Skip to content

AMR TV: Another Mother Runner Videos

March 26, 2011
by

A couple weeks ago, we boldly added to your already full plates, asking you to put together a short video about how you run like mothers. A handful of you rallied: big thanks to all you cinematographers out there.

Now we need everybody’s help. There are eight videos below–each less than two minutes each. Check them out, then vote on your favorite at the bottom. The top three vote receivers win either a new badass mother runner hats or visor. Not quite an Oscar, but we’ll happily print your acceptance speeches.

Entry #1: From Marie.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Entry #2: From Rachelle + Kimberley
Note: Fresh from the GA Publix Half Marathon this morning – well, actually from the minivan at 6ish a.m. Before heading to the start line. It is me (Rachelle) and my running partner (Kimberley) sharing just a quick thought in all our bed-rumpled, pre-sweat glory. It was such a great way to kick off our race by thinking about why we are so lucky to have the desire, ability and opportunity to RUN!

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Entry #3: From Terri.
Note: A tenth of a mile from the finish line of my first half marathon, my husband, son and daughter-in-law met me and swapped the pink boa swag for a special purple boa they had bought me. I was elated to see them and so proud to have worked 10 months from couch to 13.1! You can hear me yell, “Now I’m a Diva!” as I trot to the finish line.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Entry #4: From Lynette.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Entry #5: From Julie and Ashley.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Entry #6: From Niki.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Entry #7: From Kerry.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Entry #8: From Rene, husband to Mary, one of marathon finishers.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Entry #9: From Robin + Wittsle

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Entry #10: From Julie.
Note: I made this video about my running partner, Rebekah, making the 10 mile long run when I couldn’t finish last week. Her excitement over accomplishing her goal is so fun and sweet. She has a 20-month old baby and is just getting back into running, and we’re both training for our first Marathon, the Eugene Half, in May.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsey permalink
    March 26, 2011 6:07 am

    Love them all and the best way to wake up this AM before I get for my run! Thanks for the motivation!

    Also, I don’t think Julie’s #10 video made it on to the post or is it hiding behind the survey? 🙂

  2. KathyinMN permalink
    March 26, 2011 6:35 am

    These are awesome-it was hard to pick the best one. Thanks to everyone that submitted a video!

  3. Mqriale permalink
    March 26, 2011 6:41 am

    Godo Work posting the videos! However julie’s shot is missing!!!

  4. kigogal permalink
    March 26, 2011 7:06 am

    WOO HOO! Kimberley and I just got in from our Saturday morning run and saw this! PSYCHED!

  5. March 26, 2011 7:10 am

    I enjoyed them all, but I didn’t get to see #10! I went ahead and cast my vote anyhow in case I forget to get back. Very fun!! RLAM!

  6. March 26, 2011 8:07 am

    Nice screen shot on my video. Blinking is always a good look. Love all the videos! this is so fun!!!

  7. Stuart permalink
    March 26, 2011 8:19 am

    # 7 Kerry wins, she is more about a running mother, then a fake video representation.

  8. March 26, 2011 9:38 am

    Thanks so much for the views and the votes! We had no idea we’d be displayed so prominently…or maybe we would have edited…or not. 🙂 Love getting to watch the other videos!! They were a great, inspiring start to a weekend full of birthday parties, laundry and running! Love to our running community!

  9. Sharon permalink
    March 26, 2011 10:12 am

    Go mommy go mommy go mommy – made me laugh cuz my boys chant similar phrases 🙂 every motha runna did a great job on their videos! 🙂

  10. Carolyn permalink
    March 26, 2011 2:45 pm

    I loved the all and they were all inspirational – but #8 is the only one the made me choke up with emotion! Hearing the Dad cheer, “Go Mommies!”, seeing the two women friends running side by side, and then hearing the panic/concern in the husband’s voice when he screams to the kids, “Watch out, watch out, watch out!!” Classic!

    • Kristin D permalink
      March 27, 2011 1:13 pm

      Me too! I loved them all, but when I got to #8- I got chills. “go mommies” was really sweet and make me flash-forward to my upcoming marathon. Emotional indeed.

  11. sandi permalink
    March 26, 2011 6:45 pm

    Marie’s video made me laugh when she ran around her cul-de-sac. Now I know I am not the only
    one who does this.

  12. Shari permalink
    March 27, 2011 6:38 pm

    I admit that I would much rather run without my kids but when I “have to”, the chearing from the stroller always helps. Loved hearing all the “Go Mommy” cheers in Niki’s video.
    Evident in all these videos how running is like life. It works best when we have some support. From friends that run with us, friends that can’t run the whole way but cheer louder than anyone, friends that watch our kids, husbands that get it (or at least try), kids that cheer us on…..kids that stay where they are supposed to while we are running around the cul-de-sac (haha…my favorite!).
    Nice work ladies!!!

  13. Mark Davenport permalink
    March 28, 2011 7:51 am

    I vote for Entry #1 from Marie. That is about as real as it gets.

  14. Danielle permalink
    March 28, 2011 6:55 pm

    Enjoyed them all, however, #8 made me smile the most.

  15. March 29, 2011 6:52 am

    you guys are awesome. way to go – these are all great!!

  16. GrungeRun permalink
    March 29, 2011 9:50 am

    Oh this was so hard to pick ONE! Marie definitely had the best editing/music. I love it when you see her behind the kids playing, running down the sidewalk. As mom of 5, this video captured the craziness of being AMR. And she has THREE boys! I only have one!

    But… Robin & Whittsle made me tear up because I’m a sap and they are sisters. I miss my sisters and don’t get to share my running experiences w/them. Robin is hilarious, I love the camera “panning” & Whittsle’s not so quiet point to Robin ;P.

    And… Julie, cheering on Rebekah was inspirational. I LOVE to cheer others on. The reason I love this video had nothing to do with the fact my name is Rebecca, ha! 😉 Julie, you will do it! How great to have that comradeship on & off the course.

  17. Rebecca Tadema-Wielandt permalink
    March 29, 2011 5:14 pm

    Marie gets my vote, that’s my house, laundry and all! Any mother runner who can stand to do 20 laps of her cul de sac is BADA$$!!

  18. March 30, 2011 8:51 pm

    I just peed a little and have tears in my eyes. Julie and Ashley, I LOVE you girls! So nice to have a good laugh after a crazy day… Oh, who am I kidding? Crazy week. Oh, my kids say they peed in their pants too 🙂

Leave a Reply

