Skip to content

Follow This Mother!

April 7, 2011

Adrienne and her first baby: Now this new mom (10 wks post-partum) preps for Boston Marathon

In the lead-up to April 18’s Boston Marathon , we knew we wanted to follow a few mommas running the illustrious race. When I found Adrienne Ramsey, 32, of Hingham, Mass., I knew we had to profile her: She’s run Boston several times…but this year she’ll be less than three months post-partum. Yup, you read that right: Adrienne gave birth to her first baby, Jack, on January 22. If she’s not inspiring, we’re not sure who is!

Best recent run: Because my training for the Boston Marathon started late this year, I was nervous about my 20-miler. With my running club’s support and my friend Leann as my sherpa, I ran from Ashland to Boston College. Running the course brought back happy memories of last year’s race, and it motivated me. Finishing, I realized that completing Boston was in reach and I felt gratitude for how far I have come in these ten weeks.

Oh, baby: I ran until I was 38 weeks pregnant, maintaining some fitness. Ten days after Jack was born, I ran the hardest five miles of my life.

Adrienne chugging along at 29 weeks

 After working so hard to improve my speed, at times it’s a bit frustrating as I claw my way back. Then I remind myself that Jack did not emerge into this world until after four hours of pushing, and reclaiming my running is much easier than that!

What Would Mary Do? I first met my coach, Mary, through her blog. When I realized I wanted to try to run Boston after having the baby, I asked Mary to coach me so I wouldn’t injure myself. She is my first coach in my six marathons, and the best gift I have ever given myself. With my life being so unpredictable now, I love logging into Training Peaks and seeing the orderliness and consistency of the training plan.

Where in the world…: Traveling a lot for work, I’ve run all over the world. The Eiffel Tower to Versailles race is the highlight of my running career. I happened to be in Paris for work and decided to sign up. I loved the children on the sidelines holding signs that read “Courez!” [“run”]–I felt a part of something bigger than myself.

Getting over the hurt: I became pregnant with Jack a week after running Boston last year. Many think I planned it that way, but truthfully, I didn’t think I could stay pregnant. I had miscarriages in December of 2008 and ’09, and I threw myself into Boston training after each. It was the ONLY thing that got me through two years of trying to conceive and the losses. My body had failed me, and marathon training allowed me to stop hating my body.

Can’t run without: I will only run marathons in a running skirt. My years of wearing a kilt in high school have convinced me skirts are more

Skirting the issue at last year's Boston

comfortable.

I just need to sleep: The first six weeks of Jack’s life, running was my caffeine. I have MS [multiple sclerosis] and typically need 8 to 9 hours of sleep a night to function. Clearly, my little newborn did not allow for this. However, I found I was functioning better on less sleep if I exercised. I knew the day would be better if the run was completed.

Follow this mother at: http://runninginhingham.blogspot.com/

44 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly K permalink
    April 7, 2011 4:13 am

    Run like a mother and show them how strong we women are!

  2. April 7, 2011 6:06 am

    What an inspiration. Best of luck, Adrienne! You have a cheerleader in Atlanta.

  3. April 7, 2011 6:12 am

    You’re awesome. Reading this made me teary-eyed and inspired. Keep it up, mama! I’ll be in Boston cheering for a friend…I’ll look for you too!

  4. Martha permalink
    April 7, 2011 6:16 am

    AmAzInG!!!! You are not only an inspiration but a role model!

  5. April 7, 2011 7:07 am

    Adrienne, you are going to have an amazing Boston! I’m just amazed with how you have come back so fast and so strong!!

    • Adrienne permalink
      April 7, 2011 8:32 pm

      Mary, you have been my biggest cheerleader! Thank you!

  6. April 7, 2011 7:19 am

    Wow, you had me at running Boston 3 months PP, but your story is even more than that. You are incredibly inspiring. Best wishes for Boston and beyond!

  7. Cheryl permalink
    April 7, 2011 7:28 am

    Awesome. Run like a mother, Adrienne. Love your story.

  8. barbara permalink
    April 7, 2011 7:54 am

    Wow….I was amazing at the “running Boston @ 3 mos PP” part….THEN I got to the part about MS. Truly amazing and inspiring. GO ADRIENNE!

  9. Christine McDuffie permalink
    April 7, 2011 8:06 am

    Wow. Got through all of this then ‘oh yeah btw I have MS’…what? Very cool. Thanks for sharing. She’s both inspirational and a reminder that ‘nobody gets it all’ and most times it’s not the hand we are dealt but how we deal with that hand.

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 7, 2011 3:58 pm

      Amen, Christine. Amen.

    • April 9, 2011 2:20 pm

      I thought the same thing! You go, Adrienne!

    • Adrienne permalink
      April 10, 2011 2:03 pm

      Christine, you are so kind to say so!

  10. April 7, 2011 8:29 am

    Wow, I just can’t imagine running when I’m that pregnant – that’s awesome (I would like to one day though). 🙂 Good luck in Boston!!

  11. Christina Escobar permalink
    April 7, 2011 8:54 am

    Wow. What an inspiring and awesome woman. This made my day.

