Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

March 3, 2011

Jill (black Nike cap in front) and a bunch of her "bloggie buddies" post-race

I love how social Jill Ellingson, a mom of two boys in Tacoma, Wash., is. In addition to running with local gal-pals, she’s also become tight friends with a bevy of other mommy-runner bloggers who she met up with for her first marathon last June. Jill’s plan was to run/walk/run the race, but once she got chatting with one of her blogger-buddies, she got to mile 11 without taking any walking breaks. (Oooops!) Catch up with this social butterfly.

Best recent run: I recently started running with a friend of mine who has lost more than 70 pounds. On our first run, she ran 5K (3.1 miles) for the first time without walking. On our next run, she said she wanted to a little further so we set out for 5 miles. The run could not have gone any better! Not only did she run some major hills, she also ran the entire way and killed her pace by almost a minute! It was amazing to be a part of someone running 5 non-stop miles for the first time.

26.2 in 2010: I get excited just remembering it! My training was great, not always fun, but it went really well with no injuries. I had to revamp my training as I went along since sick days and family vacations happen. That’s what’s great about training…you can make it work for you. I also had great people around me who had run numerous marathons, and I chatted with them a lot during my training. It’s not just about marathon day…it’s the journey! Even though the race (Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle) itself didn’t go according to my plan—because I hadn’t taken my usual walking breaks, my stomach cramped so it took me 5:01 instead of under-5:00 as I’d hoped–it was still great because I did it! I finished and there was no better feeling than crossing the finish line with my family and friends watching me do it. You only have one first marathon.

Making muscles: Last year for my marathon all I did was run. I couldn’t focus on anything other than my running. This year I’m changing it up with weights training. I work out with a trainer once a week and have been taking classes three times a week that incorporate weights, squats, push-ups, and other strength moves. It’s been a great change and a blast doing classes with my friends. I know all of this will make me a stronger runner, but right now my legs are working new muscles that running doesn’t work out so they are adapting, which has made for some slow runs with my sore legs.

Can’t run without: My TMB Endurance Bands–I love them! I had a hard time finding something to hold my hair back–I hate it when my hair is in my face–and these are totally awesome and stay on my small head.

 

Ho-ho-ho: Jill (light green) and her elfen friends decked out for a holiday fun run

Friends indeed: Our passions bring us together! The conversations I’ve had over runs have been so memorable. It seems like you open up a lot while you run. With all our technology relationships (texting, Facebook, etc.), facetime with people seems rare, but running gives you that time. I’ve also made some great friends through blogging, which took me by surprise. I’m so lucky to live in an area with some extraordinary bloggers. Also meeting out-of-town bloggers has been a fabulous experience. We’ve met to carbo-load the night before our races, which have been a blast!

All smiles: Jill and Erin after their nonstop, hill 5-miler.

Up next: 2010 was a big year for me, and it made me realize I’m an all-or-nothing gal. I needed to bring a little more balance to my life for my sanity and my family. There are a handful of races I really want to do, but currently I’m only registered for Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle in late June. I’m kind of taking it a day at a time and focusing on cross training, weights, and making it all work with my running.

Follow this mother at: http://running2sanity.blogspot.com/

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 6:08 am

    Blogging friends are the best! I wish I lived in a runner-blogging-heavy area so I could meet up with other bloggers…maybe some day (who wants to run in KS or NE??). lol

  2. Laurie A. permalink
    March 3, 2011 6:29 am

    Running friends are the BEST! My friends ran the whole Disney Princess Half with me this past weekend even though I was in corral F (aka the party corral) and they were in higher corrals. They sacrificed PR’s so that we could do it together. Love them so much! I have told them that our next half (Rock and ROll Savannah) is going to be every gal for herself so we can all do our best, but to have had that support during my first half was AMAZING!

  3. March 3, 2011 6:57 am

    Very cool.

  4. March 3, 2011 7:36 am

    I love my West Coast buddy, Jill. She is an awesome friend, mom and runner. Great write up!

  5. March 3, 2011 9:53 am

    Man I miss having running buddies. I am a stay at home mom so having a buddy to run with is priceless but right now I haven’t found that partner or group or women and go figure I live in track town USA. Hmmm, where do I find you ladies.

    • bowenshea permalink*
      March 3, 2011 10:02 am

      Corrine–Have you done any runs with Run Momma Run in Eugene!? They do weekly runs on weekday mornings, welcoming all paces. The organizer, Laura, is awesome. Check them out: http://www.runmommarun.com. I’m sure you’d make some running buddies thru it. Also look into Chubby Mommy Running Club there. (I’m not making any judgments.) The founder of that, Julie, is great, too. http://www.ChubbyMommyRunningClub.com

  6. March 3, 2011 10:58 am

    YAY Jill. I have to say, Jill is probably one of the NICEST and most outgoing people I’ve met in my life. I can’t wait to do a couple long runs with her as we gear up for RnR in June & to see her smiling face on race morning!

  7. March 3, 2011 12:28 pm

    Yay Jill! She’s simply the best running buddy, except that she likes to finish on a super long hill!

  8. March 3, 2011 1:07 pm

    I (heart) you JILL! You’re great, and funny, and inspirational, and funny,… Truly Jill is a mommy to follow!

  9. March 3, 2011 7:51 pm

    This is my friend Jill. She inspires me every day. I don’t know what I would do without her. She is the best!

  10. Brydie permalink
    March 3, 2011 8:38 pm

    This sounds like a great group of friends. I just fell in love with running this year but have done it mostly on my own. I have a friend who will run if I coax her enough but sometimes I need the coaxing. I’m soon to be a stay at home mom (yea!) and can’t wait to have a more flexible schedule to fit in runs and training. Anyone know of any mom / women running groups in Bellingham, WA?

  11. March 3, 2011 9:10 pm

    How awesome! Jill is one of the funniest women I know and the nicest! Thanks for highlighting her. I love these profiles. 🙂

  12. Mom permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:18 pm

    Well what can I say…Jill is my daughter and she is awesome! Jill is an all or nothing gal…and it has served her well. She is a great daughter, mother, wife and friend! I am so proud of her and had the privilege to run her first half marathon with her. She inspires me everyday to be a better person and Christian! Love her with all my mite!

  13. March 3, 2011 10:25 pm

    Yay, Jill! Add me to the {love} Jill list! Met her at Seattle Rock N Roll and she is the sweetest, most genuine person. Read her blog people! She is a gem.

  14. March 4, 2011 12:05 am

    Jill is FANTASTIC! She brings a real spark and liveliness to our fun NW group of running ladies/bloggers. She is a hoot! Great interview with one kick-butt momma!

  15. March 4, 2011 4:48 am

    So proud of you Jill!!!!!! You’re pretty much amazing!!!

  16. Rhonda permalink
    March 4, 2011 5:53 pm

    I love the idea of blog friends. I’m looking to connect on Daily Mile, since my real life friends don’t seem to be on it. If anyone else wants to connect, look for me (Rhonda K with the photo of NB WT100 shoes).

  17. Stacy K permalink
    March 4, 2011 6:03 pm

    Jill is a very awesome, enthusiastic person indeed! She cheered me on in out & backs during the soggy, wet You Go Girl Half last Sept. I didn’t realize it was her at the time but it sure helped!!

  18. March 4, 2011 6:47 pm

    awesome! I run with my hubs which I love but it would be so fun to have some girl running buddies!

  19. March 6, 2011 7:12 pm

    This running mom makes a lot of good points about meeting new friends via blogs, how rare face time is anymore and the importance of making your training fit your life and family! As always – very inspiring!

Leave a Reply

