Skip to content

Carpoolin’ Fools Playlist

March 29, 2011

Few things I *heart* more than a new racing playlist!

I haven’t completely wrapped my head around it, but I’m doing a half marathon this Sunday, Portland’s Race for the Roses. Like last year’s Philly Half, my plan is to pull a friend to a sub-2:00 finish. I think Molly and I stand an excellent chance of meeting that goal as we’ve now done two long runs and three track workouts together. Molly had never hit the track before I dragged her there, uh, I mean, before she joined me for a workout. But as I predicted, she rocked the intervals other than a slight, um, hiccup after each one. (By “hiccup” I actually mean dry heaves. Yes, after anything 800 meters–twice around the track– or longer, Molly wretched like a bridesmaid the morning after a bachelorette party. Yet she nailed our numbers…without having months of build up like I have worked on. Bitch! I kid….)

As extra fuel, I’ve made us a playlist to listen to as we run side by side. Okay, not super-social, but I do like me some running tunes! So here goes Molly’s Half-Marathon PR Playlist. Or maybe I should call it:

Carpoolin’ Fools Playlist

The Lucky Ones: Brendan James

This Could All Be Yours: Guster

Just the Way You Are: Bruno Mars

It Happened Today: R.E.M.

One: Sky Ferreira

Set Fire to the Rain: Adele

Paris (Ooh La La): Grace Potter & the Nocturnals

Walk Away: Kelly Clarkson

Just a Dream: Nelly

Changes: 2Pac

No Sleep: Wiz Khalifia

So Big: Iyaz

Don’t Let Me Fall: B.o.B.

How Do U Want It: 2Pac

Funhouse: Pink

Raise Your Glass: Glee Cast version

Price Tag: Jessie J (feat. B.o.B.)

Hey Sexy Lady: iSquare

Born This Way: Lady Gaga

Get on the Floor: Jennifer Lopez

Till the World Ends: Britney Spears

Love You Long Time: Black Eyed Peas

S&M: Rihanna

Girls Just Want To Have Fun: Starf*#ker

More: Usher

Yeah 3X: Chris Brown

Hey Baby: Pitbull feat. T-Pain

Written in the Stars: Tinie Tempah feat. Eric Turner

Heart of a Champion: Nelly & Lincoln University Vocal Ensemble

Telephone: Lady Gaga (feat. Beyonce)

Forget You: Glee Cast version

All of the Lights: Kanye West

Dynamite: Taio Cruz

DJ Got Us Fallin’ in Love: Usher

Club Can’t Handle Me: Flo Rida

I Gotta Feeling : Black Eyed Peas

I Like It: Enrique Iglesias (feat. Pitbull)

California Gurls: Katy Perry

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 6:15 am

    I’m working on a sub-2 right now too! First training with intervals. I’ve been loyal – and they really do make a difference! COOL PLAYLIST – Thank you for sharing! I have a lot of it, but may be able to steal a couple of these.

  2. March 29, 2011 6:22 am

    Good Luck, Sarah & Molly!

  3. kigogal permalink
    March 29, 2011 6:54 am

    Awesome choices! Last half playlist in my head was dominated by Talib Kwali and Spoon – both great choices. And my running partner, Kimberley, gave the BEST race playlist advice ever – let your kids and husband each choose a song for you and put it in the rotation. When you’re at mile 9 and getting gassed, and “I like to Move it (move it!)” comes on, you’ll have all the energy you need to blast it on to 10…11…12…13. GOOD LUCK! And most importantly, HAVE FUN!

  4. Michelle permalink
    March 29, 2011 7:30 am

    Good luck! Have fun! Love the Grace Potter choice. Check her out live if you ever get a chance. Paris is always on my race playlist!

  5. Steph Johnston permalink
    March 29, 2011 7:54 am

    I love your playlist soooooo much! Thanks for sharing another one 🙂

  6. Lori N permalink
    March 29, 2011 8:31 am

    Good luck Sunday!

