Skip to content

First another mother runner podcast!

March 22, 2011


Love this as much for the moms–Mary Giro and Stacey Beard in their first marathon–as the narrator dad yelling, “Mommy power!”

Dimity and I have had the privilege of being interviewed by numerous bloggers, which is always fun and flattering. But we decided to turn the tables on ourselves, in a way, and have a fan interview us. As much as we love talking about running (you might have noticed….), we wanted someone who would mix things up–and bring a goofy sense of humor to it. I knew just the gal: Phoebe VanScoy Giessler, a mouthful of a name who had me at Phoebe, the same name as my older daughter.

Our intrepid interviewer, rocking the running skirt.

A mom of two young boys in New Hampshire, Phoebe showed true devotion when she roadtripped more than 4 hours (or was it 6, Phoebs?) to attend a RLAM reading in Cape Cod last summer. A heat-wave evening run followed, but our friendship was sealed when we dove into the bookstore owner’s pool fully clothed…then I peeled off my soaking duds while Phoebe ran interference for me from a pre-teen boy. (I’m not making this stuff up!)

Turns out Phoebe was an intern at American Public Radio’s Fresh Air, so it’s not surprising she delivers with unexpected, probing, make-us-laugh questions. I’m still mulling over whether I’d really give up running skirts instead of coordinated running outfits, and Dim’s still deciding who should play her husband in the movie adaptation of Run Like a Mother….so, without further ado, tune in to our fun, sometimes riveting conversation by clicking right here.

P.S. Jessie, our very capable intern, recorded this interview and turned it into a podcast. She’s also on top of loading it onto iTunes so you guys can download and run to our mellifluous voices. We’ll let you know when that’s live–and when we have another podcast ready to go. Promise, next one won’t take a year to get out.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 5:46 am

    So happy for you ladies! I can only hope for such stick-to-it-ness with my blogging and running!

    • March 22, 2011 4:12 pm

      The podcast totally made me laugh out loud sometimes! Very funny and enjoyable to listen to! and for the record Demi Moore’s boobs aren’t big enough to play me either! lol!

  2. Lisa permalink
    March 22, 2011 6:31 am

    Congratulations again!
    I can’t wait for the podcast, I would love to ‘run’ with you ladies.

  3. Janette permalink
    March 22, 2011 6:48 am

    Loved the podcast, and thanks for a great start to my morning! Looking forward to the next one.

  4. March 22, 2011 7:43 am

    Hysterical! I was cracking up driving to work!

  5. kigogal permalink
    March 22, 2011 8:15 am

    Loved the podcast! The zombie thing was awesome – clearly, you’re the only non-zombie out there if you had such an insight. Keep up the good work!

  6. Tryna permalink
    March 22, 2011 9:00 am

    AWESOME. Can’t wait to download and listen to the podcast. It’s like two happy places have married and become one. I love your blog, and I love listening to podcasts, and now they are together, and I am happy. Thanks.

  7. March 22, 2011 9:06 am

    Great podcast… listened as I worked. Enjoyed it! Congrats on your RLAM-versary! I really would like to see a movie though… LOL!

  8. Christina Escobar permalink
    March 22, 2011 9:46 am

    Aww. Mommy Power! Love it, made me all teary. =)

  9. Angel Ginnett permalink
    March 22, 2011 10:45 am

    I can’t see the photo of stacey beard, I used to run with her in MO and would love to get an update on her.
    Angel

    • March 22, 2011 12:37 pm

      Hi Angel-It’s a youtube video, so you need to be on a computer (not a blackberry, at least: mine doesn’t play videos). So check it out…cool you guys have history together. 🙂

    • Stacey B permalink
      March 24, 2011 3:57 am

      Hey! Must be a different Stacey Beard. I’ve only lived in NY and NC my whole life. Great to know there’s another Stacey Beard out there, who run! 🙂

  10. Alison permalink
    March 22, 2011 10:53 am

    Mommy Power! Someone should bake that man a cake. I can’t wait to download your podcast for my next run. Congratulations on your RLAM-iversary and thanks for all the inspiration. Lord knows, we need all we can get!

    • March 22, 2011 12:38 pm

      We’ll let you know when it’s ready for download, Alison: my really bad tech skills lead me to believe you can’t DL it right now…but I could be wrong. Thanks….and you’re right: he needs a cake!

  11. March 22, 2011 11:10 am

    very fun, you guys! Great job, Phoebe. I’m late to an appt. because I had to finish listening while doing dishes! 😉 ok, i lied. I’m not really doing dishes. Happy RLAMiversary! Thanks for bringing a tribe together. Man, a couple of us vancouver-ites need to work on a video before friday.

    • March 22, 2011 12:39 pm

      Yes, you vancouver-ites need to get us a video…I’ve heard so much about you, yet have no idea who you are. 🙂

  12. March 22, 2011 12:38 pm

    I listened to this in two parts. Made the cloudy day a bit more exciting! And I didn’t know there’s a new book in the works. Awesome!

  13. March 22, 2011 8:39 pm

    I’ve been absent from blogland for a bit…but I’ve missed you RLAM! Good to be back.

  14. Rebecca Tadema-Wielandt permalink
    March 23, 2011 7:25 am

    Well done Phoebe! Can’t wait ’till the next book comes out!!

Leave a Reply

