Skip to content

Crazy about Running

April 25, 2011

We all know it's sorta crazy to wear a single glove: Molly (979) and I in our April 3 half

With the exception of “Glee” (okay, and “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” back in the day), I don’t see myself as a diehard fan of anything. Unlike my husband, Jack, I don’t follow professional sports, and I haven’t been addicted to a band since seeing R.E.M. seven, no, eight times in college. Oh, yeah, except for running. Guess most people might say I’m addicted to running. (I prefer the gentler term, “devoted.”)

So it only makes sense that I become a Half Marathon Fanatic, right?! With the tagline, “Half Marathon Crazy,” the organization is fairly self-explanatory—it’s for folks who totally dig running 13.1-mile races. And as much as my heart belongs to the epic glory of 26.2-mile ones, the pain (before, during, and especially after) involved in marathons makes me take an occasional respite from them. For me, a half-marathon has nearly the same glory as a full, but way less than half the hurt.

Perhaps this should be my new running jacket...

The various levels in the “Half Marathon Asylum,” as it’s dubbed, are named after celestial bodies, such as Saturn (4 half marathons in 37 or 12 to 18 of them in 365 days) and Mars (3 half marathons in 3 days). I’m aiming for the lowly Neptune, the entry level group that “only” requires running two half marathons in 16 days or three 13.1-mile races in 90 days.

I didn’t set out to become a Fanatic–fate sort of forked it over. (Okay, fate and work commitments—Dimity and I are speaking at two upcoming races, the Rock N Roll Nashville Marathon and Half Marathon on April 30 and the Ogden Marathon on May 21, and part of our gigs are running them. Better 13.1 than 26.2, we figured.) Factor in the local Race for the Roses I ran on April 3, and I am slated to end up running three half marathons in about 50 days. Well below the Uranus level (but, come on, who wants a level with that make-me-snicker name?), but firmly at Neptune.

With one race down and my legs (and mind) feeling fresh, I believe I’ve got this triple-13.1 in the bag—mainly because there’s no time limit. While my sports-ego “requires” me to run each race in less than two hours, speed isn’t a prerequisite for Half Marathon Fanatic entry. We’ll see how I feel after running the third half in Utah (at altitude!)…my fanaticism might have waned.

39 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 4:04 am

    You might just be challenging the rest of us to become celestial bodies too – loving running and looking beautiful doing it just like Venus.

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 25, 2011 1:12 pm

      Awww, shucks, that’s very sweet of you, Kourtney!

  2. April 25, 2011 5:01 am

    Very cool. You’ll have to check out my new blog, I could use the readers and my latest post is about having added another half to my upcoming goals. The Phoenix Rock n’ Roll to be exact. Good luck!!

  3. Kelly permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:44 am

    I just noticed last week that after doing 2 local races I was 1 half in the next 2 months away from Neptune! Not sure I’ll get there because my first marathon, Pittsburgh, is in 3 weeks, but it will be fun to try! One thing training for a full has taught me is how much I love the half. It’s just so much less stress and torture, so much more fun. I was momentarilly bummed to see that the full will not give me credit toward Fanatic status but since it really is all for fun, it’s alright.
    See you in the Asylum!

  4. April 25, 2011 5:55 am

    I too think I’m becoming a 1/2 fan. Because I am so addicted to this sport, recovery from the full (march 6) has been almost unbearable. I wanted to run so bad but literally couldn’t. Everyone said enjoy your time off, but it was torture. So I’m with ya on loving the 1/2. Go for Mars baby!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 25, 2011 1:13 pm

      I know, it’s nutty: We should enjoy sleeping in and not hugging the hurt every day…but it’s torture for me, too, to take time off after a race. Creatures of habit we are.

  5. Suzanne permalink
    April 25, 2011 7:29 am

    Oh snap! I have halfs on 5/1 and 5/29. Gotta find another so I can qualify for Neptune!

    • Suzanne permalink
      April 25, 2011 8:06 am

      And I found a third! Now I just need to stay injury-free!

      • bowenshea permalink*
        April 25, 2011 1:14 pm

        Right on, see you “on” Neptune!

  6. April 25, 2011 7:52 am

    Thanks for the info for the “Fanatic” club. I’ve only heard of the Marathon Maniacs around here. I enjoy the Half, but the smaller crowd on the last half of a Full is pretty nice. 🙂

  7. April 25, 2011 8:11 am

    wow, that’s certainly amazing! 🙂

  8. Michelle permalink
    April 25, 2011 8:52 am

    Have fun! Be sure to give a race report on Ogden, please! I plan on running that one next year! It is supposed to be a great one.

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 25, 2011 1:15 pm

      Yes, we’ve heard nothing but praise about Ogden race. Be sure to register early–it fills up incredibly quickly.

  9. Jana permalink
    April 25, 2011 9:25 am

    Yeah, go, go, go! I became a Neptune last year! 🙂

  10. Tryna permalink
    April 25, 2011 9:50 am

    Go Sarah. I became a Neptune last year after doing the Portland Half and the Run Like Hell half. (Proud Member #786) Don’t you just love geeking out about stuff like this. Happy Monday!

