Skip to content

Happy RLAMiversary Week!

March 21, 2011
by


This made me teary and laugh at the same time. Love that combo.

Run Like A Mother hit bookstores across the country on March 23, 2010, so happy, happy RLAMiversary to us! By us I mean all of us, every single person reading this, from those who just started running last month to those who have logged tens of thousands of miles. From speedsters to back-of-the-packers, from stroller-pushers to those pushing menopause, from barefooters to barely-making-it-homers.

In one short year, we all have solidified a community of thousands and thousands of women who realize that me-time is a necessity, not a luxury; that taking care of yourself is integral to taking care of your family; that stepping outside your comfort zone takes guts and isn’t always pleasant–but is soooo worth it; that running isn’t just exercise, but also meditation in motion; that cheering on your co-runners makes you that much more inspired to get out there yourself.

O.k., enough with the Oscar speech, but suffice it to say, we love we get to hear your triumphs, troubles, and TMI updates. Thank you, thank you for letting us be a part of your lives.

Now, like the zitty teenager in a bad uniform who has to lay out the rules before 8-year-old boys can bust out in laser tag, we wanted to lay out a few housekeeping things before we can celebrate:

1. RLAM-iversary runs! Fun runs–or run/walks or walks–that are either 5K or 5 miles and involve no pressure except to chat with each other. In Portland and Denver, April 9. All the info is here as well as on our Facebook page, where you can RSVP and invite friends to join you (here’s Denver info on FB; here’s Portland info on FB). Please RSVP, if possible, as we’re cooking up some most excellent goodie bags and other treats, and would love to know how many of your beautiful faces we’ll be seeing. (And we apologize to the rest of the country for not being able to be everywhere at once, but since you’re a mom, we’re betting you understand that.)

2. But maybe we should be calling them AMR-iversary Runs, as we’re rebranding to another mother runner. Why the switch? Because there’s nothing we like more than to be constantly in flux.

Actually, we wanted an umbrella term that includes Run Like A Mother, our upcoming book Train Like A Mother (out in March of 2012), and this rockin’, badass community that always continues to inspire and amaze. While the book has brought us together, we are so much more than 224 pages.

Plus, I just love this sentence: There goes another mother runner.

When they're part of the workout, you can't question it.

3. Not in Portland or Denver? We’d love for you to gather a few of your girlfriends, go out for a fun run, then grab a latte and/or doughnut after the run and post a few shots on the Facebook page. (One of my favorite little parts of the book is when Amy says she ends her Saturday long runs at Dunkin’ Donuts. “It’s part of the workout.”)

4. Which leads nicely into this point: You don’t have to be in Portland or Denver to be part of this week-long, Internet-centric celebration.

Here’s what we have lined up:
Monday: You’re looking at it.
Tuesday: Our first ever podcast! (If we can get it locked and loaded…fingers crossed.)
Wednesday: We roll into our best Hump Day Giveaway yet.
Thursday: We’ll Follow a Mother who has been integral to our success.
Friday: An inspirational story or two from field.
Saturday: A round-up of your videos. (Which is another way of saying you have until Friday night to get them to us. We know you guys have creativity and humor in spades. Let’s see it!)
Sunday: A vote for the videos to see who will win a brand new badass mother runner hat or visor.

But that’s not all. No, that is not all.

Another unfocused pic. But a few things about these bands: we will sell them on our site within a few weeks. We also realize we have gone slightly overboard with the badass word, so we will sprinkle in another mother runner now too. You know you're badass; your 3rd grader just doesn't need to.

Our midday status update every day this week on Facebook will be about the book Run Like A Mother: something related to which part you liked most, least, what you want more of, etc. Using our fave random.org, we will pick a random winner from the list of responders, and send you one of our brand new BAMR Sweaty Bands!

5. In addition to our race stops, a few somewhat random places we’ll be in the future:
—Today, at 9 a.m. PST, we will be chatting with Leslie Irish Evens of Peeling Mom off the Ceiling. It’s streaming live here.
—On April 2, I–Dimity–will be speaking at the Denver Endurance Conference, an informative symposium on everything from injury prevention to how to run a perfect race.
—In August, SBS and I will be co-hosting the Colorado stop of Run Wild Retreats, a four-day, three-night trail running extravaganza for everybody from beginners to ultra-runners. Yoga, wine + cheese, other great eats, and expert presentations are also part of the amazing package.

So that’s it for now. I’m off to eat a piece of cake to get this party started.

46 Comments leave one →
  1. BigDogMom permalink
    March 21, 2011 4:08 am

    Happy Birthday, RLAM! This is gonna be a great year for you!

  2. Carla O. permalink
    March 21, 2011 4:14 am

    Happy Anniversary, another mother runner! I just celebrated my one-year runniversary over the weekend, too! Keep up the great work – it’s nice to have a place to read about the trials, tribulations, successes, and joy of other running mothers out there!

