Skip to content

Wonder Twin Race Outfits

April 1, 2011

Molly and I are going to be *so* cute on Sunday!

We have our goal: Molly’s first sub-2 hour half-marathon. We have our playlist. And now we have our race outfits for Sunday’s Race for the Roses. Knee socks were Molly’s idea, but purple ones (to match the mom’s shoes on our Badass Mother Runner shirts) was my suggestion. I’m in love with the flowered runningskirts.com skirt (this new spring print is coming soon to the site). Molly took hers on a test run today. She’s new to a skirt with briefs, and she said she felt a tad bit concerned she was going to flash her “derriere” in the breeze. But a 20-something guy told her she was “beautiful,” so she’s raring to go now. Seriously, though, during a 3-mile tempo run on Tuesday morning, she turned to me with a big grin and said, “I’m so excited about the race–aren’t you?” Her enthusiasm is infectuous. 

If you’re running Race for the Roses, please try to plan your bib pick-up with my 11 a.m. reading. Or swing by the table at the expo–I’ll be there from after the reading (so 11:30-ish) until 3 p.m. And if you see grinning Molly and me at the start or during the race, please say hi. And for all you gals doing Cherry Blossom 10-Miler, one of several Ohio marathons, or any other race this weekend, have a blast! Let’s compare notes on Facebook next week.

37 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 2:25 am

    LOVING the outfits! I am trying to convince the hubs to let me order a skirt, but it isn’t working. Maybe when I am ready for my first 1/2. Good luck to you!

  2. Atha permalink
    April 1, 2011 4:17 am

    Love, love, love the outfit!

  3. April 1, 2011 4:42 am

    I, too, will be wearing a badass mother runner hat and shirt at the Great Bay Half in New Hampshire. (Long sleeve for the blizzard, natch.) So, we got the left and right side of the country covered! You too will definitely be super fast and super cute.

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 1, 2011 10:53 am

      PVSG: I was going to call out your race, but I didn’t know official name! Let’s take some names! “;>)

  4. Carrie B permalink
    April 1, 2011 5:04 am

    love, Love, LOVE this outfit! I’ve got to get one just like it! This post has also convinced me to try out some running skirts this summer!!! You need a pink badass mother runner shirt!!! Moisture wicking of course!

  5. Carolyn in NC permalink
    April 1, 2011 5:20 am

    Pick me! Pick me! I want to win one of those cute flowered skirts.
    Awww shucks, today’s not a hump day give away.

    Good luck with your race and I hope you both pull in under 2 hours.

  6. April 1, 2011 5:40 am

    Love the socks and the skirts…I just wish they made longer shorts under the skirts – my thighs rub and I get chaffed like 5 strides into any run…. just me and some capri’s for now!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 1, 2011 10:54 am

      This style of skirt is going to be available in all options–briefs, shorts, and capris!

  7. April 1, 2011 6:05 am

    Best of luck to you both! So many cute running skirt/skorts out these days, I may have to try one.

    BS – Can you and Molly post a training plan for a sub2 half? I would love to get there, though it may take me several more races.

    I did the National Half last weekend, so this weekend is still recovery (not the Cherry Blossom race), but I’ll think of you all during my recovery run.

  8. SylB permalink
    April 1, 2011 6:23 am

    Oh my!!!! Such a cute outfit!!!! I need those socks and the shirt.

  9. April 1, 2011 6:28 am

    Super cute skirt- the entire outfit, but definitely that skirt. All mine are boring black, but that one I’d wear even when not running. Have fun this weekend!

  10. April 1, 2011 6:38 am

    I love the outfit! Make sure to say “Wonder Twin powers activate” right before the race starts. 🙂

    My 6 year old daughter is doing the Cherry Blossom 5K. I didn’t get into the 10 miler. Should be fun to watch a race for once!

    Good luck!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 1, 2011 10:56 am

      I’m glad my Wonder Twins reference wasn’t lost. I am forever saying, “Wonder Twins powers activate. Form of an iceberg; shape of a cheetah” or whatnot! Silly what sticks with us, eh?!
      SO cool your 6-y-o is doing 5K. You running alongside or will she be solo!?

  11. Julie Weidner permalink
    April 1, 2011 7:01 am

    I just got my grey “Badass” shirt and was so excited that it matches a purple skirt I have! Love the purple kicks in the shirt! I too agree with needing a “PINK” Badass tech shirt or better yet a tank for these hot Florida runs!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 1, 2011 10:57 am

      Pssst: We’re coming out with a pink tank this summer. Phrase on it TBD. We’re having trouble finding good tech tees.
      I have a purple running skirt (Athleta) that matches Badass shoes, too. We can be twins across the miles!

