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    He owes me something pretty. Speaking of which, I need to head over to athleta.com for some payback …..

  10. January 3, 2011 8:29 am

    BAAHAHAH! i’m dyin’! this is fantastic. (and i LOVE LOVE LOVE the nursing references! woohoo!!!) please make the sequel!
    check out “training for an ironman”, while you’re watching these things.

    • bowenshea permalink*
      January 3, 2011 11:35 am

      Michelle–
      I LOVE the Training for an Ironman Xtranormal! Also the marathon one. I just adore the built-in deadpan delivery of the animation. My other book is The Essential Breastfeeding Log–I half-joke my two passions in life are running and breastfeeding.
      -SBS

  11. January 3, 2011 8:50 am

    HYSTERICAL! Love the link -thanks for sharing – I’m wondering how I can get my students to use this…

  12. Katie Pace permalink
    January 3, 2011 8:53 am

    HA HA HA!!!! “I’m fine as long as I don’t walk, bend, climb stairs………..” That is classic! Way to go, SBS!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      January 3, 2011 11:36 am

      Ahhhh, one of my favorite lines, too. Dare I admit I thought the movie was fairly funny…until I listened to it as Jack watched it on his iPhone. Then I thought it was HILARIOUS!!!

  13. KathyinMN permalink
    January 3, 2011 8:54 am

    …used it as a support beam in the tree house. Almost fell off my chair laughing!

  14. Kathy permalink
    January 3, 2011 9:23 am

    Too funny and yet very true at times in my house:(.

  15. Sue permalink
    January 3, 2011 9:33 am

    Hysterical! I’m relieved to know that Green-Shirt Guy isn’t just my husband! Thanks so much for this!

  16. Alecia permalink
    January 3, 2011 9:37 am

    Haha! My husband doesn’t have one specific line, but on the rare occasion that he has to get up with the kids I come home to “OMG! Your sone won’t quit whining. I can’t do anything to make him happy! Your daughter won’t listen and she just drew on the wall with a sharpie! All I want to do is sit down and eat my breakfast!” I love those mornings. 🙂

    • bowenshea permalink*
      January 3, 2011 11:37 am

      Oh-ho: When the kids are misbehaving they are “your” kids–we can’t have that!!! Maybe this movie becomes required viewing for our hubbies?!

  17. Janice S permalink
    January 3, 2011 9:41 am

    This was really funny! Yet, it made me feel SO fortunate. My husband is the complete opposite of this guy. He supports me in every way—with housework, kids and my hobbies! ♥ Thanks for the reminder of how lucky I am!!

  18. Jenny C. permalink
    January 3, 2011 9:56 am

    Ha Ha! I’m so lucky my husband is not too much like that at all. That’s because he’s a runner too. And fortunately my youngest is almost 10 and he goes to school and I go to work. But I do remember those days when he was a baby and I was home all day with him….. Ugh!

  19. January 3, 2011 11:28 am

    Omg – that was so funny!
    … make a sign… ‘there’s always a possibility…?’ Really? hahaha
    … ‘so, what did you make for dinner…?’ Really? Bahahaha!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      January 3, 2011 11:38 am

      Okay, since you called it out, I’m going to ‘fess up: That “It is always possible” is stolen VERBATIM from Jack. I kid you not. Sigh….

      • rachel i permalink
        January 6, 2011 7:27 am

        yeh, gotta love the non committal “its always possible”. …as in, well, pigs COULD start flying

  20. January 3, 2011 11:53 am

    so you are married to my husband too.

    😉

  21. Jackie permalink
    January 3, 2011 2:45 pm

    The best part was how he kept going on and on, and then had to take a second before he actually remembered to ask about her. So male!!!

  22. Jessica permalink
    January 3, 2011 7:08 pm

    Thank you SO much for the laugh! I needed it after today for sure! : ) We have three little ones & mom sick with a stomach virus. We are crossing our fingers the baby doesn’t get it too! But as in the movie my 17 pounder is nursing like crazy so maybe she will be just fine! I read RLAM book before bed last night & was so pumped to get out there and run…so maybe I can fight this virus and get to running soon!

  23. Beth permalink
    January 3, 2011 7:37 pm

    Perfection. The end conversation about the half-marathon was stolen from my house, I swear!

    Me: “When I run the half-marathon it would be so great if you and the girls were there at the finish line.”

    Husband: “You know, running isn’t really a spectator sport. What am I supposed to do with them?”

    Seriously!? I feel your pain. 🙂

  24. Erica Richards permalink
    January 3, 2011 8:23 pm

    very funny and my husband liked it too! He thought green shirt guy was going to ask his wife if she wanted to fool around!!

  25. joan permalink
    January 3, 2011 9:25 pm

    that’s hilarious! great job! will there be a sequel, as suggested by the title? maybe include a bit about pushing strollers… my husband pretty much **refuses** to push a stroller while running. (‘it’s so uncomfortable.’) he’s relatively new to running, and i’m proud of him, but, ahem, i’m faster than he is, even with a stroller. he laments that fact, but, truly, i do encourage him to keep it up, and he’s definitely welcome to push the stroller from time to time!

  26. Janelle permalink
    January 4, 2011 1:00 am

    encore… love it… just what I needed as I hold my 16 month old whom has been on antibotics for 8 days, running a fever and can’t sleep flat. Instead of running outside, we are running to doctors 😦

    I loved the ‘possibly’ line…. here that often! and 17 pound weight, I mean baby

    I say that all the time, oops…

  27. January 4, 2011 7:28 am

    fantastic! i’m so lucky my husband is amazing & is aware of how hard motherhood is… but this made me laugh hysterically!

  28. Staci permalink
    January 5, 2011 9:28 am

    THat’s funny!! I agree with others in that I am so blessed my husband is not such a dolt! LOL!!

  29. Csaf permalink
    January 7, 2011 7:17 am

    I usually don’t get into these xtranormal videos, but oh my — that was funny! The last line was the BEST.

Leave a Reply