  3. March 21, 2011 5:08 am

    Happy RLAMiversary! And I love “another mother runner”, especially for the bands. You guys are awesome (and I don’t say that just because I was a “follow this mother”. LOL) Here’s to another wonderful year! And you totally need to come out to DC so we can do a beer run. Just sayin’.

  4. Carolyn permalink
    March 21, 2011 5:15 am

    Congratulations to RLAM!! I can’t tell you how much your book, your daily blog postings, and the ongoing sharing among followers has kept me moving and motivated. Thank you!!

  5. Laura B permalink
    March 21, 2011 6:06 am

    So wonderful! I can’t wait to see what another year brings for another mother runner. Thanks so much for all the inspiration, laughs, motivation and information this past year. Happy Anniversary.

  6. March 21, 2011 6:08 am

    Sarah & Dimity – happy anniversary week! This was a great birthday present for me last year (didn’t know you unwillingly sent me a bday present, huh?)!! One of my favorite books – I may have to get out my copy and read it again to celebrate. I have enjoyed the book, the blog, the Facebook page, tweeting with you! Thanks!

  7. March 21, 2011 6:43 am

    Happy Anniversary! I just finished the book and I was sad to see it come to an end. I can’t wait for the podcast!

  8. Kathy permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:05 am

    Happy Anniversary to all of us! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this community of women who bare it, share it and dare it all to happen. Checking in with all of the women RLAMers is part of my daily activity (better than morniing coffee)! I just can’t imagine running without all the LOVE!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      March 21, 2011 9:36 am

      Love your “bare it, share it, and dare it all to happen” phrase, Kathy. We might just have to pinch it and use it somewhere! “;>) xo

  9. March 21, 2011 7:17 am

    Happy RLAMiversary to you and all the badass mother runners out there! Congratulations on an inspirational year, and plenty more to come!

  10. Jana permalink
    March 21, 2011 8:03 am

    Happy anniversary RLAM!!!!! Thanks for all the inspiration, love, laughs and commiseration. I am very, very proud to be Another Runner Mother along with all of you!!

  11. john pierson permalink
    March 21, 2011 8:25 am

    The first of many anniversaries. Congratulatons.

    john pierosn

  12. Tryna permalink
    March 21, 2011 8:41 am

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY LADIES. You two are SPECTACULAR!

  13. March 21, 2011 8:48 am

    HAPPY, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! You two have been such a great duo to the running community! Love your book and CAN’T wait for the 2nd book. WAy to go and thanks for all the fun you bring!

    I’m so sad Ican’t make the Portland Run on April 9th. I will be in Oregon, but on the coast for a retreat! BUMMER because I would have totally come for the run!

  14. JeanH permalink
    March 21, 2011 8:50 am

    Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! Thank you, THANK YOU, thank you, for all that you do and inspire others to do and in bringing us all together as a community of bad ass mother runners!

  15. March 21, 2011 9:04 am

    Happy Anniversary! Another book?!? Can’t wait for March 2012! Thanks for inspiring me and making me feel like I’m not alone with needing running time.

  16. March 21, 2011 9:04 am

    I feel like it’s been a party! Let’s keep rockin. Congrats to both of you. And deepest thanks for your encouragement of both my running and my business. I love the differences and nuances of each of your writing styles, the fun and down-to-earth personalities that shine through and the serious and much-needed ass kickin I get from reading about you other runner mothers. So stoked for TLAM to hit the shelves. Wahoo!

  17. March 21, 2011 9:10 am

    Happy Anniversary!!!! Your book kept me motivated through my knee surgery recovery and I can’t wait to become another mother running!!!!!! Looking forward to all future new books and online parties!!!!!

  18. Tonya permalink
    March 21, 2011 9:23 am

    I just started reading Run Like A Mother and love of the great tips I’ve found. They have been very timely to share with my group of mom friend’s training for the 500 mini coming up in May. Happy birthday, RLAM.

  19. Kdubs permalink
    March 21, 2011 9:28 am

    Happy birthday RLAM! I just found ya’ll this winter and I fell in love with the blog on the first day. It’s been such an encouragement to hear from and read about others who are passionate running mamas. I’m running my second but first POST birthing three kiddlins marathon this weekend in D.C. Your posts helped motivate me to get out the door on many early, cold mornings throughout this season of training– so a big THANK YOU to you all. Can’t wait for the new read. Cheers!

  20. Niki permalink
    March 21, 2011 9:28 am

    Dimity and Sarah, thanks for leading us so well! RLAM tribe, thanks for making this newbie feel welcome. What a great year!

  21. Kdubs permalink
    March 21, 2011 9:35 am

    And PS I love the sweatbands– just commented on Facebook 🙂 I guess free stuff got me out of my lurking… LOL! Cheers, Karen

    • bowenshea permalink*
      March 21, 2011 11:28 am

      Have fun in marathon this weekend, Karen! Very exciting. Please post photo on our FB wall post-‘thon. xo

      • Kathy permalink
        March 21, 2011 2:45 pm

        Awesome! I would be honored!