  12. April 1, 2011 7:20 am

    Cute stuff..love those socks too!

  13. Bente permalink
    April 1, 2011 7:40 am

    I love the outfit! I’m hoping the skirt will come with shorts too-chafing would be an issue for me. Have a great race!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 1, 2011 10:59 am

      Yes, it’s available with shorts (or capris) underneath. And, seriously, you should try a skirt with briefs. I get far less chafing from having no fabric between my thighs than having creep-up shorts. Trust me on this one. Some Body Glide and I’m good to go for 13.1!

  14. April 1, 2011 8:53 am

    Love the outfit! You two are going to be fantastic – have a wonderful race!

  15. Kathy permalink
    April 1, 2011 8:58 am

    Love the outfits! Good luck this weekend! Can’t wait for my half in 4 weeks, I would love a sub 2hr half!

  16. Alison permalink
    April 1, 2011 9:50 am

    Super cute and good luck! I have a question for any of you ladies who own a runningskirt.com skirt with the built-in panties. Is it just me (and my tush) or are the panties a little high-cut in the back? I ordered a plaid skirt for my b’day last week & was disappointed that the spankies left quite a bit of cheek uncovered (with noticeable panty line). I’d been expecting a “hipster” fit, but got “bikini”. Or do they run small?

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 1, 2011 11:02 am

      It’s not just you, babe. This is the first new runningskirts.com skirt I’ve had in several years, and I feel they changed the sizing. I *love* how the waist now fits…but I feel the overall cut of skirt and spankies is smaller. A bit of cheek hangs down for me as well, and the skirt seems slightly shorter. Molly felt same way, so she made it so skirt rode lower on her hips.

  17. tamara permalink
    April 1, 2011 10:14 am

    love it!

  18. Tryna permalink
    April 1, 2011 10:45 am

    So bummed I can’t be there this weekend, but since we are vacationing in Montana, I plan on wearing my Badass Mother Runner hat for every run. Be strong!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 1, 2011 11:02 am

      Thanks, Tryna. I trust you are living by the Cowboy Code of Ethics while you are there “;>) (Sorry: Oregon legislature joke there…)

  19. April 1, 2011 10:52 am

    There’s nothing like some nice positive feedback from a young guy to make you feel special. I have a skirt with briefs too, and they’re absolutely fine.

  20. Angie Kusman permalink
    April 1, 2011 2:06 pm

    You gals are going to look AWESOME!!! Love it!! Have a great race!! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  21. Jeana Harrison permalink
    April 1, 2011 7:25 pm

    I’ve seen a couple people comment about the hats, but I don’t see them on the site yet. Am I missing something? I would love to get a hat (and my b-day is coming up soon). Thanks!

  22. Lynette permalink
    April 1, 2011 7:34 pm

    You both will look beautiful and do great!!!! Oh and skirts are so fun to run in!

  23. Linda Williams permalink
    April 1, 2011 7:42 pm

    Nice threads! I’ll see you gals Sunday morning – I’m running the half too. I’ll be the one in the black Badass mother runner shirt!

  24. April 2, 2011 2:24 pm

    I dig those socks.

  25. sonia permalink
    April 2, 2011 4:16 pm

    Wonder Twin Powers activate in the form of (sub 2 hour) Bad@$$ Mother Runners.
    Love it…and I want the socks.

  26. Megan permalink
    April 2, 2011 5:32 pm

    Badass and adorable!

  27. A Nanca permalink
    April 3, 2011 9:37 am

    Not a skirt fan. The problem with them is that the wearers think they are sooooo cute but meanwhile the rest of us have to look at cheeks and legs that really should be covered up. Skirt wearers: do yourself (and the rest of us a favor) do a triple check in the mirror from behind before you venture out!

  28. Christina Escobar permalink
    April 3, 2011 9:40 pm

    Super. Cute. Out fit. =)

  29. jessica permalink
    April 4, 2011 6:29 am

    I saw you yesterday! Loving the socks big time and congrats to you and Molly…gotta admit I checked the finish and saw you under two hours.

  30. Holly U permalink
    April 4, 2011 10:16 am

    I’m glad that I learned about your blog somehow, except I think it’s really going to cost me. Quick dry shirts with fun sayings, and now a SKIRT (that doesn’t sparkle) for running? Temptation!!

Leave a Reply

