Skip to content

Women’s Mantra, Women’s (Playlist) Mix

April 18, 2011

Christinas World: RLAMer Christinas besties, including Irma (blue shirt), post-13.1 race

This weekend, our ZOOMA journey started with a single step: Okay, more like a single trip. Dimity and I went to Austin, the first in the 6-race, all-women’s series we’re excitedly committed to attend this year. (Two race locales TBA.) The race is where we kicked off our book tour last year, mere days after the publication of Run Like a Mother, so it holds special meaning for us. On Friday, the evening before the race, we gave a talk dubbed, “13.1 Ways to Run Like a Mother,” which was a ton of fun (especially since Dim was working a wee wine buzz) and very well received. Off to a great start!

The great vibe continued the next day, when we met a ton of great RLAMers (hi, Christina and Anne!) and welcomed a bunch of new women into our tribe. All the post-race excitement got me jazzed to run–as did the 80+ degrees, bright sunshine weather. So after the expo I did a quick-change act in the lav and hit the trail–literally: The host resort abuts a nature preserve. I know I should have enjoyed the songbirds, but instead I listened to some favorite mellow music–the Chicks’ Running Mix (see below)–and let my mind wander.

One of the points in our 13.1 Ways talk was, “It’s never too late to find a mantra.” We told the gals about the power a few words can have on your mind–and body. How repeating a word or phrase can help you smooth out a rough patch in a run. How it can invigorate and inspire you. Thinking about the talk as I ran, my mind drifted to all the great women we’d met in our brief time inTexas. Before I knew it, their names became like mantras for me, powering me up the dusty hills. “Irma, Irma, Irma,” (pronounced “air-muh”), one of Christina’s awesome besties. “Arlyne, Arlyne, Arlyne,” a friendly woman who recognized us from our “Marathon Moms” feature in the July 2008 Runner’s World. “Deanna, Deanna, Deanna,” one of three Dimity-tall sisters (and one shorter sister-in-law) who were doing this ZOOMA together for a second time.

As Sarah McLachlan and ADELE serenaded me, despite running solo, I felt surrounded by a sisterhood of runners.

Chicks’ Running Mix
This playlist is in no particular order. At about 100 minutes, it’s more-than-long-enough for an everyday run when I play it on “shuffle” mode.

Sarah McLachlan, looking as happy and friendly as all the running gals we met at ZOOMA race

“Beauty in the World”: Macy Gray
“Freeway”: Aimee Mann
“New Soul”: Yael Naim
“Silence”: Delerium & Sarah McLachlan
“White Flag”: Dido
“No Matter What”: Kerrie Roberts
“Possession”: Sarah McLachlan
“Silent House”: Dixie Chicks
“Glitter in the Air”: Pink
“If I Didn’t Know Any Better”: Alison Krauss & Union Station
“Car Wheels on aGravel Road”: Lucinda Williams
“Only Love”: Grace Potter & the Nocturnals
“Gone Gone Gone”: Robert Plant and Alison Krauss
“Voices Carry”: Aimee Mann
“When She Loved Me”: Sarah McLachlan
“A Sorta Fairytale”: Tori Amos
“Set Fire to the Rain”: ADELE
“New Beginning”: Tracy Chapman
“Beautiful”: Christina Aguilera
“Already Gone”: Kelly Clarkson
“Heaven Can Wait”: Charlotte Gainsbourg
“King of Anything”: Sara Bareilles
“Dreams”: Brandi Carlile
“Pocketful of Sunshine”: Natasha Betingfield
“Need You Now”: Lady Antebellum

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 6:40 am

    What a great idea – a play list for a No Agenda run! I love it! I can’t wait to add this to my play list and a no agenda run to my schedule! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. corrine bell permalink
    April 18, 2011 11:10 am

    thanks for the playlist. Sarah has always been one of my favorite artists!! Love the silence song!

  3. Christina Escobar permalink
    April 18, 2011 3:18 pm

    So happy to have met you at Zooma. And Irma is one of my motivators too. She is the mother who got me running when she was my boss of all things! LOL I used to tell her she was crazy, and now here I am, crazy with her doing these crazy races. I can’t wait to do Zooma again next year! It was tough, but oh so pretty and a real challenge.

  4. April 18, 2011 6:05 pm

    Not much makes me happier than a new list of good tunes! Thanks!

  5. Danielle permalink
    April 18, 2011 7:41 pm

    Glad you girls had a great visit in TX. I laughed at the wee wine buzz 🙂 Will definitely add this playlist to my ipod. SBS- your most recent half playlist helped me pull out an incredible race on Sunday. Thanks again for continuing to share your music mojo!!!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 18, 2011 9:06 pm

      I love sharing my music with you ladies. Glad it proved powerful to you, Danielle. Don’t know if you’re on Ping on iTunes, but I am. “Follow” me if you want.

  6. April 18, 2011 10:06 pm

    I loved the Zooma Austin run! It was the last Austin race I did before I moved to Colorado. I still wear my Zooma/Austin 4.4.09 on all my runs. Maybe I’ll see you guys at the Colorado Springs Zooma. Haven’t done that one yet…

    Thanks for the playlist. I could probably even use some of that for yoga at home.

  7. April 18, 2011 10:44 pm

    Love that playlist – I’m going to have to spend some time on iTunes! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Jana permalink
    April 19, 2011 12:37 pm

    Love, love when you post playlists!! I have so much fun finding new songs and crafting new running mixes. 🙂 And it’s so true about mantras…some of my favorite ones were discovered in late miles of races that were falling apart when I thought I wouldn’t make it to the finish. Last minute mantras have pulled me out of nosedives more than once!

Leave a Reply