      • Kdubs permalink
        March 22, 2011 4:56 am

        Absolutely! Wish I lived closer to meet up for a run- gotta love a girl who proudly runs to Glee jams & Brittney. I think I gasped when I saw a PG tune on one of your lists to run to and quickly snagged it :). Cheers!

  22. Meredith permalink
    March 21, 2011 9:49 am

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!!!! I’m a huge dork… totally got teary reading your Oscar speech. Uh, I mean beginning of your post 🙂 You girls are amazing and I’m so thankful to have been so inspired by you and the amazing mother runner community. Here’s to many many more miles together!

  23. Kristen F permalink
    March 21, 2011 9:54 am

    Happy anniversary! It’s my runniversary this weekend. I’ll run my anniversary 5K for both ( I guess all) of us!

  24. March 21, 2011 10:14 am

    Happy anniversary RLAM! My birthday is March 24 so it is a great week. 🙂 Lots of exciting stuff coming up for you guys… Congrats Dimity and Sarah!

  25. girlsworld permalink
    March 21, 2011 10:20 am

    Happy anniversary!! I’m so thrilled to have found you, the book, this community. Having different perspectives from different women/mothers is awesome.

  26. Rita permalink
    March 21, 2011 11:32 am

    Ahhhh so excited for all the fun stuff this week. Love the book and so happy for your guys….and the sweatybands look AWESOME, will def keep an eye out for that!!!!

  27. March 21, 2011 11:37 am

    Congratulations! Sounds like such a fun week, and I really appreciate all the work you both have put into this (and continue to put into this)! I’m looking forward to the Denver run.

  28. March 21, 2011 12:37 pm

    Congratulations! Wow, it seems like a lifetime ago that I found your book. It truly helped me see and experience my running in a whole new light….running is much more fun with friends! Trying to work it so a couple of us will be at the run yoga retreat– hello, girl’s weekend!

  29. Angie Kusman permalink
    March 21, 2011 1:07 pm

    Congrats Ladies!! I love the book!!

  30. March 21, 2011 1:40 pm

    Happy birthday, RLAM! I’m loving the “Another Mother Runner” phrase! And I’ll definitely be re-reading parts of my book this week as I mentally prepare for my first half this weekend!

  31. Robin permalink
    March 21, 2011 2:07 pm

    Congratulations! In less than a year (got the book in early May — maternity leave = time to read — lucky for me!), this community and my running have become such a big part of who I am. I LOVE it!

  32. deana permalink
    March 21, 2011 2:10 pm

    Happy birthday RLAM aka AMR! I love your comments above~ “me-time is a necessity, not a luxury; that taking care of yourself is integral to taking care of your family; that stepping outside your comfort zone takes guts and isn’t always pleasant–but is soooo worth it; that running isn’t just exercise, but also meditation in motion;”
    That is sooo true it’s like music to my ears! Your book and site has raised awareness and helped ease the mommy guilt. WTG AMR!!!!

  33. Jackie permalink
    March 21, 2011 2:38 pm

    Congratulations ladies!!! Feel so blessed to have been an early & steady member of the tribe 🙂

  34. Janette permalink
    March 21, 2011 6:07 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Looking forward to the new training book.

  35. Kelly permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:07 pm

    Happy anniversary! Love you guys! Thanks for the inspiration and laughs. Told my husband what next year’s birthday present…the new book! It will be out just in time for me to start racing again (expecting number 3 in August…the running while pregnant thing doesn’t quite work well for me).

  36. Sonia permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:16 pm

    Happy Anniversary! I’m glad that I stumbled across the book…I went from saying *I hate running* 1/2 way through 3 miles, to eagerly heading out the door for 10 miles in 3 months!

  37. Julia permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:24 pm

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!! I love the comment about third graders lol, my third grader asked me this weekend why I wanted a shirt that said “bad’butt’ mother runner” Lol

  38. Julie Weidner permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:46 pm

    Happy Anniversary!!! Love the new head bands! Too too cute!

  39. March 22, 2011 12:36 am

    YAY! Happy Anniversary! I have talked two female running neighbors to join me in my first ever 10K race here in Okinawa Japan – and now we will be stopping off at the local coffee house when we’re done for some pastries and lattes! ;o)

  40. Teresa S permalink
    March 22, 2011 6:44 am

    Happy Anniversary! You mentioned selling bands. Is that hair bands? I’m glad you’re adding another saying….I’m a humble runner (only as strong as my weakest part). I don’t need a curse word on my clothing.

  41. March 22, 2011 10:22 am

    Just watched the video – oh my goodness, that is adorable. I also like podcasts better than music but I like books better than podcasts (The Book Thief is a good one if anyone’s interested).

  42. Alison T permalink
    March 23, 2011 8:49 pm

    coming a little late to the party (it’s been a LONG week already), but… other than the congrats and thanks to you for inspiring me to aspire higher… a hearty THANK YOU for being willing to let the prude in me have a sweaty band I can wear around my kids! I would pay top dollar for the honor of getting the first Another Mother Runner sweaty band!!! Seriously, I really appreciate it. You two rock like an 80’s big hair band!

Leave a Reply