  11. Momma please run home permalink
    April 25, 2011 9:51 am

    Love it! I am definitely a half girl! No desire yet for the full. Will try to become a half fanatic!!!

  12. April 25, 2011 9:59 am

    Ha! Yeah, I can see you as a half fanantic. Put a challenge in front of you, and you throw down!

    Dang, I missed Neptune by a mere 5 days. Agreed. I would prefer Neptune, jump Uranus and go for Saturn. Oh wait…that sounded worse….

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 25, 2011 1:16 pm

      I knew ya liked me, Christy, but not sure I’m ready to have you jump my… ha, ha.

  13. April 25, 2011 11:25 am

    Love the post! and “hooray” per half-marathons. Just the right distance in my opinion. Looking forward to my next half in Eugene this Sunday!

    But Sarah – you need to explore the dark side and come over to “The Killing” on AMC….!

    • bowenshea permalink*
      April 25, 2011 1:17 pm

      The Killing: AMC rebroadcast premier ep, so Jack and I can now get up to speed. But, oh, there’s that little matter of finding the time to watch it together!! Entertainment Weekly raves about it in current issue.

  14. Kdubs permalink
    April 25, 2011 11:32 am

    Nice! I have recently been bitten by this bug especially after my last marathon. I intend to do another one but these are such more feasible goals as a mama!! Happy trails.

  15. April 25, 2011 11:50 am

    Hmmm…I’ve got two planned. Maybe I need to plan a third!

  16. April 25, 2011 2:10 pm

    I need a category like a star…not a celestial body but up in the skiy…4 half marathons in a year?!!?

  17. Jackie permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:19 pm

    We’d love to have you in the Asylum! I just hit Saturn but am aiming for Jupiter. (#654)

  18. April 25, 2011 5:20 pm

    That’s awesome! I just became Half Maniac #985! 4 Halfs in 71 days!

  19. Kathy Reed permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:29 pm

    Holy cow, I’m a Neptune. This is the first time I’ve ever heard of such a thing and I’ve been the Asylum all along (hardly shocking for someone like me).
    Cool!

  20. Sonia permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:51 pm

    I’m reading the entire post thinking “that’s just crazy”… Yet, as soon as I finished, I started wondering if I could do it…I think I better complete my first 1/2, before I start thinking about 3 of them.

  21. Kris Berry permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:51 pm

    Oh I’m doing it! I’ve already registered for two in May (14 days apart). I too can be a Neptune!

  22. April 25, 2011 5:52 pm

    Too funny SBS ~ I am planning on going for it this summer! I have a “Training race” planned for SF Half in July, and 6 days later it seems that I’m going to be in Providence RI on the day of the RNR Providence Half and for some reason it really seems like a good idea to run them both. Doesn’t seem crazy. at. all.

  23. April 25, 2011 6:02 pm

    I wasn’t big on the half at first. I didn’t see the glory it in, until I PRed with my dad a month ago. 2:11 down from 2:27. Now I’m hooked!

  24. April 25, 2011 6:08 pm

    Woo HOOO! Go SBS, you GOT this.

  25. April 25, 2011 6:15 pm

    Welcome to the club, almost…

    I’ve had fun chasing those moons this past year. Currently at Neptune, I have no idea how I’m going to get to the next level. The logistics are a nightmare, but it’s fun looking at upcoming races and trying to figure it all out (my 14 year old daughter got wind of the criteria and has been pushing me to get more moons) Plus, I just love my Half Fanatics shirt!

    • jackie permalink
      April 26, 2011 12:29 pm

      My 13 year old son just entered the Asylum. He’s #996! It’s a great goal for a kids. And, besides, we ALL know they’re crazy anyway!

  26. Stefanie Pitts permalink
    April 25, 2011 6:54 pm

    I have got three timed 1/2 marathons in 60 days and 1 local 1/2 marathon put on by my running group. Not sure if that would count..I also have the Scroon Lake 1/2 marathon. That would give me 5 1/2 marathons in 60 days. Now, If I could only come up with the money to join the group..lol!! Keep up the great work ladies!!

  27. sheryl permalink
    April 26, 2011 11:23 am

    After reading your blog, I realized I qualify for Neptune too! I just sent my info to the fanatics! Happy to join you on Neptune 🙂

  28. Melissa permalink
    April 26, 2011 4:37 pm

    That’s awesome! I’m totally bummed though b/c I totally would have qualified for the marathon maniacs in 1997, but there was no such thing then. 😦

  29. julie permalink
    April 26, 2011 7:17 pm

    Yay!!! I am going to Half Fanatics right now too. Half’s on May 1, May 30 and June 5th (and maybe one on May 14th so avoid Uranus and go straight to Mars).

    • julie permalink
      April 26, 2011 7:25 pm

      *Saturn* sorry, I’m jumping planets

Leave a Reply

