Skip to content

Follow This Mother

February 17, 2011

Rock the socks: Carrie, 9 months preggo, running part of daugther's first 5K

Ever since we connected with a crack-us-up scrapbook-blogger last year, Dim and I have had a soft spot in our hearts for crafty runners. Thus I immediately warmed up to Carrie Lundell, a sewing maven, marathoner, and mother of four, when our virtual paths crossed on Twitter.  A runner for only two years, Carrie’s already blazing an impressive path, including running a marathon when she was four months pregnant.

Best recent run: Running the Surf City Half Marathon at the beginning of February, 10 weeks after the birth of my fourth child. It felt so good and so bad (as in, “my uterus is falling out” bad) all at the same time.

 16 weeks, 26.2 miles: Once I found out I was pregnant, I had the choice to either change my “under 4 hour” marathon goal or give up completely. The latter is just not in my personality, so a change is what I had to do. I was very disappointed at first, but that marathon at 16 weeks pregnant was such a wonderful and enjoyable experience and something that I will always share with my little guy (who my daughter thought I should’ve named “Miles” after all the miles we ran together).

Carrie and her littlest fan after Surf City Half Marathon, 10 weeks post-partum

Nursing station: Honestly, I feel like I’m still trying to figure out running + breastfeeding. I’ve noticed hydration is super-important right now in relation to my milk supply. Logistically, the baby is on a really nice schedule, so I can often plan accordingly, running between feedings. During my first half-marathon, I was gone a longer stretch of time so he took a bottle from dad. By the end of the race, I was really feeling it though. I think I grew a cup size in the last mile.

Crafting v. running: Without both creating and running in my life, I am not happy. After the birth of my fourth child, I quickly realized how important running is to my state of mind. It’s a time to clear my head and feel like I am regaining control of my body. It’s the quickest way to chase the baby blues away. Creating is something that comes from deep in my soul. If I don’t let it out, I feel like I’m going to explode. Sometimes the two merge and I refashion race shirts!

Can’t run without: My double Chariot trailer/jogger with baby sling insert. I literally could not run more than once a week if I couldn’t take my little ones with me.

Girls Rule: I can’t say enough about having good training companions. It is so much more fun (and easy to get out the door) if you have someone to train with. We’re also pretty competitive, so we push each other to go faster and farther. And A Girls’ Night Out mountain bike ride, lap swim, or 10-mile run is so much more fulfilling than dinner and a movie. I’ve made some incomparable memories with my training friends.

The Relay: The Relay was one of the best races I’ve ever participated in (even though our team came in second to last). It’s tough to pinpoint what was the best part: running through San Francisco’s Presidio at 3 a.m. with the only sound being the waves crashing against the shore;

Jumping for joy at the finish line of The Relay

sleeping under the Golden Gate Bridge with the coolest group of girls around; resuscitating my old cheerleading skills and dance moves to encourage the runners; flying down the backside of a mountain for six miles at a sub-7:00 pace. Relay races join the best parts of running with the best parts of team sports.

Follow this mother at: http://thismamamakesstuff.com

26 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 3:37 am

    I don’t have 4 kids, but I also ran a full marathon when 4 months preggo, a 5K at 39 weeks, and a half 9 weeks postpartum. The PP half I was just trying not to leak from my downstairs or my chest.

  2. February 17, 2011 5:51 am

    Hahaha! “I think I grew a cup size in the last mile.” Been there! Busted the zipper on a bridesmaid dress because of it. I love seeing that your pregnancy didn’t slow you down at all. I’ve been wanting a third kiddo, but didn’t want to lose my base.

  3. February 17, 2011 5:53 am

    This has to be one of the most amazing moms that has been featured (all are amazing in their own ways though!!!!). And what a friggin’ great idea about the girls night out being fitness based and not chick flick ridden. I am totally motivated to get this going here in Okinawa. Especially since the heat will soon set in and then the only time to run outdoors is either before the sun come s up or long after is has gone down.
    Seeing the picture of her running with her baby bump was very motivational and I will definitely send a link of this to my g/f who is currently prego w/ baby #2 and baby #1 is not even 1yr old yet. This will def be motivating for her.
    I love this part of the blog!

  4. February 17, 2011 6:52 am

    I admire women who get back to running so quickly after baby. It’s no small feat, and they make it seem so easy!?!?!?

    • bowenshea permalink*
      February 17, 2011 5:12 pm

      I get the sense Carrie is very organized (her sewing area is a picture of tidy!), so I’m sure that helps.

  5. February 17, 2011 8:07 am

    Now that’s AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Tryna permalink
    February 17, 2011 9:06 am

    I love this post, mostly from the perspective of being impressed by the marathon at 4 months preggo (Go girl) but also because I have been wanting inspiration from a fellow mom and crafter runner. Thanks for posting her blog, I will be watching. I just glanced and the first post is about a love scarf! I am among friends.