  7. March 29, 2011 9:02 am

    Best of luck to you!! Have an incredible, awesome race!

  8. sharyn permalink
    March 29, 2011 10:03 am

    Here is a “techie” question. Where do you actually get your tunes? Do you purchase them individually from Itunes, share with a friend, or what? I’m trying to build a nice running tunes collection, but I don’t want to buy ones that I won’t like. Any suggestions on how to help a newbie build a nice tunes collection would be great!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      March 29, 2011 10:53 am

      Sharyn–Yes, I buy most of my tunes from iTunes, but a few were sent to me as a “gift” playlist from my BFF. I also get CDs out of library and burn those onto my iTunes. (So free.) The main ways I find music that I *know* I like are Pandora and Shazam, both iPhone apps. (And Pandora is online at Pandora.com). With Pandora, I plug in a few songs that I know I like to run to. Then the station I created plays similar songs. When I find one I like, I click the “thumbs up” like button, so station knows that’s what I like and plays more similar stuff. Then I buy the songs I know I like.

      Several of the songs on this list were ones I “shazammed” with my phone while I was in H&M with my older daughter. I hear a song I like then use Shazam app to ID it. Then I buy the song, knowing I like it. That’s how I found my ringtone–“Like It, Love It” by Lyrics Born. I shazammed it while I was in Old Navy!

      And ask friends to burn playlists for you. I’m burning this one for Molly.

  9. Kdubs permalink
    March 29, 2011 11:19 am

    Love the play list– I may snag a song or two for myself! Happy trails girl 🙂

  10. March 29, 2011 2:13 pm

    I’m doing that half too! My whole family is taking the train down from Seattle, and I’m so excited. My friends and I are working for a 2:15, hopefully we’ll be aiming for a sub 2:00 by next year!

  11. Jen Grinnell permalink
    March 29, 2011 6:03 pm

    Awesome list!

  12. Jana permalink
    March 29, 2011 6:05 pm

    I just love when you post playlists. I discover the best new tunes when you do! Thank you!!! Good luck and have a great run!!

  13. Beth permalink
    March 29, 2011 6:13 pm

    Thanks for sharing this! I’m always up for new songs. I let myself buy one every week that I meet my weekly running goals!

  14. Emily permalink
    March 29, 2011 7:49 pm

    So, I asked my friends to make a playlist for me since I *hate* doing it. A friend suggested this site: http://jog.fm/ where you type in your average mile pace and it suggests songs with the appox bpm for you. So awesome!! Just to have an idea of what songs to listen to, buy, not buy, etc is a HUGE help for me. I thought I’d pass it along. (And I’m yanking about 50% of the carpool list to send to my sister who’s agreed to make me a playlist! Thank you!!)

    • Jana permalink
      March 29, 2011 11:48 pm

      Oh, wow! I just checked out this site and it rocks! Thanks for sharing that. Very cool!

  15. March 29, 2011 7:49 pm

    This is a great playlist! Some of it I have, but I think I’m going to need to hit up iTunes before my 25k in May. I definitely need some new tunes.
    Good luck on your race! I’m sure you are going to be great 🙂

  16. Dee Dee permalink
    March 29, 2011 8:04 pm

    Thanks for the list! Good Luck on Sunday! I’d love your tips on how to get to sub-2. I ran 2:04 in January, so sub 2 in June at Vancouver seems doable…. but the math behind speed work addles my brain…

  17. March 29, 2011 9:56 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions. I just picked up a shuffle recently (after 20 years of running without music) and am trying to build a playlist. This is a big help.

  18. March 30, 2011 10:32 am

    Great list and good luck this weekend! I am sure you’ll do awesome as always. 🙂
    I posted my playlist on my blog a couple of weeks ago and got some great suggestions in the comments. 🙂

    http://seemomrunfar.blogspot.com/2011/03/tunes-game-and-giveaway.html

Leave a Reply