  12. Momma please run home permalink
    April 7, 2011 9:36 am

    Adrienne that is an awesome accomplishment. Kick ass in Boston!

  13. Tryna permalink
    April 7, 2011 9:39 am

    You are spectacular!

  14. Ally Teske permalink
    April 7, 2011 11:17 am

    Amazing job and best wishes on Boston. Like you, I started working out and running following a miscarriage. Truly loved reading your story.

    • Adrienne permalink
      April 7, 2011 8:29 pm

      Ally, thank you for the kind comment. I agree- running was the best medicine for a broker heart

  15. Kelly permalink
    April 7, 2011 11:28 am

    All I can say is wow….I was proud that I completed a half marathon 4 months after having my son. A marathon 3 months after, that is plain crazy-ness!

  16. Sportsmama457 permalink
    April 7, 2011 12:43 pm

    You go girl! We will all be cheering for you on April 18th, whether we are in Boston or not. I also have MS, and am hoping to run Boston in 2012 as part of the National MS Society fundraising team. You have just provided me with a ton of inspiration! If the dictionary had an entry for “bad ass mother runner”, your picture would be there! Good luck!

    • Adrienne permalink
      April 7, 2011 8:31 pm

      Sportsmama, that is inspiring! We need to find a cure!

  17. April 7, 2011 1:42 pm

    You look amazing in the treadmill picture at 29 weeks! Hope I look that great. Keep up the amazing work.

  18. April 7, 2011 1:51 pm

    So inspiring!! I hope to be on the sidelines of Boston this year, but I’ll be cheering you on whether in person or in spirit!

  19. Bente permalink
    April 7, 2011 3:11 pm

    Adrienne-your personality comes across so positive and down to earth! I admire your determination in pushing your body-best of luck to you at Boston! And now I really want to run the Eiffel Tower-Versailles race…

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 7, 2011 3:59 pm

      Right?!?! I had never heard of the Eiffel Tower to Versailles race until reading Adrienne’s responses…and now I TOTALLY want to do it!

  20. Arwen permalink
    April 7, 2011 5:43 pm

    Unbelievable! You are a true hero! Go get ’em!!!

  21. April 7, 2011 5:43 pm

    Wow! You are amazing! Rock Boston!

  22. Kim permalink
    April 7, 2011 6:02 pm

    Inspiring! Go Adrienne!!!

  23. Julie permalink
    April 7, 2011 6:22 pm

    Wow. I mean, just…….wow.

  24. April 7, 2011 6:46 pm

    In awe, Adrienne. I’ll be in Boston cheering for my husband… and YOU.

  25. Jen Grinnell permalink
    April 7, 2011 6:58 pm

    Holy hell. Sistah girlfriend, I’m in Sherborn. I’ll be at Wellesley Hills looking for you with a sign that says “Courez!” You are beyond inspirational!

    • Adrienne permalink
      April 7, 2011 8:32 pm

      Jen, I will keep my eyes peeled for you!

  26. Jalayne Bacon permalink
    April 7, 2011 8:06 pm

    You go girl! Such an inspiration to ALL women. Run Like A Mother in Boston! Good luck!

  27. April 7, 2011 9:25 pm

    WOW! I can’t imagine running that long into my pregnancy and getting back into it that quickly after! Way to go!

  28. Lynette permalink
    April 7, 2011 9:58 pm

    Truly AMAZING! You go, girl!!!

  29. Jen permalink
    April 8, 2011 1:11 pm

    “My body had failed me, and … training allowed me to stop hating my body.”
    This. Exactly. Thank you for sharing your inspiring story and attitude. Hope you enjoy a big post-race hug from Jack!

  30. Ann permalink
    April 8, 2011 2:47 pm

    Wow! This is so inspiring. I have to say I am a bit jealous of you 🙂 I ran up until 40 weeks of my pregnancy…ran the morning my water broke. Anyway, I am now 7 months postpartum and running my first half marathon in 4 weeks.

    How awesome to be able to know that you can run Boston at 10 weeks postpartum! You are truly an inspiration.

  31. April 8, 2011 4:38 pm

    you rock, adrienne!! Good luck!!

  32. Ashley permalink
    April 8, 2011 10:00 pm

    You go Momma!! What a great story!! I was training for a triathlon when I found out I was pregnant and my OB forbid me from doing it since I had preterm labor with my twins. She jokes today that she can’t believe I actually listened to her. Apparently she had.nightmares of me 6 months pregnant falling off my bike during the tri. LOL!! So my little girl was born January 31st (a week late, mind you) & I’m training for a half marathon. Go out there & show Boston what a postpartum Mommy can do!! I’m just hoping to make it through my half in August. You will certainly serve as a huge inspiration as I train. You are one badass mother runner!!!

  33. April 9, 2011 4:54 am

    Wow! I’m at a loss for other words.

  34. April 9, 2011 6:43 am

    You are truly amazing! What an inspiration!

  35. April 9, 2011 9:00 am

    See you in Boston! I agree with you that exercise is the best remedy for lack of sleep. I am the mom of a 14month old who didn’t sleep much for the first 6 months and running always woke me up. Lucky for me she loved the BOB!

  36. April 9, 2011 3:10 pm

    This is super inspiring!!!! Love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