  7. February 17, 2011 9:19 am

    Kari ran the relay with Carrie and would not stop talking about her as she and I trained during last year and ran together during one of our half marathons at Disneyland. I ran ahead of Kari and saw Carrie and other Team Sparkle members cheering on the sidelines and unfortunately I missed the chance to run with Carrie, who I might add was about to pop pregnant. Seeing her cheer with her big ol’ baby belly as I ran past and knowing she was going to be running with Kari only inspired me to keep on running along faster and stronger.

  8. February 17, 2011 9:34 am

    I’m friends with Carrie and am always inspired by everything she does. I thought that once I started having kids that my racing career would be over, but she has shown me that you can do it all. She’s awesome!

  9. February 17, 2011 10:22 am

    The entire time I was reading this, I was thinking “PLEASE let this girl have a blog. She is my hero, I want to be her!” Running that much with FOUR kids? Somehow I can’t quite get it together with 1. Thank you for continuing to feature these amazing mother runners!

  10. Megan permalink
    February 17, 2011 10:35 am

    Now feeling completely inadequate. 😉 (Not really but she is officially in the same category as Faith Hill…Don’t even get me started…)

  11. McKay permalink
    February 17, 2011 11:35 am

    I’m lucky enough to be a friend of Carrie’s, and I can say with all honesty that she is inspiring in many many many ways, her enjoyment of and dedication to her training being just one of them. She’s probably dying of embarrassment reading this and any other gushy comments, shrugging them off. But I can truly say that she is awesome. 🙂

    As a “former” runner who is trying to get back to it while juggling motherhood, New England winter, and the newest part of my life, the full-time-job, I appreciate her encouragement, and I’m happy to have been directed to your book & blog!

  12. February 17, 2011 2:14 pm

    Carrie is a rockstar!!! She also takes time to volunteer at her daughters’ school, and in the community. We can all aspire to be like Carrie. Now, I just need to get a clone…

  13. sarah permalink
    February 18, 2011 7:42 am

    Wow. I, like Zarah, can barely get it together to run with 1 kid. I’m training for a 1/2 marathon & am 8months post-partum – and did a 1/2 at 12 weeks pregnant, and I feel like such a slacker compared to… I mean inspired by Carrie 🙂

  14. February 18, 2011 2:19 pm

    Great feature on Carrie! She is awesome!
    🙂 Sara

  15. February 18, 2011 2:35 pm

    WOW MOM

  16. February 18, 2011 2:38 pm

    I’m not going to lie, I’m a little jealous! I am preggers with my fourth and this one is tough, have definitely lost my base and speed. My doc vetoed my want to run a half in May (would be around 30wks) or the one in Sept (PP maybe 6 months). Instead I set a goal of a full marathon in 2012.

    Inspired to see all you other Mommy’s doing amazing things in your pregnancy.

  17. julie permalink
    February 18, 2011 3:24 pm

    very jealous and VERY inspired

  18. Megan permalink
    February 18, 2011 4:54 pm

    This was really inspiring to me! I am currently trying to get preggers with #2, but part of me is so worried about losing my running edge (I was out of shape pre-pregnancy last time). It is so wonderful and refreshing to see Moms, pregnant and not, make fitness a priority!

  19. February 18, 2011 6:15 pm

    Inspirational x 100000!!!!!

  20. Molly permalink
    February 18, 2011 6:31 pm

    I am new to sewing. Love it almost as much as training for triathlons :0). If there were only more time in the day…
    Going to check out your tutorials.

  21. February 19, 2011 5:12 pm

    Yeah and having that cup in you without a baby nearby is darn painful! Wow, you really are amazing. I only have one kid but I’ve never run like that when I was preggy. Def one hot momma!

  22. February 23, 2011 3:37 pm

    All these nice comments have made my week! Thanks everyone. I’m so glad to be part of the “Run Like a Mother” community.

  23. Sarah permalink
    February 26, 2011 10:23 pm

    Oh my gosh! I need your encouragement! I have six kids and my youngest is 9 weeks old and I’m breastfeeding and I’m a full-time student and I’m separated! I am having a hard time getting my butt out the door to run. But I really need to, I’m 25 lbs overweight. I lost 20 lbs last year before I got preggo, and I managed to keep 15 of those pounds off. Where do you find the time?
    -Sarah K.

  24. February 27, 2011 5:41 pm

    let me add my sentiments to the people who know carrie (through the internet, of course.) she has already paid it forward for me by always pushing me and encouraging me in my running and sewing. she totally rules.

Trackbacks

  1. Team Sparkle Blog | Follow This Mother

Leave a Reply

